Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 20, 2006, 10:59 PM   #1
akadmon
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New England
How to eject a CD from a Mac Pro during Windows install

As of this minute I'm in the process of installing Windows XP via Boot Camp on a Mac Pro. The problem I ran into is that the install CD I have is for an upgrade to Win XP. Since the installer can't find a previous version of Window, it's asking for a install CD for the previous version. I do have a Win 2K Pro install CD, but I can't eject the Win XP CD from the Mac Pro drive to put it in. HELP!!!

It's kind of silly that Apple did not put a pinhole in there like in every other computer I've ever used.
__________________
"2012" Mac Pro 6-Core + 2013 MBA
akadmon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2006, 12:51 AM   #2
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
You can't.
That's why you very specifically need a full install CD of XP SP2.

Not so minor point is... an upgrade OS CD is not a legal license to install it on a new CPU.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2006, 08:11 AM   #3
akadmon
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New England
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM View Post
You can't.
That's why you very specifically need a full install CD of XP SP2.

Not so minor point is... an upgrade OS CD is not a legal license to install it on a new CPU.
Microsoft must love Apple for this! Everyone with a version of Windows other than XP (with SP2 nonetheless -- I spent a couple of hours researching and the finally streamlining SP2 into the Win XP install CD that I can't use ) is forced to pony up for a full version of XP. What a load of horse manure.

Guess I have to try installing W2K, which means more wasted time, as there are about a dozen steps required to tweak the W2K install CD.

And for Apple not to make it possible to eject a CD manually is plain stupid.
__________________
"2012" Mac Pro 6-Core + 2013 MBA
akadmon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2006, 01:59 PM   #4
cw2k
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
You can press the eject button if you use an unfolded paperclip.

Just get a torch, point it at the front of the mac pro just below the dvd drive. You should see a hole behind the grill with part of the dvd drives eject button showing, stick in the paper clip to press the button but make sure you pull it out very quickly once pressed otherwise it will stop the drive bay cover opening.

On my Mac Pro it's the 7th hole from the right and 4th hole down.
cw2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2006, 05:00 PM   #5
akadmon
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New England
Quote:
Originally Posted by cw2k View Post
You can press the eject button if you use an unfolded paperclip.

Just get a torch, point it at the front of the mac pro just below the dvd drive. You should see a hole behind the grill with part of the dvd drives eject button showing, stick in the paper clip to press the button but make sure you pull it out very quickly once pressed otherwise it will stop the drive bay cover opening.

On my Mac Pro it's the 7th hole from the right and 4th hole down.
Thanks. I'll give it a try tonight.

P.S.

I think I'll use a flashlight instead of a torch. You Brits are so adventurous
__________________
"2012" Mac Pro 6-Core + 2013 MBA
akadmon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2006, 06:01 PM   #6
daveIT
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: AK, USA
Torch?

Propane or plasma?
__________________
daveIT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2006, 09:52 PM   #7
akadmon
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New England
Quote:
Originally Posted by akadmon View Post
Thanks. I'll give it a try tonight.

P.S.

I think I'll use a flashlight instead of a torch. You Brits are so adventurous
Well I'll be damned! I tried once and it worked perfectly But now I seem to have lost the touch. Been poking around for the last 15 minutes without any luck

Since the holes are staggered, do you count straight down and across, or on a zigzag pattern?
__________________
"2012" Mac Pro 6-Core + 2013 MBA

Last edited by akadmon; Nov 21, 2006 at 10:01 PM.
akadmon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2006, 12:31 AM   #8
macintouch
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
I just pulled the drive and set it on the top of my machine. When I needed to swap, I pressed the button on the actual drive and swapped.

Upgrade CD's are completely fine to use, just as long as you own a previous older full install CD (Windows 3.51, Windows NT, 2000, 95, 98, ME, etc.). That makes it perfectly legal to do.
__________________
++ Desktop ++ Aluminum iMac 20" 2.0GHz/4GB
++ Laptop ++ MacBook Pro 15 Unibody/2.66GHz/4GB
macintouch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2006, 06:07 AM   #9
akadmon
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New England
Quote:
Originally Posted by macintouch View Post
I just pulled the drive and set it on the top of my machine. When I needed to swap, I pressed the button on the actual drive and swapped.

Upgrade CD's are completely fine to use, just as long as you own a previous older full install CD (Windows 3.51, Windows NT, 2000, 95, 98, ME, etc.). That makes it perfectly legal to do.
Are there any visual guides showing how to do this? The drive is not visible after the side panel is pulled. It's in some kind of enclosure and I'm afraid to damage some other component when I try to remove it.
__________________
"2012" Mac Pro 6-Core + 2013 MBA
akadmon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2006, 06:26 AM   #10
pengu
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Diddily Daddily...
can you not use a "slipstreamed" install CD?
pengu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2006, 10:39 AM   #11
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Hmm. My reply to this thread seems to have vanished

As has widely been reported in the Windows on Mac forum, you can use an external USB CD drive for the Win98 etc... disc, or you can combine your XP and 98 discs onto one disc as described here http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=192164. Not quite slipstreaming, but legal nonetheless.

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2006, 10:49 AM   #12
seanf
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by akadmon View Post
Are there any visual guides showing how to do this? The drive is not visible after the side panel is pulled. It's in some kind of enclosure and I'm afraid to damage some other component when I try to remove it.
As you are looking at the inside of the Pro the bay you want to remove is at the top left. Just carefully edge this out until you are able to pull it towards you. Just watch that you don't pull any wires and make sure you don't trap any when you put it back in.

Sean
seanf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2006, 12:08 PM   #13
akadmon
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New England
Quote:
Originally Posted by balamw View Post
Hmm. My reply to this thread seems to have vanished

As has widely been reported in the Windows on Mac forum, you can use an external USB CD drive for the Win98 etc... disc, or you can combine your XP and 98 discs onto one disc as described here http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=192164. Not quite slipstreaming, but legal nonetheless.

B
No, your reply did not disappear. You posted the similar replay in another thread I started where I eventually asked the same question.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=253532

I don't have an external CD drive (and I'm not going to buy one just for this).
Also, the link in the thread you reference above is dead. Anyone saved the the instructions on how to combine Win98&WinXP installs on a single CD?
__________________
"2012" Mac Pro 6-Core + 2013 MBA
akadmon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2006, 12:39 PM   #14
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by akadmon View Post
No, your reply did not disappear. You posted the similar replay in another thread I started where I eventually asked the same question.
Funny, I didn't see it in my profile. Guess I'm not totally insane.

Quote:
Originally Posted by akadmon View Post
I don't have an external CD drive (and I'm not going to buy one just for this).
Also, the link in the thread you reference above is dead. Anyone saved the the instructions on how to combine Win98&WinXP installs on a single CD?
You could borrow one, or even an internal since you have a Mac Pro.

Anyhow, read the whole thread my synopsis of the process is there http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...1&postcount=23

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2006, 12:58 PM   #15
akadmon
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New England
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanf View Post
As you are looking at the inside of the Pro the bay you want to remove is at the top left. Just carefully edge this out until you are able to pull it towards you. Just watch that you don't pull any wires and make sure you don't trap any when you put it back in.

Sean
Well I found the instructions on how to replace the optical drive. I presume will work for my purposes

http://manuals.info.apple.com/en/Mac...lDrive_DIY.pdf
__________________
"2012" Mac Pro 6-Core + 2013 MBA

Last edited by akadmon; Nov 22, 2006 at 01:06 PM.
akadmon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2006, 01:03 PM   #16
akadmon
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New England
Quote:
Originally Posted by balamw View Post
Funny, I didn't see it in my profile. Guess I'm not totally insane.



You could borrow one, or even an internal since you have a Mac Pro.

Anyhow, read the whole thread my synopsis of the process is there http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...1&postcount=23

B
Can I burn this bootable DVD on my Mac Pro using built-in software? Having to go out and buy another program (Toast, is it?) just to be able to do the Windows install defeats the purpose, which is to save money by utilizing what I already own.
__________________
"2012" Mac Pro 6-Core + 2013 MBA
akadmon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2006, 01:10 PM   #17
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by akadmon View Post
Can I burn this bootable DVD on my Mac Pro using built-in software? Having to go out and buy another program (Toast, is it?) just to be able to do the Windows install defeats the purpose, which is to save money by utilizing what I already own.
Yes. You can create the ISO with mkisofs and burn it with Disk Utility.

EDIT: Build the folders as specified, then create the ISO as described here: http://wiki.onmac.net/index.php/HOWT..._and_.2ANIX.29

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme

Last edited by balamw; Nov 22, 2006 at 01:15 PM.
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2006, 02:24 PM   #18
akadmon
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New England
Quote:
Originally Posted by balamw View Post
Yes. You can create the ISO with mkisofs and burn it with Disk Utility.

EDIT: Build the folders as specified, then create the ISO as described here: http://wiki.onmac.net/index.php/HOWT..._and_.2ANIX.29

B
I have no idea what mkisofs is. The page you pointed to has some blurb about installing XCode/Developer Tools. Is this already on the machine and just has to be activated ("installed")?

Anyway, since I can't tell UNIX from a Unicorn, I'll probably just slide the damn drive out of the computer and do it the brute force way
__________________
"2012" Mac Pro 6-Core + 2013 MBA
akadmon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2006, 04:30 AM   #19
seanf
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by akadmon View Post
Well I found the instructions on how to replace the optical drive. I presume will work for my purposes
Yes, just boot into OS X, put the XP installation CD into the drive, shutdown and then follow the instructions to take the Optical Bay out and then just rest it on top of something during installation.

Sean
seanf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2006, 10:35 AM   #20
akadmon
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New England
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanf View Post
Yes, just boot into OS X, put the XP installation CD into the drive, shutdown and then follow the instructions to take the Optical Bay out and then just rest it on top of something during installation.

Sean
That's what I did and it was easy as cake I never even laid the tower on its side as instructed. Simply pulled the drive casing out and swung it around 90 degrees. The whole thing rested quite securely inside the opening. And my Win XP install went off without a hitch.

I gotta say, guys, there is something weird about how OSX renders fonts. I mean how can it be that on the same hardware text in XP is so much sharper and darker than in OSX? It's as though the refresh rate was at 60 Hz in OSX vs. 75 Hz in XP, only it's not -- I do have it set at 75 Hz in both. Is Leopard going to fix that?
__________________
"2012" Mac Pro 6-Core + 2013 MBA

Last edited by akadmon; Nov 23, 2006 at 10:45 AM. Reason: added the bit about refresh rate
akadmon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2008, 07:11 PM   #21
brettw
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
F12

Hold down the F12 key on reboot until it ejects or the world bursts into flames. I am going the VMWare route if i can figure out how to kill my boot camp partition.
brettw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2008, 07:40 PM   #22
AppleNewton
macrumors 65816
 
AppleNewton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 1 Finite Place
what about 2 optical drives?

1 disc in one and the other in the 2nd?
AppleNewton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2008, 10:47 PM   #23
Firefly2002
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
How? Easy! Just get three technicians, a torch and a screwdriver. See the "Rant About Apple Hardware" thread for details.
Firefly2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2008, 08:39 PM   #24
Siron
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Carolina
Don't get me started about Torch and Flashlight When I first came to the US I bought an MG and trying to explain to the guy at AutoZone that I needed a Rocker Box gasket, or a feeler gauge to adjust my Tappets or rear window for my Hood was an experience in itself
__________________
Mac Pro 3.0GHZ, 4GB Ram, nVidia GTX285 2010 13" MacBook Air + Superdrive iPhone 3GS TV iPad
Siron is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2010, 11:26 AM   #25
drndown2008
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by akadmon View Post
And for Apple not to make it possible to eject a CD manually is plain stupid.
Yes! I'm thinking I'm going to wire up my own eject button - it will be butt ugly and hanging out the side of the box. But at least that front grill is pretty!
drndown2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clean Windows 8 install on new Mac Pro (late 2013) panofish Mac Basics and Help 4 Mar 7, 2014 10:29 PM
Mac Pro - After Clean Install Of Windows 7 64 Without BootCamp Falcon703549 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 15 Mar 18, 2013 02:06 PM
Mac Pro Windows Install Hell! thepalestblue Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 6 Nov 6, 2012 08:16 PM
Download Windows 7 and Install on Mac Book Pro RMD68 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Oct 23, 2012 12:58 AM
HELP - Mac Pro stuck in Windows Install Cycle Melbourne Park Mac Pro 12 Sep 21, 2012 06:28 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC