Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 29, 2006, 05:55 PM   #1
Alamac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
B&W G3/640MB RAM and new 128MB ATI RADEON PRO Mac Edition - Slow

Hi,

I have just installed an ATI Radeon graphic card with 128MB ram on my 350MHz B&W G3. I am using OSX 10.3. But I find the speed on my computer still quite slow. This is rather apparent when I try to play a DVD movie with my newly installed DVD-RW drive. The image is not smooth. But when I added another 128MB ram making a total of 700+, the video was slightly better.

My question is if anyone here can help me, is this normal for a B&W G3? I compared this with my Pentium III PC, when I installed a higher spec graphic card with all else remaining the same, my PC was nocticeably faster, unlike my Mac. Anyone can help me to solve this problem. Do I have to add more ram or maximise my ram for the speed to be faster? Thanks.

Alex
Alamac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2006, 05:59 PM   #2
SuperCompu2
macrumors 6502a
 
SuperCompu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: MA
Send a message via AIM to SuperCompu2
What's the clock speed of the P3?
__________________
MacBook Air 2.13GHz C2D/2GB/128SS/10.8
Canon Rebel XT
MacRumors Scavenger Hunt Score: 1
SuperCompu2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2006, 06:04 PM   #3
Alamac
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Hi Super, thanks for the response, its 800MHz.
Alamac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2006, 06:12 PM   #4
SuperCompu2
macrumors 6502a
 
SuperCompu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: MA
Send a message via AIM to SuperCompu2
800MHz...I'd say thats about the same speed as a 350 G3, wth the same specs.

Did you install any software with the graphics card? sometimes graphics cards have software that run multiple processes in the background you don't even know about (Mine did, till I killed most of em )

Also, as in any case...the more RAM the better...especially for DVD playback
__________________
MacBook Air 2.13GHz C2D/2GB/128SS/10.8
Canon Rebel XT
MacRumors Scavenger Hunt Score: 1
SuperCompu2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2006, 06:20 PM   #5
dpaanlka
macrumors 601
 
dpaanlka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois
Send a message via AIM to dpaanlka
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperCompu2 View Post
800MHz...I'd say thats about the same speed as a 350 G3, wth the same specs.
Huh???

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperCompu2 View Post
Did you install any software with the graphics card? sometimes graphics cards have software that run multiple processes in the background you don't even know about (Mine did, till I killed most of em )
You pretty much never should install third party drivers along with your third party card for OS X.

And since the system is all PCI, you have no Quartz Extreme, which all the AGP systems do. This is key for making OS X feel fast.
__________________
Long-time Mac user and evangelist, creator of ArraySync and curator of Info-Mac and System 7 Today.
dpaanlka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2006, 08:10 PM   #6
SuperCompu2
macrumors 6502a
 
SuperCompu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: MA
Send a message via AIM to SuperCompu2
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpaanlka View Post
Huh???

jokingly of course...
I still use my PIII Laptop, feels quite fast when I use it.

With enough RAM, and of course proper Hardware arrangements, the G3 should still be chugging along. The Computer I'm on right now is a Dual 500MHz G4, and I find it plenty fast for all my regular everyday needs.
__________________
MacBook Air 2.13GHz C2D/2GB/128SS/10.8
Canon Rebel XT
MacRumors Scavenger Hunt Score: 1
SuperCompu2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2006, 08:30 PM   #7
Spock
macrumors 68000
 
Spock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Vulcan
Send a message via AIM to Spock Send a message via Yahoo to Spock
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alamac View Post
Hi,

I have just installed an ATI Radeon graphic card with 128MB ram on my 350MHz B&W G3. I am using OSX 10.3. But I find the speed on my computer still quite slow. This is rather apparent when I try to play a DVD movie with my newly installed DVD-RW drive. The image is not smooth. But when I added another 128MB ram making a total of 700+, the video was slightly better.

My question is if anyone here can help me, is this normal for a B&W G3? I compared this with my Pentium III PC, when I installed a higher spec graphic card with all else remaining the same, my PC was nocticeably faster, unlike my Mac. Anyone can help me to solve this problem. Do I have to add more ram or maximise my ram for the speed to be faster? Thanks.

Alex
I would do a reinstall of Your system software, I put a DVD-RAM drive in my B&W and it would not play DVD's at all hardly. After a re-install it ran just as smooth as my G4 also overclock that bad boy to 400MhZ that will give you a good boost http://www.lowendmac.com/macdan/02/0710ek.html
Spock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2006, 09:19 PM   #8
Alamac
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Thanks guys for the help.

Quote:
I would do a reinstall of Your system software, I put a DVD-RAM drive in my B&W and it would not play DVD's at all hardly. After a re-install it ran just as smooth as my G4 also overclock that bad boy to 400MhZ that will give you a good boost http://www.lowendmac.com/macdan/02/0710ek.html
Spock,

I will definitely try the clean reinstall route. I was thinking of doing this but felt it was too much work. But I will try it this time. And thanks for the link. Will check out for the overclocking.

"Live long and prosper"
Alamac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2006, 09:34 PM   #9
apfhex
macrumors 68030
 
apfhex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Northern California
I swear DVD playback under OS X on the B&W G3's was never quite as good as it was under OS 8.5/9.0, but my parents are using that very machine almost exclusively for DVD playback these days with 10.3.9 installed and it's perfectly smooth. It has the original Rage128 (16MB VRAM!) and 256MB RAM.

Perhaps it's a video card driver issue, since you say you just installed the Radeon Pro.
__________________
2006 Mac Pro 2.66Ghz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT, 23" ACD, Lion
Verizon iPhone 4 16GB ; White iPad 3 16GB
apfhex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2006, 09:52 PM   #10
zimtheinvader
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: the capitol
I have problems with my G4 400/512mb playing stuff, so yeah maybe its time to get a 1ghz++....
zimtheinvader is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2006, 06:35 AM   #11
aquajet
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DFW
Which Radeon, and is it a Mac Edition card or a flashed PC card?
aquajet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2006, 08:12 AM   #12
SmurfBoxMasta
macrumors 65816
 
SmurfBoxMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: If you come into the forest really late at night, I might tell you...or nOt :)
 
I dont recall a Mac Radeon 9800 pro coming in a PCI version..........since B&W's dont have AGP slots............this must be a flashed pc card
__________________
Please don't judge me...I was created to be AWESOME, not perfect
SmurfBoxMasta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2006, 10:14 AM   #13
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmurfBoxMasta View Post
I dont recall a Mac Radeon 9800 pro coming in a PCI version..........since B&W's dont have AGP slots............this must be a flashed pc card
well over half the mac video cards (pci or agp) I see on ebay are flashed x86 cards. I bought a radeon 7000 pci for my B&W (that I use as a dedicated bit torrent machine) that was flashed and it works perfectly. not bad for 18 bucks. I needed it because I run it off the vga port on my dell widescreen and the original rage 128 16mb couldn't power it. its only a 20"!

anyway.. I think the main bottleneck for you Alamac is your G3 350.

for now the best thing you can do is get about 6-7 hard drive jumpers and overclock the 350 to 400. mine is a 350 and it runs 24/7 @ 400 with no issues. a 50mhz boost may not sound like much but when you're already only running at 350 the extra 50 really helps in some ways. its very easy and safe to do.

here is a link to the jumper settings: http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/G3-ZONE/yosemite/OC.html

Last edited by zen.state; Nov 30, 2006 at 10:20 AM.
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2006, 02:06 PM   #14
Spock
macrumors 68000
 
Spock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Vulcan
Send a message via AIM to Spock Send a message via Yahoo to Spock
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen.state View Post
for now the best thing you can do is get about 6-7 hard drive jumpers and overclock the 350 to 400. mine is a 350 and it runs 24/7 @ 400 with no issues. a 50mhz boost may not sound like much but when you're already only running at 350 the extra 50 really helps in some ways. its very easy and safe to do.

here is a link to the jumper settings: http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/G3-ZONE/yosemite/OC.html
Did You not read my above post??
Spock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2006, 02:08 PM   #15
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spock View Post
Did You not read my above post??
I second over clocking. I got a good 100 MHz out of my G3. That and PCI Extreme on 10.4.3 rocks.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2006, 02:41 PM   #16
Spock
macrumors 68000
 
Spock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Vulcan
Send a message via AIM to Spock Send a message via Yahoo to Spock
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
I second over clocking. I got a good 100 MHz out of my G3. That and PCI Extreme on 10.4.3 rocks.
You managed to get Yours to overclock 100mhz? I couldnt get my 350 to boot set at 450 but runs good at 400
Spock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2006, 02:44 PM   #17
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spock View Post
You managed to get Yours to overclock 100mhz? I couldnt get my 350 to boot set at 450 but runs good at 400
It's entirely up to the chip. It could hit 100 MHz more. I just wasn't comfortable with it.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=170079
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2006, 05:14 AM   #18
Alamac
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Thanks and sorry guys, I made a mistake. Just checked my VGA card box and found out my card is RADEON 9200 MAC 128MB PCI ENG/NA 100-436011. Any difference this make to the advice that have been given?

Anyway I tried overclocking to 450 but my G3 just hangs when booting up. I assume its not comfortable with it. The reason I overclocked to 450 was that I didn't have enough jumper. So I just moved my 350 jumper setting to the 450 setting. Will try using HDD jumper to set the setting to 400 and see.
Alamac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2006, 05:26 AM   #19
SmurfBoxMasta
macrumors 65816
 
SmurfBoxMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: If you come into the forest really late at night, I might tell you...or nOt :)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alamac View Post
Thanks and sorry guys, I made a mistake. Just checked my VGA card box and found out my card is RADEON 9200 MAC 128MB PCI ENG/NA 100-436011. Any difference this make to the advice that have been given?
Makes no difference, except that we now know you are using a real Mac card and not a flashed peecee card. But a re-install can still bring good results in most cases, as will maxing the ram to 1GB.......

also try using the "PCI Extreme" hack to enable QE. Alot of people here (me included) have used it to gain moderate speed increases on B&W's. You can find it on versiontracker.com
__________________
Please don't judge me...I was created to be AWESOME, not perfect
SmurfBoxMasta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2006, 10:36 AM   #20
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alamac View Post
Thanks and sorry guys, I made a mistake. Just checked my VGA card box and found out my card is RADEON 9200 MAC 128MB PCI ENG/NA 100-436011. Any difference this make to the advice that have been given?

Anyway I tried overclocking to 450 but my G3 just hangs when booting up. I assume its not comfortable with it. The reason I overclocked to 450 was that I didn't have enough jumper. So I just moved my 350 jumper setting to the 450 setting. Will try using HDD jumper to set the setting to 400 and see.
Just pop into ANY computer shop and grab a couple more. most shop owners/employees I have dealt with don't even charge for them.

I have also seen 10 packs on ebay for 2-3 bucks.
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2006, 08:30 AM   #21
Alamac
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Guys, thanks for your help. I did a clean install with 10.3 and now the speed is acceptable. The G3 feels loose and not sluggish. That was what I had hoped for. Now all i need to do is max my Ram and I am sure it will be faster.

Smurfbox, Will definitely try to enable QE but honestly I have no clue what that does. Any advice and tip before I do that.

Also, will be looking into overclocking to 400MHz. I use to think my G3 is very limited in terms of expandability but thanks to you guys, Its a lot faster.
Alamac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2006, 10:26 AM   #22
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alamac View Post
Will definitely try to enable QE but honestly I have no clue what that does.
Quartz Extreme is 2D desktop acceleration. It offloads much of 2D bit crunching from the CPU to the GPU.

In simple terms it speeds up the user interface..
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI RADEON R9 290 in a Mac Pro 3.1 hybrid85 Mac Pro 3 Mar 3, 2014 06:21 AM
Ati Radeon HD5870 in Mac Pro 2,1 skagway Mac Pro 0 Jan 1, 2014 04:20 PM
Is it possible to have a XFX Ati Radeon HD 5770 XXX Edition in a Mac Pro 1.1? ProcyonArts Mac Pro 2 Apr 23, 2013 11:25 AM
Benchmarks: 466MHz Digital Audio G4 from 16MB ATI Rage 128 to 128MB Radeon 9600XT Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 2 Jul 3, 2012 11:52 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC