Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 18, 2006, 04:58 PM   #1
jhu
macrumors 6502a
 
jhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
another darwin and mac os x

is it possible to run the mac os gui on a different darwin foundation? eg. mac os x 10.5 will probably be using darwin 9. suppose i don't want to upgrade the gui, but just the darwin portion. could i have the 10.4 gui running on top of darwin 9? has anyone tried this before?
__________________
athlon 64 :: debian 4.0
pentium 3 :: debian 4.0
bcm5352 :: openwrt rc4
powerpc750 :: mac os x 10.4.8
powerpc603 :: netbsd 3.1
jhu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2006, 12:09 AM   #2
jhu
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
jhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
anyone? it would seem to me that installing darwin over mac os x would leave the mac os x specific files intact allowing a lower version of aqua to run on an updated version of darwin.
__________________
athlon 64 :: debian 4.0
pentium 3 :: debian 4.0
bcm5352 :: openwrt rc4
powerpc750 :: mac os x 10.4.8
powerpc603 :: netbsd 3.1
jhu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2006, 12:20 AM   #3
aspro
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hobart, Australia
I couldn't say, but it certainly sounds like trouble.

Who knows what things a install over the top would break, at least in most other operating systems the planned and designed upgrade process often breaks things, so simply brute forcing it is just asking for trouble.
__________________

13" Macbook
[2.16Ghz/2GB/120GB/Mac OSX 10.5.1/iPod classic 80GB]
aspro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2006, 12:52 AM   #4
wmmk
macrumors 68020
 
wmmk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The Library.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhu View Post
anyone? it would seem to me that installing darwin over mac os x would leave the mac os x specific files intact allowing a lower version of aqua to run on an updated version of darwin.
meh. if you back up, if doesn't hurt to try anything! that said, I'd first wipe the HDD, install Darwin 9, and install 10.4 over it. Anyway, that probably wouldn't work. Well, have fun!
wmmk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2006, 01:33 AM   #5
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
It could be possible but without knowing the dependencies between the GUI and Darwin, who could say? Even Apple's own developers probably don't know.
bousozoku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2006, 10:17 AM   #6
jhu
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
jhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmmk View Post
meh. if you back up, if doesn't hurt to try anything! that said, I'd first wipe the HDD, install Darwin 9, and install 10.4 over it. Anyway, that probably wouldn't work. Well, have fun!
the problem with that is that you would end up back with darwin 8.x since the installation installs core elements and not just the gui elements.

i haven't had the time to try this yet, but i'll give it a try whenever darwin 9/mac os x 10.5 comes out
__________________
athlon 64 :: debian 4.0
pentium 3 :: debian 4.0
bcm5352 :: openwrt rc4
powerpc750 :: mac os x 10.4.8
powerpc603 :: netbsd 3.1
jhu is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Os gone and only windows shows up, Help me. Sarwanster Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Sep 24, 2011 01:32 PM
Mac OS X 10.8 Nyan Cat Vasileios Wasteland 6 Jul 22, 2011 08:45 AM
Resolved: Solution to make scanner work with Canon Pixma MP568 and Mac OS X 10.6.7 Suketa Mac Peripherals 0 Jul 14, 2011 12:50 PM
Can Mac OS 10.5 disc repair a 10.4 installation (PowerPC)) Chadder OS X 3 Jun 4, 2011 09:46 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC