Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 31, 2006, 12:37 AM   #1
lorilb
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
IPOd Video AV Input not working

I have a 30GB iPod Video; I recently purchased a Dynex iPod Docking Station with Remote (DX-IPDR). When I connect the AV input to my TV, the sound works fine, but I don't get the video. What could be the possible problems? I tried it on three different TV's. Do you need a HD TV? The only reason I purchased it was to watch the videos on my TV; the Best Buy saleperson said it would work fine.

Thanks!
lorilb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2006, 02:02 AM   #2
xappeal
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brisbane - Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to xappeal
Are you sure that the dock is designed for a video ipod and not a 4G click wheel iPod like many docking stations are??

Also, there can be an issue with using a video cable not from apple, some look like they should work but are for DV cams, you have to switch the imput colours around to get them to work.

Try pugging the cable directly into the ipod and see if that works, once it does, then put the ipod in the dock.

You don't need a hd tv, just a tv that uses AV inputs, turned to the right input setting.
xappeal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2006, 02:06 AM   #3
Scarlet Fever
macrumors 68040
 
Scarlet Fever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bookshop!
For some reason, Apple decided to mix-and-match the cables.

Red is usually Audio R, but is now Video
Yellow is usually Video, but is now Audio L
White is usually Audio L, but is now Audio R

The plug is a headphone jack, which goes straight into the jack of the iPod.

It works on my ancient Sony 64cm CRT TV, so it should work on any TV.

Hope that helped

Last edited by Scarlet Fever; Oct 31, 2006 at 02:08 AM. Reason: chocolate doesn't have any bones
Scarlet Fever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2006, 02:29 PM   #4
lorilb
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Thanks!

Thanks for the responses. I realized that I had my iPod video settings incorrect. The TV Out setting was on Off. Once I set that to On, it worked perfectly! I'm amazed at the resolution I get, even on my old TV. The resolution was much better when the iPod was in the dock and the AV cable was connected to the dock. When connected directly to my iPod, the resolution ws not very good.

Lori

lorilb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2006, 03:41 PM   #5
mrgreen4242
macrumors 601
 
mrgreen4242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scarlet Fever View Post
For some reason, Apple decided to mix-and-match the cables.

Red is usually Audio R, but is now Video
Yellow is usually Video, but is now Audio L
White is usually Audio L, but is now Audio R

The plug is a headphone jack, which goes straight into the jack of the iPod.

It works on my ancient Sony 64cm CRT TV, so it should work on any TV.

Hope that helped
That is ... bizarre. The RCA color coded cables have been a standard for decades, and they messed with it? Makes no sense at all, and I can imagine they get a lot of support calls due to this.
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1, 8x2.26ghz, 10gb, 128gb SSD, 2x750gb (RAID1), 2tb, ATI6750
iPad air 64gb wifi - 16gb iPhone 5s - AppleTV3
mrgreen4242 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2007, 04:07 PM   #6
JonKrauseHelp
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
bringing back an old thread here but I'm having a very similar problem.

Last night I bought the Dynex AV cables for my new, 5th Gen 160gb iPod. They did not work and after much troubleshooting and research I found out that apparently I need to Dynex AV Dock.

I spent 3 hours in lines at 2 Best Buys to return my first item and pick up the dock, which was over $25 more than the other product.

Now, I'm already pissed off but I figure it'll all be worth it when I get home.

No such luck.

This does not work either.

The video options ARE set to "video out: on", and I know that the dock works and can read the iPod because when I place it in the dock the iPod starts charging, plus if I plug it in like that and then play a song it will play the audio loud and clear. However when I try a movie it still says "attach video device". I've tried several televisions, I've tried switching around the red/yellow/white cables as a previous poster mentioned, and I've tried numerous other things also. I have absolutely no idea what to do and I am very upset.

Please help?
JonKrauseHelp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2007, 06:50 AM   #7
Alican
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: LONDON, UK
Send a message via MSN to Alican
160gb ipod? That's 6th gen isn't it? The Classic. Seems like you've got the dock for the wrong model. Go to Apple's support site for the specification of the correct cables for each type of ipod.
__________________
8 Core 2007 Mac Pro.
10 gig ram. Radeon HD 3870
Leo 10.5.7
Alican is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2007, 01:00 PM   #8
JonKrauseHelp
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
So that means I've been fed misinformation by Best Buy twice?

damn

thanks for the heads up.

If anyone knows of/has any suggestions that does not include me returning the product AGAIN, I'd be appreciative
JonKrauseHelp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2008, 04:10 PM   #9
l(if)e003
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonKrauseHelp View Post
So that means I've been fed misinformation by Best Buy twice?

damn

thanks for the heads up.

If anyone knows of/has any suggestions that does not include me returning the product AGAIN, I'd be appreciative
you're going to need those av cables back.
you need the cables and dock for it to work completely.
l(if)e003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2008, 05:32 PM   #10
Darth.Titan
macrumors 68020
 
Darth.Titan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
I was under the impression that the only video out cable compatible with the iPod classic was made by Apple.

Are they allowing third parties to make this now?
Darth.Titan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2008, 06:58 AM   #11
Scarlet Fever
macrumors 68040
 
Scarlet Fever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bookshop!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth.Titan View Post
I was under the impression that the only video out cable compatible with the iPod classic was made by Apple.

Are they allowing third parties to make this now?
No. The user above you is replying to a comment made about this time last year, who replied to a comment made about this time 2 years ago.

If you want to connect any new iPod to an external display, you have to buy the Apple gear.
Scarlet Fever is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video (HDMI) input through Thunderbolt - Will it ever be possible? MacRazySwe iMac 17 Aug 29, 2013 03:53 AM
Video Input bgsnmky iPad Apps 0 May 7, 2013 12:32 PM
iOS Remote App - Keyboard Input not working jalman11 Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Feb 1, 2013 01:07 AM
Mid 2010 iMac as monitor input still working with ML? TheyCallMeBT iMac 0 Jan 9, 2013 11:59 PM
Video input Joshrwtn MacBook Pro 2 Dec 18, 2012 10:52 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC