Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 19, 2006, 05:01 AM   #1
tymcse98
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Ram for G5 1.8ghz

I just put 2 sticks of 512mb in my g5 with these specs pc3200r-30330, the machine doesn't recognize them. I notice that the existing ram got this on the label pc3200u-30330. Pease someone tell me the difference between these 2.
thanks
tymcse98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2006, 05:05 AM   #2
MacBoobsPro
macrumors 603
 
MacBoobsPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Send a message via AIM to MacBoobsPro
Im no expert but maybe one is buffered and the other is unbuffered?

I cant remember what it is you need in the G5.
MacBoobsPro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2006, 12:02 PM   #3
Dreadnought
macrumors 68000
 
Dreadnought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
You need unbuffered Ram in a G5, unless it's a XServe
__________________
Fold with our MacRumors folding@home team and I dare you to fold with us and catch up with me if you can! Also, we have our own folding widget
Dreadnought is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2006, 12:09 PM   #4
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
We don't know what brand or model you put in, but

R = Registered or Buffered (usually seen only in Error Correcting (ECC) RAM
U = Unbuffered or standard RAM (Could be ECC or non-ECC, although Non-ECC is standard for almost all desktop and consumer machines)

Count the number of RAM chips on the module. If it is a multiple of 8, then it is non-ECC.

But if it is a multiple of 9, then it is ECC RAM and not appropriate for your Mac. If it says Reg. or Buffered anywhere on the label, it is also not for the Mac.

Thanks
Trevor
CanadaRAM.com
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
20" iMAC G5 1.8GHZ 2Gb RAM FOR SALE! jonG Wasteland 1 Aug 2, 2007 12:52 AM
Feeler: 17 inch iMac G5 1.8Ghz/250Gb HD/1Gb RAM/wireless EHUnlucky7x9@ao Marketplace Archive 2 10 Oct 7, 2006 11:16 PM
Advice on RAM for my Power Mac G5 1.8GHz Foxglove9 Buying Tips and Advice 3 Apr 4, 2006 04:26 PM
Feeler - Rev A. iMac G5 1.8ghz, 2gb Ram, Airport, 160GB OKComputer Marketplace Archive 2 13 Feb 28, 2006 11:47 AM
FS:iMac G5 1.8ghz 17inch 2GB RAM blasto333 Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 9 Feb 16, 2005 07:02 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC