Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 9, 2006, 12:12 PM   #1
shred444
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
PowerMac Raid Advice

Hi guys, i am considering running a Raid 0 configuration on my Powermac

2x300gb drives.

Right now i have duplicated everything onto a 250gb drive and have successfully booted with this drive.

Does anybody know what steps i need to talk to Raid the two 300gb drives and move everything back onto them?

Thanks.
-Jonathan
shred444 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2006, 01:20 PM   #2
SPG
macrumors 65816
 
SPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: In the shadow of the Space Needle.
Why not keep the RAID separate from your boot drive?
This will be faster for any video edit programs, and easier to set up.
__________________
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice, but in practice there is.
SPG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2006, 05:26 PM   #3
slughead
macrumors 68030
 
slughead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Just open up disk utility, build a new RAID, and format it.

Then copy your stuff from the 250 onto the RAID.. use a program like carbon copy cloner, otherwise it wont boot.

I'd suggest doing a fresh OS install instead though.

Since you have a G5, I'm going to guess that you only have 2 hard drive bays.

I'd suggest
1) Install OS X on the 2x300GB RAID (you can RAID them while booted off the install DVD before you install OS X)
2) buy an IDE -> SATA converter
3) take out your optical drive, put in the 250GB (no need to screw it in, you'll be taking it out soon)
4) transfer your files from the 250 onto the 600GB RAID partition
5) take out the HD and put the optical back in
6) happy dance
slughead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2006, 01:49 PM   #4
SPG
macrumors 65816
 
SPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: In the shadow of the Space Needle.
Quote:
Originally Posted by slughead View Post
Since you have a G5, I'm going to guess that you only have 2 hard drive bays.
Oops, missed that part.
There are a couple other options depending on how fast you need the raid and how much $$ you have. You can use a FW800 external as your boot drive and use the two internal bays as the RAID, or you can buy an external SATA RAID from someone like http://www.promax.com/Landing/Storage/
__________________
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice, but in practice there is.
SPG is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need HD advice - external RAID array jeeplj8 Mac Pro 3 Jan 27, 2014 05:11 PM
Small raid system advice? Ben1l Mac Peripherals 5 Nov 5, 2013 12:53 PM
powermac g5 with raid not starting boneskid1 PowerPC Macs 9 Sep 11, 2013 09:44 PM
RAID 10 and Back Up Scheme Advice Pixelmage Mac Peripherals 11 Jul 14, 2012 12:37 AM
any advice on setting up raid and Nas? iOrbit MacBook Pro 3 Jun 25, 2012 08:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC