Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 27, 2006, 03:01 PM   #1
h?
macrumors 68000
 
h?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Send a message via MSN to h?
Making Icons

Hiya guys,
I am fairly new to the whole design thing and was wondeing how i could make icons. I have a few things that i want to make but i dont know if there are any specific programmes that are free. At the moment, i am trying to make them in photoshop but because they are irregular shapes, it automatically comes up with a white background on the thumbnail that is on the desktop. Can anyone please tell me how i can turn this off or a decent programme to use.

R
__________________
If everyone is unique then no one is as they share uniqueness in common.
h? is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2006, 05:55 PM   #2
Mydriasis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
most likely your not exporting in a format that supports transparency. Is the background transparent in PS?

Try PNG.

Or there is an application called IconComposer that is part of the developer tools, which are part of OS X. Its free and does exactly what you want.
Mydriasis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2006, 10:03 PM   #3
decksnap
macrumors 68030
 
decksnap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
It needs to be an .icns file. Make a 128x128 transparent .png in photoshop or fireworks, and use a program like iConverter to convert it.
__________________
My cat's breath smells like catfood.
decksnap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2006, 04:39 PM   #4
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
I've been making .icns for a while, using them for applications, but what's an easy way to put those onto a file or folder? Never have found an easy way.

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2006, 04:46 PM   #5
decksnap
macrumors 68030
 
decksnap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Just do an apple+I on both items and copy and paste the icon from one window to the other.
__________________
My cat's breath smells like catfood.
decksnap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2006, 12:17 AM   #6
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
No, the .icns files I create just have a generic .icns icon when I do that. I'm using Icon Composer here, btw, and the files it generates don't have the icon that I've designed as their own icon. I can replace an .icns file within an app with one of my own and it works great, and from there I can do that, but if I don't intend to put it on an app, it's a lot of work to do that and then undo it after I've copied the icon.

And just copying the png image from Fireworks or Preview doesn't seem to work either, it's got a white background and no transparency.

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2006, 08:51 AM   #7
decksnap
macrumors 68030
 
decksnap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Hmm. You must be doing something wrong when you're generating it. Most .icns files function the way I described.
__________________
My cat's breath smells like catfood.
decksnap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2006, 10:03 AM   #8
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
What could I be doing wrong??? I simply put the png's in the appropriate slots, and hit save. The resulting file sometimes shows up with the icon as it's icon, but only superficially. I can't copy it from the Get Info window, because it's actually a generic icon (the reason it shows the icon is because I have Show Icon Preview on). Are you using a different tool than Apple's Icon Composer?

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2006, 01:12 AM   #9
dogbone
Banned
 
dogbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
I've had this problem in the past where the the icon in the get info is a generic icon. I now use Icon builder to make icons, which is a photoshop plug in.

However a solution to the generic icon in the get info window is to simply drop the icns file on to IconDroplet and presto problem solved.
dogbone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2006, 01:33 AM   #10
Buschmaster
macrumors 65816
 
Buschmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Minnesota
Send a message via AIM to Buschmaster
I use Iconographer. I tried others and had your same problem. I can't remember if your program was specifically one of them, though...
__________________
Mint Apps: Apps with beauty and simplicity: www.mintapps.com
Buschmaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Get Sidebar Icons to match custom icons? Shawzborne OS X Mavericks (10.9) 4 Nov 20, 2013 03:53 AM
Active Icons using icons to fill your calendar Puzzlemaker Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Sep 10, 2013 10:50 AM
iPhone: Making theme icons work Maverik3 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Feb 13, 2013 03:45 PM
Making the Most rctlr iCloud and Apple Services 0 Nov 23, 2012 02:50 PM
This is really making me upset. xPurpleblob MacBook Pro 21 Nov 11, 2012 09:38 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC