Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 17, 2006, 10:28 AM   #1
londonweb
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: london
bullet-points in inDesign?

Can you add bullet points to a list of text in inDesign CS1 ? How?

many thanks!
londonweb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2006, 10:39 AM   #2
Sdashiki
macrumors 68040
 
Sdashiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Behind the lens
option-8?
__________________
The real problem is not whether machines think but whether men do.
- B. F. Skinner

Like Polaroid?
Sdashiki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2006, 10:39 AM   #3
Lau
Guest
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by londonweb
Can you add bullet points to a list of text in inDesign CS1 ? How?

many thanks!
You can insert a bullet character by going to Type > Insert Special Character > Bullet Character, but I'm not sure if there's a more automatic way to do it. Although presumably you could set up a paragraph style for a list that would set up the formatting so you could apply it to all lists.

Edit: Or Option + 8.
  0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2006, 10:42 AM   #4
Sdashiki
macrumors 68040
 
Sdashiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Behind the lens
HA HA i beat you to it! Nah nah!


speaking of special characters, you can (in OSX) use the option key in combo with the keyboard characters to create "special" characters.

Like option-****-8 i think makes the "degree" temperature sign


I say "i think" because I am at work, on a P.O.S. Dell.

And I still need to use InDesign myself.

In windows, how do I do such things as simply as in OSX? When I hold Alt or Control and hit a key, nothing happens except some shortcuts sometimes.
__________________
The real problem is not whether machines think but whether men do.
- B. F. Skinner

Like Polaroid?
Sdashiki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2006, 10:45 AM   #5
tobefirst
macrumors 68040
 
tobefirst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdashiki

Like option-****-8 i think makes the "degree" temperature sign


I say "i think" because I am at work, on a P.O.S. Dell.
Ooh, that's strange. I didn't know that.

I've always been using Option-0, which is one less key, so...neener neener neener! (:

(But option-shift-8 does work)
tobefirst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2006, 10:49 AM   #6
Lau
Guest
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdashiki
HA HA i beat you to it! Nah nah!


speaking of special characters, you can (in OSX) use the option key in combo with the keyboard characters to create "special" characters.

Like option-****-8 i think makes the "degree" temperature sign.
Did you perchance forget the f in shift?

(It does do the degree sign, by the way.)
  0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2006, 10:57 AM   #7
Mydriasis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
I'd go with the paragraph style like Lau suggested. Or do you do your formating using the space bar?
Mydriasis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2006, 11:08 AM   #8
londonweb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: london
Thanks guys!

For those of you on POS Dells , yes it is option+8 , and option + shift + 8 gives a degree. In fact all the number keys give special characters in combination with option and/or shift.

We learn something new every day. Now I can get on with the most boring design job in the world. A presentation poster for a talk on 'Do Contaminant Levels of Polychlorinated Biphenyls Really Affect Thyroid Function?'. I kid you not.

Oh well, it's all work, shouldn't complain.
londonweb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2006, 11:11 AM   #9
londonweb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: london
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mydriasis
I'd go with the paragraph style like Lau suggested. Or do you do your formating using the space bar?
Actually I normally just print everything out in one huge paragraph and painstakingly arrange the layout by hand with a pair of scissors and some glue.
londonweb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2006, 11:11 AM   #10
fireball370
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: bay area, ca
this will apply a bullet or special charcater to a list:

open your paragraph palette.
go to the little arrow in the top corner.
click on bullets and numbering.
fireball370 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2006, 11:22 AM   #11
Sdashiki
macrumors 68040
 
Sdashiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Behind the lens
and how do i do these things in Windows?
__________________
The real problem is not whether machines think but whether men do.
- B. F. Skinner

Like Polaroid?
Sdashiki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2006, 11:44 AM   #12
fireball370
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: bay area, ca
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdashiki
and how do i do these things in Windows?
I'm on a mac, and I don't remember what the palettes look like in windows. I *think* they look the same?
fireball370 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2006, 12:20 PM   #13
londonweb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: london
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireball370
this will apply a bullet or special charcater to a list:

open your paragraph palette.
go to the little arrow in the top corner.
click on bullets and numbering.
This is weird because on my version there is no bullets and numbering option. Also if I look it up in help, nothing comes up. I'm using CS1
londonweb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2006, 12:58 PM   #14
Sdashiki
macrumors 68040
 
Sdashiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Behind the lens
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireball370
I'm on a mac, and I don't remember what the palettes look like in windows. I *think* they look the same?

no no no.

in word, in ichat, in FCP, in anything, on a mac, you can hold option and type away and get special characters.

in windows, what is this equivalent, does it exist?
__________________
The real problem is not whether machines think but whether men do.
- B. F. Skinner

Like Polaroid?
Sdashiki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2006, 01:38 PM   #15
fireball370
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: bay area, ca
Quote:
Originally Posted by londonweb
This is weird because on my version there is no bullets and numbering option. Also if I look it up in help, nothing comes up. I'm using CS1
i'm such a nerd. sorry i totally missed the part where you said you were using CS1 the first time. :-(
fireball370 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2006, 03:30 PM   #16
apfhex
macrumors 68030
 
apfhex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Northern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdashiki
in windows, what is this equivalent, does it exist?
No. To type special characters you have to learn complicated altkey+longstringofnumbersonlyfromthekeypad combinations.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tobefirst
I've always been using Option-0
I had no idea option-0 did the same as option-shift-8! Kind of strange. I've been using option-shift-8 for years.
__________________
2006 Mac Pro 2.66Ghz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT, 23" ACD, Lion
Verizon iPhone 4 16GB ; White iPad 3 16GB
apfhex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2006, 07:01 AM   #17
dogbone
Banned
 
dogbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
Bullets always look too small for my taste.

I prefer to make a custom shape, (ie a circle to the size I like), copy and paste it into the type. You also have more choice, like making squares or some other more interesting shape like an elipse.
dogbone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2006, 07:12 AM   #18
iMeowbot
macrumors 601
 
iMeowbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by apfhex
I had no idea option-0 did the same as option-shift-8! Kind of strange. I've been using option-shift-8 for years.
They are different characters. Shift-option-8 is a real degree symbol, while option-0 is a superscripted letter o used with numbering in some languages. (option-0 is for masculine , option-9 for feminine)

Last edited by iMeowbot; Oct 22, 2006 at 07:37 AM.
iMeowbot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2006, 07:16 AM   #19
dogbone
Banned
 
dogbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
@iMeowbot

I'm almost regretting that thread about you know what.
dogbone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2006, 07:26 AM   #20
iMeowbot
macrumors 601
 
iMeowbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogbone
I'm almost regretting that thread about you know what.
It could be worse, an active demi could have picked up on the idea and made a plague of it.
iMeowbot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2006, 01:51 PM   #21
jovenfuego
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Jose
Send a message via AIM to jovenfuego
Bullet

If you want to do bullets in InDesign (I'm assuming you want to sorta imitate MS Word) you will need to fiddle around with the tabs function. Hopefully this helps a bit.
jovenfuego is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2006, 05:08 PM   #22
Snark
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by jovenfuego
If you want to do bullets in InDesign (I'm assuming you want to sorta imitate MS Word) you will need to fiddle around with the tabs function. Hopefully this helps a bit.
If you're referring to setting up a hanging indent, not much fiddling needed. Shouldn't take more than ten or twenty seconds in the tab ruler. Set it up as a paragraph style and you're ready to rock and roll.

Snark
Snark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 12:17 AM   #23
tobefirst
macrumors 68040
 
tobefirst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snark
If you're referring to setting up a hanging indent, not much fiddling needed. Shouldn't take more than ten or twenty seconds in the tab ruler. Set it up as a paragraph style and you're ready to rock and roll.

Snark
Actually, a simple cmd-\ will create a hanging indent without ever going into the tabs or paragraph palette.
tobefirst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 10:17 AM   #24
Snark
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by tobefirst
Actually, a simple cmd-\ will create a hanging indent without ever going into the tabs or paragraph palette.
Shoot, I thought there was a shortcut for that, but I'm used to setting them manually and couldn't remember for sure.

Thanks.
Snark is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make bullet points on Pages. Kleber19 iCloud and Apple Services 2 Nov 2, 2013 01:37 PM
Microsoft Word bullet points randomly aligning Tinarella Mac Basics and Help 3 May 30, 2013 06:20 AM
Problem with Table of Contents when Using Bullet Points oggydoggy Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Apr 20, 2013 07:34 PM
Should I bite the bullet? Fall3n13 MacBook Pro 21 Jul 8, 2012 09:00 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC