Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacBytes.com News Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 14, 2006, 04:31 PM   #1
MacBytes
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Photoshop 35% Faster on Intel Macs with OS X 10.4.8




Category: 3rd Party Hardware
Link: Photoshop 35% Faster on Intel Macs with OS X 10.4.8
Description:: none

Posted on MacBytes.com
Approved by Mudbug
MacBytes is offline   0
Old Nov 14, 2006, 05:07 PM   #2
Dagless
macrumors Core
 
Dagless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Darkplace Hospital
This is incredible I wonder how much faster it will run with leopard?
__________________
Maybe if everyone who'd ever been close to you had died, you'd be sarcastic, too.
Macrumors Steam Group
Dagless is offline   0
Old Nov 14, 2006, 05:12 PM   #3
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Ok... I thought this was just bull...pooh, but I just tried it and got 45 seconds on the photoshop test, which I got 1'06 on a while back (post)
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0
Old Nov 14, 2006, 05:13 PM   #4
kgarchar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I sure as hell haven't noticed it
__________________
3.06 27" iMac
iPhone 4
for sale -- iPad
kgarchar is offline   0
Old Nov 14, 2006, 05:39 PM   #5
Nuks
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Is 1 gig sufficient for a macbook to run photoshop?
Nuks is offline   0
Old Nov 14, 2006, 06:35 PM   #6
Luis
macrumors 65816
 
Luis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Costa Rica
Send a message via AIM to Luis
A am satisfied with 1GB on my MBP, however everyone will tell you the more Ram the better, it also depends a lot on how much you use the program. Professionals will expect much more than people that just fool around with the program.

Luis
__________________
From ashes fire shall be woken,
a light from the shadows shall spring,
renewed shall be blade that was broken,
the crownless again shall be King.
Luis is offline   0
Old Nov 14, 2006, 07:40 PM   #7
IEatApples
macrumors 6502a
 
IEatApples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern Hemisphere (Norway)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuks View Post
Is 1 gig sufficient for a macbook to run photoshop?
I'd say as a rule that it's not really enough, but you can "run" photoshop without problem on 1gig. I currently have 1,5gig ram in my iMac G5, but I could have used more. I'll be getting 2gig ram in my new intel iMac in January (unless they upgrade it further by then).
__________________
You think that's air you're breathing now?
*It's Mac OS*
Mac Pro 2,8GHz Quad, GTX 680, 10GB RAM, 3 TB HDD, Dell 2408WFP
IEatApples is offline   0
Old Nov 15, 2006, 06:42 AM   #8
Nuks
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Alright, thanks.
Nuks is offline   0
Old Nov 17, 2006, 04:51 PM   #9
Some_Big_Spoon
macrumors 6502a
 
Some_Big_Spoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New York, NY
Send a message via AIM to Some_Big_Spoon
Sufficient? No. Doable? Yes. It depends on what you're doing, and how long you've got on hand to wait. You can apply a dozen filters to a 1GB image with 1GB RAM on a MacBook, but it'll take you the better part of an hour or more to have it complete.

A good rule of thumb is that PS wants around 2GB RAM and 20-40GB of HD space to be happy. You can use less, but you wait longer. Hardcore editing you're going to want a full free 2GB RAM (since IRC, PS still can't address more than 2GB???WTF??) and an entire seperate scratch disk.

Your milage may vary.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuks View Post
Is 1 gig sufficient for a macbook to run photoshop?
__________________
Celebrating 10 years as a MacRumors member.
Some_Big_Spoon is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacBytes.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's faster: a MBP with a 3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo or 2.3GHz Quad-core Intel i7? oxband MacBook Pro 9 May 5, 2014 09:44 PM
Program that still runs faster on G5 than Intel. takeshi7 PowerPC Macs 9 Jan 21, 2014 11:27 AM
G5 faster than intel pro gpp Mac Pro 6 Jan 28, 2013 11:44 AM
Old Macs Tune up - Make it running cooler,faster and brighter keyboard backlit derekkwong MacBook Pro 0 Jan 7, 2013 07:08 PM
OS X: Games for older (intel) macs iamsamclarke Mac and PC Games 3 Dec 23, 2012 02:19 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC