Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 8, 2006, 11:27 AM   #1
jbforever05
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
question about use of multiple libraries

I'm planning putting two copies of music on my computer, one in a lossless format and another in a lossy format for my ipod. However, I dislike having two copies of every song present in my library since it makes things look more cluttered. I've experimented with creating another library in itunes and putting my lossless files in this, converting to lossy, and moving the lossy files to my other itunes library. This is kind of a pain though. I know lots of people here have two copies of their music, lossless and lossy, so I'm curious to see how you do it and rather you use multiple libraries or have everything in one.
jbforever05 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2006, 11:31 AM   #2
tyr2
macrumors 6502a
 
tyr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Leeds, UK
I just have the higher quality tracks in my library. If I want to transfer to the iPod I add them to a 'transfer' playlist then use Automator to transcode them to 128k AAC's and copy them to the iPod, deleting the transcoded versions from my library. Works well and makes it unnecessary to maintain 2 versions on the Mac.
tyr2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2006, 10:22 PM   #3
jbforever05
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
I've heard about these things you can use that transcode your music before it goes on your ipod. Since I have a PC what you use obviously wouldn't work for me. However, I've heard of other programs such as anapod explorer that can do this. I don't really care to use one of these programs though. For one thing I don't want to pay for it. I also like having all of my music in one place and not using more than one program to play it, transfer it, etc. It's just too bad itunes won't give you the option of doing this. I suppose I could always just put all my lossless music in my main library, convert to lossy format, put these tracks on my ipod, and then delete the lossy music from the computer....... Would that work or would it cause problems when I connected my ipod again.
jbforever05 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2006, 10:41 PM   #4
chucknorris
macrumors 6502a
 
chucknorris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Moscow, ID (No Kremlin here!)
there's an applescript that allows for two itunes libraries in one user account. I'll have to find it...
chucknorris is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Q] Load multiple libraries into iTunes at the same time? Guids Mac Applications and Mac App Store 6 Nov 26, 2012 09:52 AM
Multiple iTunes Libraries on different HD's joshallegro Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Nov 18, 2012 11:11 AM
Multiple iTunes libraries on same computer blackbear219 Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Oct 17, 2012 10:59 AM
Consolidated multiple users' iTunes libraries Roadrun3r Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Aug 24, 2012 02:29 PM
One iMac, Multiple Users = Multiple iPhoto libraries jlblodgett Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jun 12, 2012 01:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC