Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Glossy or Matte (Not Glossy) MacBook Pro Screen?

• Glossy

Votes: 7 24.1%
  • Matte

Votes: 20 69.0%
  • Neutral (Doesn't Matter)

Votes: 2 6.9%
  • You Can Choose?

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

extraextra

macrumors 68000
Jun 29, 2006
California
I don't see a poll?

This has been discussed millions of times.. and I think a poll might've been done on it already, oh well. :cool:

pimentoLoaf

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Dec 30, 2001
The SimCity Deli
Odd... it takes time for the poll to show up? I was creating it while you were posting.

For me, it's matte. I don't like anything reflecting as the glare would be maddening, especially when working in a car.

extraextra

macrumors 68000
Jun 29, 2006
California
Matte FTW!

Yeah the glare is iffy. It shows up in some situations and it's hard to predict which ones. Since I'm a student, I take my laptop everywhere, and I can't have it reflecting in whatever location I happen to be in. Oh and I do some photography work and I'm afraid the glossy screen will throw off the colors.

I can see the plus sides of glossy screens too. It's just personal preference but ocassionally these threads turn into a war between people who have never used a glossy screen but claim there's too much glare, people who have the glossy screen and love it, and people who genuinely dislike the glossy screen but are sort of lumped into the first category by the glossy screen lovers.

matttrick

macrumors 6502
Aug 28, 2006
i took time on this decision, compared in store, and went matte. i am very happy with that choice.

Osarkon

macrumors 68020
Aug 30, 2006
Wales