Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ReanimationLP

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Jan 8, 2005
On the moon.
My Dodge Caravan SE from 1993 will not start all the way up.

The engine rotates, but it doesnt actually start up or kick over. When you crank it, sometimes it will crank kinda slow.

I'm not very good at cars, and I cant afford to take it to a mechanic, so does anyone have any suggestions on where to start? I have the repair manual for it, and am quite good with my hands (I have done some work like replacing parts and such on it)

Please help. o.o' Its getting really inconvienent.

ozontheroad

macrumors 6502
Aug 4, 2006
the reef
My Dodge Caravan SE from 1993 will not start all the way up.

The engine rotates, but it doesnt actually start up or kick over. When you crank it, sometimes it will crank kinda slow.

I'm not very good at cars, and I cant afford to take it to a mechanic, so does anyone have any suggestions on where to start? I have the repair manual for it, and am quite good with my hands (I have done some work like replacing parts and such on it)

Please help. o.o' Its getting really inconvienent.

it could be that your battery is losing its charge

"sometimes it will crank kinda slow" this is why i think that the battery might be the culprit.

PS. I'm no mechanic so I could be wrong :D

pseudobrit

macrumors 68040
Jul 23, 2002
Jobs' Spare Liver Jar

Check ignition.

beatsme

macrumors 65816
Oct 6, 2005
it could be that your battery is losing its charge

"sometimes it will crank kinda slow" this is why i think that the battery might be the culprit.

PS. I'm no mechanic so I could be wrong :D

yea...prolly the battery. What you'll want to do is jump it and let it charge for a bit.

take it over to your local Advance Auto Parts (I think AutoZone can help too) and tell them you want the battery and the alternator checked. No dis-assembly required, and they'll do it for free.