Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 25, 2006, 11:50 AM   #1
livingfortoday
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Msp
Cube CPU upgrade compatibility

I had a quick upgrade question. I'm getting back into upgrading my Cube, and was wondering - since it has a 100Mhz bus, would processor upgrades for a Sawtooth or Gigabit Ethernet G4 tower work in it? Not necessarily fit in it, but just work?

Thanks!
__________________
iMac / iPhone
livingfortoday is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2006, 12:46 PM   #2
IJ Reilly
macrumors G5
 
IJ Reilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Palookaville
With the standard motherboard? I'm pretty certain the answer is no. Your CPU upgrade options are pretty limited.
__________________
*The season starts too early and finishes too late and there are too many games in between.
Bill Veeck
IJ Reilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2006, 12:52 PM   #3
Silentwave
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gainesville, FL
Send a message via AIM to Silentwave Send a message via MSN to Silentwave Send a message via Skype™ to Silentwave
As IJ said, no, only the cube-dedicated ones will work, apparently.
Not that they are necessarily bad...single 1.8 or dual 1.5 or 1.6, and I don't think the prices are much different from the comparable G4s you're talking about.

Of course that wouldn't matter if you already had the processor...
__________________
+ R3D
Macs, Cameras and way too much data for a sane person to have to store.
Silentwave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2006, 12:59 PM   #4
livingfortoday
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Msp
Really? I'm looking to upgrade it to a single-processor G4, and was looking at this one in particular:
http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Sonne...ogy/SG414002M/

I guess I figured that a Cube could take a Sawtooth upgrade since I'm using a processor pulled from a Sawtooth (450Mhz) in there right now. Is there any particular reason the upgrade wouldn't work? The only thing I can think of would maybe be power issues?
__________________
iMac / iPhone
livingfortoday is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2006, 01:12 PM   #5
Lord Blackadder
macrumors G4
 
Lord Blackadder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sod off
I'm pretty sure the CPU would fit and work, but the heatsink/fan setup would not.

Looking at the Cube upgrades, I notice that the PowerLogix kits for the Cube come with an on-board VRM (and they use the low-power 7447), so slapping a kit designed for the Sawtooth may either overheat the Cube, overwhelm the power supply/VRM, or both.
__________________
Oh, God, God, God! What on earth was I drinking last night? My head feels like there's a Frenchman living in it. - Edmund Blackadder
Lord Blackadder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2006, 01:21 PM   #6
livingfortoday
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Msp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Blackadder View Post
I'm pretty sure the CPU would fit and work, but the heatsink/fan setup would not.

Looking at the Cube upgrades, I notice that the PowerLogix kits for the Cube come with an on-board VRM (and they use the low-power 7447), so slapping a kit designed for the Sawtooth may either overheat the Cube, overwhelm the power supply/VRM, or both.
I think you're right about the VRM thing. I had a Powerlogix dual-1.5Ghz in my Cube way back in the day (I sold off the third RMA I got when the first two CPU's burnt out within a week), and it came with a cable to bypass the logic board and draw power straight from the VRM. I suppose a Sawtooth upgrade would not have anything like that. Hmm. Ok, I guess that rules that out, then.
__________________
iMac / iPhone
livingfortoday is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2006, 02:42 PM   #7
xrays
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto, ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by livingfortoday View Post
I had a quick upgrade question. I'm getting back into upgrading my Cube, and was wondering - since it has a 100Mhz bus, would processor upgrades for a Sawtooth or Gigabit Ethernet G4 tower work in it? Not necessarily fit in it, but just work?
Quite simply, if you don't buy an 'approved' CPU upgrade for your Cube, you risk a number of things: It won't fit. It won't work. It might work for a while and then burn out your VRM. It might work.

I personally don't think those risks are worth trying any non-approved upgrades. The power requirements alone for the Cube are very tight, and exceeding those with a Sawtooth upgrade (especially a powerful one) will most likely end in a pretty Apple paper weight.

Do yourself a favour and stick to something that's guaranteed to work, and you'll have a happy Cube for a number of years to come. Right now I have a PL 1.8 in mine, and it's quite happy (and fast).

http://eshop.macsales.com/MyOWC/Upgr...=Show+Upgrades

OWC has a few listed, but the numbers are diminishing as the demand has fallen off over the last year (mostly due to the release of the Intel Macs). I've bought from them many times, and I've always been happy with the results.

Good luck!

x.
__________________
MacBook Pro: Dual 2.0GHz 15" LCD, Tiger
QuickSilver: Giga 1.47GHz, GeForce4ti, Dell 24" LCD, Tiger
Cube: PL 1.8GHz, Radeon 9200, Dell 24" LCD, Tiger
xrays is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2006, 07:55 AM   #8
Duffman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Yea, as pretty much everyone else said, the Cube should only be upgraded with Cube-specific G4 cards. I have heard of someone using a tower G4 card before, but that is a serious mod that I dont think is worth getting into, considering the speed would not be that much of an improvement, and figuring out which CPU would work would be even more of a task. Stick with a Sonnet, Powerlogix, or Giga upgrade card. That way you get the warranty if it fries. (Which has been a problem with some of the cards.)
__________________
My mate's dog ate my ipod shuffle. How do you feel about that?
Duffman is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importance of stepping for MP 1,1 CPU upgrades Neodym Mac Pro 10 Aug 19, 2011 03:10 PM
Memory upgrades in a 6 core upgrade mikeyg36 Mac Pro 6 May 22, 2011 08:49 PM
Mac pro hex cpu upgrade ram compatibility hammten Mac Pro 3 May 6, 2011 01:18 PM
27-inch imac cpu upgrade? lPHONE iMac 13 Feb 22, 2011 03:57 PM
FS: Cube, 15inch display and cpu upgrade kit on ebay mgrubb Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 0 Apr 19, 2004 06:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC