Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 25, 2006, 10:29 AM   #1
moto21
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sheffield/ Frankfurt
Send a message via MSN to moto21
Change MAC ADDRESS on MACBOOK

Hey I need your help. I got banned from Campus because I treid to solve a email problem on my Macbook (couldnt sent mails on port 25 or 587) and did a Portscan. Bad idea beacuse its seen as an attack on the Uni network and so I was banned with this MAC Address. The guy behind the counter told me that its just the Computer but NOT the USER who is banned, so he told me to get a new MAC Address. I have tried "sudo ifconfig ether" and "lladdr" but both didnt work (either with airport down or up).

I wasnt to sure about tinkering with the driver as explained here:www.suspekt.org because my driver hex are a bit different...

Mac Os X 10.4.8
Macbook 2 Ghz


Thank you!

moto21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 10:31 AM   #2
4np
macrumors 6502a
 
4np's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Try this:

Quote:
1. obtain your current MAC address using the following command: ifconfig en0 | grep ether
2. this will return for example: ether 00:0a:27:8d:7b:24
3. change your MAC address to use 25 instead of 24 at the end by using the following command: sudo ifconfig en0 lladdr 00:0a:27:8d:7b:25
4. confirm the MAC address has changed by using the same command (as in step 1) again: ifconfig en0 | grep ether
5. this should now return: ether 00:0a:27:8d:7b:25
Let me know if it works (I'm at work using a pc, not a mac so I can't try it out here)

Note though that this change is not permanent and you would need to do this every time you want to change your MAC address. You could create a shell script or something for it though. for example (using the example above) in terminal:

Quote:
echo '#!/bin/sh' > change_mac
echo 'sudo ifconfig en0 lladdr 00:0a:27:8d:7b:25' >> change_mac
chmod gou+rx change_mac
now you can run the change_mac script everytime you need to change your mac.

Quote:
./change_mac
...or put it on your desktop or something

Last edited by 4np; Oct 25, 2006 at 10:47 AM.
4np is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 10:34 AM   #3
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
You cannot permanently change the MAC address of your NIC in your Mac.
You can change it temporarily, but it will be gone after a reboot.

I suggest either getting a router to place between you and the University network, or switching to wired/wireless.

Airport interface is en1.

Last edited by yellow; Oct 25, 2006 at 10:55 AM.
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 10:46 AM   #4
moto21
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sheffield/ Frankfurt
Send a message via MSN to moto21
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4np
Try this:
Well thats pretty much as I tried it "I have tried "sudo ifconfig ether" and "lladdr" but both didnt work (either with airport down or up)."

en1 is airport on a mac so the full line would be: $ sudo ifconfig en1 ether(or)lladdr (MAC address).

This does NOT work.

Bummer, now you have edited

No way: neither "ether" or "lladdr" does work on 10.4.8 Intel !
moto21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 10:48 AM   #5
4np
macrumors 6502a
 
4np's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Hmm... I'll give it a try when I get home
4np is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 10:51 AM   #6
moto21
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sheffield/ Frankfurt
Send a message via MSN to moto21
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4np
Hmm... I'll give it a try when I get home
Thank you I am half dutch and in british exile for a year abroad to do some studies
moto21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 10:56 AM   #7
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Confirmation, it doesn't work on my MBP.
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 11:04 AM   #8
moto21
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sheffield/ Frankfurt
Send a message via MSN to moto21
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellow
Confirmation, it doesn't work on my MBP.
Thats bad news... really bad news. I have no internet at home and so I see myself wardriving now with a white macbook. Sheffield is a rough place

BTW: They will kill you if you'd put a router somewhere. No questions asked just twatting.
moto21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 11:30 AM   #9
Hockeypuck
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by moto21
Hey I need your help. I got banned from Campus because I treid to solve a email problem on my Macbook (couldnt sent mails on port 25 or 587) and did a Portscan. Bad idea beacuse its seen as an attack on the Uni network and so I was banned with this MAC Address. The guy behind the counter told me that its just the Computer but NOT the USER who is banned, so he told me to get a new MAC Address. I have tried "sudo ifconfig ether" and "lladdr" but both didnt work (either with airport down or up).

I wasnt to sure about tinkering with the driver as explained here:www.suspekt.org because my driver hex are a bit different...

Mac Os X 10.4.8
Macbook 2 Ghz


Thank you!

You can't dispute the ban? Completely silly for the guy to tell you just to get a new MAC address.

Your other option would be to hope something goes wrong with the logic board on your macbook so Apple has to replace it!
Hockeypuck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 12:16 PM   #10
4np
macrumors 6502a
 
4np's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Actually, it does work for en0 (LAN) but it does not work for en1 (Airport).

If you could connect to the LAN you will be able to spoof your MAC address...
4np is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 12:21 PM   #11
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Earlier, I tried it on my MBP for en0 and it didn't work.
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 12:22 PM   #12
moto21
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sheffield/ Frankfurt
Send a message via MSN to moto21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hockeypuck
You can't dispute the ban? Completely silly for the guy to tell you just to get a new MAC address.

Your other option would be to hope something goes wrong with the logic board on your macbook so Apple has to replace it!

No he made it very clear that I would need to write an appeal to the Sysadmins to get that my account freed. And I got to admit: I wouldn't have a chance if they would take the time to analyse the data streams sent over the Uni Network. I know at least 3 occasions where I sent some Music to mates... How should I prove that those are ripped from my cds bach home???

Clearly there must be a chance to change the MAC Address, with Windows its easy! (BTW: If I change the MAC Address in Windows, will it be changed in OS X too?????)
moto21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 12:33 PM   #13
4np
macrumors 6502a
 
4np's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Netherlands
I am reading that suspekt.org site you mentioned before and when I read that I'm getting the impression that MAC spoofing is disabled by default in Apple's drivers :S But I guess your already figured that
4np is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 12:34 PM   #14
4np
macrumors 6502a
 
4np's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by moto21
(BTW: If I change the MAC Address in Windows, will it be changed in OS X too?????)
nope, a MAC address is stored in hardware. If you spoof it in Windows it will be your original value after reboot. However, if you change your driver you could make it permanent. I would prefer being able to use ifconfig though...
4np is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 12:51 PM   #15
4np
macrumors 6502a
 
4np's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Appearantly the Aiport card / driver does not support 'Passive Mode'; appearantly Kismac comes with a driver that enables it. Perhaps there is your solution?
4np is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 07:26 PM   #16
purelithium
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kingston, Canada
if you're desperate enough, pop open the MacBook, pop out the old Airport Extreme Card, and buy a new one, sell the old one 'cause it still works. You'll lose a bit of cash, but it'll be a permanent solution. (unless they made the airport integrated with the logic board, in which case it would be much more difficult
__________________
15" MBP 5,3 3.06ghz - 8GB - 500GB - 4.5 TB RAID5
iPhone 4 16GB Black - Rogers Wireless
purelithium is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 07:39 PM   #17
aquajet
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DFW
I would go ahead and draft an appeal to send to the sysadmins. Getting your MAC address reinstated would be the ideal solution.

Can anybody confirm whether or not the MB uses an actual airport extreme card?
aquajet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 07:43 PM   #18
Passante
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: on the sofa
Isn;t the MAC address stored on the wireless card? Does Apple sell replacement cards
__________________
Never switched
Passante is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 07:49 PM   #19
purelithium
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kingston, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by moto21
And I got to admit: I wouldn't have a chance if they would take the time to analyse the data streams sent over the Uni Network. I know at least 3 occasions where I sent some Music to mates... How should I prove that those are ripped from my cds bach home???

I'm not a network admin, but I hightly doubt that they keep logs that detailed, that they know the exact type of data that has been transferred from one user to the other, let alone filenames and whether it is legit or not. Unless you really were doing something untoward, then I would simply tell them exactly what you were doing, and I'm sure they will have no problem with reinstating you, or putting the MAC on probation or something. You have nothing to lose in asking.
__________________
15" MBP 5,3 3.06ghz - 8GB - 500GB - 4.5 TB RAID5
iPhone 4 16GB Black - Rogers Wireless
purelithium is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 07:51 PM   #20
aquajet
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DFW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Passante
Isn;t the MAC address stored on the wireless card? Does Apple sell replacement cards
True, but not all of Apple's machines use the actual Airport Extreme card sold in stores. We haven't gotten a clear answer yet whether or not this is the case with the MB.
aquajet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 07:53 PM   #21
purelithium
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kingston, Canada
IF you need to do something this extreme, here's detailed instructions on how to replace the AP Extreme card.

http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Mac/MacBook/Airport-Card

__________________
15" MBP 5,3 3.06ghz - 8GB - 500GB - 4.5 TB RAID5
iPhone 4 16GB Black - Rogers Wireless
purelithium is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2010, 06:04 AM   #22
BillyTheKid
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
How to spoof the mac address of the wireless card

With a program called MacSpoofer you can easily change the mac address of any network device (Including the wireless device) from the "System Preference". Download it from www.macspoofer.com
BillyTheKid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2010, 06:18 AM   #23
bigjobby
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London, UK
Not pretty but have you tried looking into an external USB ethernet/wireless adaptor? If available, they can't be that expensive.
bigjobby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2010, 12:57 PM   #24
ouimetnick
macrumors 68020
 
ouimetnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Beverly, Massachusetts
Send a message via AIM to ouimetnick Send a message via Yahoo to ouimetnick Send a message via Skype™ to ouimetnick
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjobby View Post
Not pretty but have you tried looking into an external USB ethernet/wireless adaptor? If available, they can't be that expensive.
This thread is 4 years old now. I'm sure the OP has moved on.
__________________
ACMT
MacBook Pro 13" (Mid 2010) 2.4GHz C2D, 4GB RAM, 750GB HD; Mac Pro Mid 2007; various MacBooks; Power Mac G5; iPhone 4s; iPhone 5s
ouimetnick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2010, 01:09 PM   #25
InfoSecmgr
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan
Step 1: facepalm yourself.

Moving on, port scanning isn't an attack, it is usually used as a pre-attack so that's why they were a bit miffed. You shouldn't do things you have zero knowledge in. Also, what "guy behind the counter" told you this? Go to the IT department and explain what the issue was. They will be irritated but should remove your MAC address from the blacklist. They'll probably put you on some sort of "probation". Just don't do anything...er..."misinformed" at your school again and you should be fine. If they want to argue about it, they can always look at your MAC address for themselves if you take your computer in, check your student ID at the same time just to be sure you aren't covering for some spammer, hacker, etc.

In short, banning a MAC address is NOT permanent and they CAN undo it, but maybe they just don't like you. Sounds like I wouldn't do it either. You googled a few things and thought you could best their IT professionals, very very irritating.

Edit: before any of you ask: M.S. Information Security
InfoSecmgr is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to Change Mac Address ButtonTeef OS X Mavericks (10.9) 12 Jul 1, 2014 08:41 PM
Unable to change MAC address xosiris Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 1 Dec 8, 2013 11:51 AM
Change MAC Address on Airport Extreme Basestation? WiiDSmoker Mac Peripherals 2 Aug 15, 2013 04:32 AM
How to change MAC Address on IOS5? Ipodboss7 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 15 Jul 27, 2012 08:22 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC