Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 24, 2006, 01:45 PM   #1
avinator
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
my new G5 dual core :)

Hi,

I just purchased my first mac from Frys the other day. A gorgeous power mac g5 dual core 2.0 open box manufactured late 2005..... I am pretty impressed by how easy it is to run a mac ( worked with windows for the past 6 years and with Ubuntu for the past 2 moths which I love by the way.. and I have it installed on another machine )

The other day I tried to copy some mp3 to the my new Mac and everything worked really nice...except ..on my 3rd disk the system "froze" nothing went on for a few minutess and then the fans went wild after about 2minutes after the "freeze"! so... I just unplagged the machine waited a few minutes and then...everything went back to normal. ( fans are quite now... )

Anyway.. I have a handfull of questions...

*why did my G5 Freeze ? any ideas ?
*any thoughts on the g5 vs the Intel 2 duo ?
*worth extra mula ? I would need to shell out another 700 clams.. ( for the 2.0 gz machine..
*what would be an adequate memoryfor the G5 1 gig ?
*Apple care or Frys care ? ( apple 3 years at $250.00 - Frys 5 years @ $300.00 )


Thanks for your help !
avinator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2006, 06:05 PM   #2
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Welcome to Macs.


Quote:
Originally Posted by avinator View Post
*why did my G5 Freeze ? any ideas ?

Who knows. If a CD is scratched then it can sometime freeze iTunes, but the great thing about Macs is that it shouldn't affect any other app. Was it running really hot? If it happens again, check the Console in the Utilities folder to see if your Mac recorded what was happening.


Quote:
Originally Posted by avinator View Post
*any thoughts on the g5 vs the Intel 2 duo ?

Depends what you use it for, really. I still use a G5 (iMac) and love it. It's powerful enough for me.


Quote:
Originally Posted by avinator View Post
*worth extra mula ? I would need to shell out another 700 clams.. ( for the 2.0 gz machine..

Whoa, are you talking about getting a Mac Pro for $700? That sounds like a pretty good price!


Quote:
Originally Posted by avinator View Post
*what would be an adequate memoryfor the G5 1 gig ?

Once again, it depends on what you use it for. The Power Macs generally have a sweet spot around the 2GB mark. Macs have excellent memory management and are capable of utilising what you throw at them. Having said that, they are quite memory-hungry.

As you probably know, increasing the amount of memory will never hurt but it won't necessarily help, either. It will reduce the bottleneck that is constantly using the hard drive which should reduce the amount of slow downs you have when using your system. A good way to check if you need more memory is to monitor the rate at which page ins and page outs accumulate in Activity Monitor (also in the Utilities folder).


Quote:
Originally Posted by avinator View Post
*Apple care or Frys care ? ( apple 3 years at $250.00 - Frys 5 years @ $300.00 )

Sorry mate, no idea.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2006, 06:20 PM   #3
imacintel
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Buy AppleCare. you are getting better protection by the company that actually made it.
imacintel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2006, 05:10 PM   #4
leekohler
Banned
 
leekohler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
I have a dual core G5 as well and love it. Got it this past April. I have 3.5 gigs of RAM right now, but I've heard the sweet spot is 4. I guess they really take off with that amount. If I were you, I'd get at least 2 gigs.
leekohler is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Mini (2012) Dual Core vs Quad Core as a media center CeratixD Buying Tips and Advice 14 Feb 20, 2013 12:32 AM
2012 i5 Dual core Base or 2011 i7 Quad Core server? kenfused Mac mini 3 Dec 12, 2012 01:45 PM
Performance difference between Dual core i7 in 2012 MBP 13 v/s Quad Core 2011 iMac i5 mjoshi123 MacBook Pro 3 Sep 14, 2012 02:11 PM
One core, dual core, quad core? Whats A6? Sensamic iPhone 49 Sep 13, 2012 03:59 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC