Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Old Nov 27, 2006, 03:01 PM   #1
h?
macrumors 68000

Send a message via MSN to h?
Making Icons

Hiya guys,
I am fairly new to the whole design thing and was wondeing how i could make icons. I have a few things that i want to make but i dont know if there are any specific programmes that are free. At the moment, i am trying to make them in photoshop but because they are irregular shapes, it automatically comes up with a white background on the thumbnail that is on the desktop. Can anyone please tell me how i can turn this off or a decent programme to use.

R
Old Nov 27, 2006, 05:55 PM   #2
Mydriasis
macrumors 6502

most likely your not exporting in a format that supports transparency. Is the background transparent in PS?

Try PNG.

Or there is an application called IconComposer that is part of the developer tools, which are part of OS X. Its free and does exactly what you want.
Mydriasis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2006, 10:03 PM   #3
decksnap
macrumors 68030

It needs to be an .icns file. Make a 128x128 transparent .png in photoshop or fireworks, and use a program like iConverter to convert it.
Old Nov 30, 2006, 04:39 PM   #4
Mal
macrumors 603

I've been making .icns for a while, using them for applications, but what's an easy way to put those onto a file or folder? Never have found an easy way.

jW
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2006, 04:46 PM   #5
decksnap
macrumors 68030

Just do an apple+I on both items and copy and paste the icon from one window to the other.
Old Dec 1, 2006, 12:17 AM   #6
Mal
macrumors 603