Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

storage

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 4, 2005
Hello! :)

I'm planning on setting up a music making workstation sort of thing. I'm a complete beginner when it comes to audio recording/music making.

This is the equipment I'm planning on getting:
* M-Audio Axiom 49 USB MIDI Controller
* Miglia HarmonyAudio audio interface

Is the audio interface/sound card(?) good enough? Are there any better ones for the same money?

Does the keyboard and audio interface work together? Will I be able to hook up a pair of turntables and a mixer to the interface together with the MIDI controller?

Software wise I'm going to use Reason 3.0 and Recycle. I will not need a microphone, at least not in quite a while.

Do I need monitors? Or are my headphones (Sony MDR-V700) good enough for a beginner? Or should I use my "listening speakers", so to speak for monitoring?

One last thing, can I use any mixer to change the channel volume etc in Reason?

Thanks in advance!

scottlinux

macrumors 6502a
Sep 21, 2005
I searched and that Miglia box is about $200. No XLR inputs for Mics, though. That's an okay price, I guess, but Miglia is not a pro audio company. And if you are going to spend $200 or so, I'd say get a box that has XLR inputs- you may need them.

And check out these companies:

http://www.m-audio.com
http://www.edirol.com
http://www.sweetwater.com
http://www.motu.com
http://www.alesis.com

to get you started. Edirol's have lots of features for the money. M-Audio is very popular and have good drivers.

Firewire is strongly preferred in both audio and video devices, b/c it transmits data in a constant stream. USB is not so good for audio and video b/c it transmits in short bursts. So go with a firewire device.

------