Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 2, 2006, 04:28 PM   #1
oligore
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Wrong os version in "About this Mac"


Some guy at school recently changed what my "about this mac window" says. Could some one help me its hard to install some stuff with it?
(I think he changed in in the system folder)

My versions 10.3.9 but it says 10.9.4
oligore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2006, 04:39 PM   #2
Lixivial
macrumors 6502a
 
Lixivial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Between cats, dogs and wanderlust.
Uhm, I generally don't recommend mucking about in the /System directory, but this is the location. It should be the same as Tiger. Edit this file (TextEdit.app is fine):

/System/Library/CoreServices/loginwindow.app/Contents/Resources/English.lproj/AboutThisMac.strings

Look for the line: "ABOUT_BOX_VERSION_FORMAT_STRING" And it will probably say Version 10.9.4 -- it should say Version %@

EDIT: I suppose I oughta make an amendment to this. You won't be able to save directly back to the file because of permission issues. I'd do a "Save As..." to your desktop and drag it back into the folder, which will ask for your password.

Last edited by Lixivial; Dec 2, 2006 at 04:46 PM.
Lixivial is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2006, 04:45 PM   #3
G5Unit
macrumors 68020
 
G5Unit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: I'm calling the cops
Send a message via AIM to G5Unit
You, my friend, are from the future.
__________________
flickr
yannikr

I am not here to do what has already been done!
G5Unit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2006, 05:08 PM   #4
oligore
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
It must be different in mine i cant find it in the file.
Quote:
/**** About Box Strings and Formatting *****/

/*The tooltip text for More Info button in About box */
"MORE_INFO_TOOL_TIP" = "This button launches %@ for more info about the System.";

/* The tooltip text explaining why the More Info button is disabled in About box */
"MORE_INFO_DISABLED_TOOL_TIP" = "This button is disabled because there is no System Profiler application.";

/*The tooltip text for Software Update button in About box */
"SOFTWARE_UPDATE_TOOL_TIP" = "This button launches %@ to check for updated software.";

/* The tooltip text explaining why the Software Update button is disabled in About box */
"SOFTWARE_UPDATE_DISABLED_TOOL_TIP" = "This button is disabled because there is no Software Update application."; // CLM

/* The format string used to generate the Build text field in the About This Mac window. */
/* The "%@" sequence is replaced by the build number. */
"ABOUT_BOX_BUILD_FORMAT_STRING" = "Build %@";

/* The format string used to generate the Version text field in the About This Mac window. */
/* The "%@" sequence is replaced by the version number. */
"ABOUT_BOX_VERSION_FORMAT_STRING" = "Version %@";

/* The format string used to generate the Serial Number text field in the About This Mac window. */
/* The "%@" sequence is replaced by the serial number. */
"ABOUT_BOX_SERIAL_NUMBER_FORMAT_STRING" = "Serial Number %@";

/* The string used as a label for the processor information. */
"ABOUT_BOX_PROCESSOR_LABEL" = "Processor"; // CLM

/* The string used as a label for the memory information. */
"ABOUT_BOX_MEMORY_LABEL" = "Memory"; // CLM

/* The format string used to generate the Processor text field in the About This Mac window */
/* when there is exactly one processor in the machine. The localized string */
/* must include the 2-character sequence "%@" which will be replaced in the */
/* final UI with a description of the processor (e.g. "600 MHz PowerPC G3") */
//"ABOUT_BOX_SINGLE_PROCESSOR_FIELD_FORMAT" = "Processor: %@";
"ABOUT_BOX_SINGLE_PROCESSOR_FIELD_FORMAT" = "%@";
"ABOUT_BOX_SINGLE_PROCESSOR_L3CACHE_FORMAT" = "%@ L3 cache";

/* The format string used to generate the Processor text field in the About This Mac window */
/* when there are two or more processors in the machine. The localized string */
/* must include the 2-character sequence "%@" which will be replaced in the */
/* final UI with a description of the processors (e.g. "Dual 800 MHz PowerPC G4") */
//"ABOUT_BOX_MULTIPLE_PROCESSORS_FIELD_FORMAT" = "Processors: %@";
"ABOUT_BOX_MULTIPLE_PROCESSORS_FIELD_FORMAT" = "%@";
"ABOUT_BOX_MULTIPLE_PROCESSORS_L3CACHE_FORMAT" = "%@ L3 cache per processor";

/* The format string used to generate the Memory text field in the About This Mac window. */
/* The localized string must include the 2-character sequence "%@" which will be replaced */
/* in the final UI with a description of the memory (e.g. "256 MB") */
//"ABOUT_BOX_MEMORY_FIELD_FORMAT" = "Memory: %@";
"ABOUT_BOX_MEMORY_FIELD_FORMAT" = "%@%@";

/* The string used to describe the type of memory for CPUs with built-in memory. */
"ABOUT_BOX_BUILT-IN_MEMORY" = "Built-in"; // CLM

EDIT I found it in the spot u said: loginwindow.app/Contents/Resources/English.lproj/AboutThisMac.strings

It just seems to have examples of stuff
thanks any way
oligore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2006, 05:17 PM   #5
Lixivial
macrumors 6502a
 
Lixivial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Between cats, dogs and wanderlust.
Yeah, and looking at the particular line it looks as though it has the right properties set.

Uhm, well, it could have been set in the AboutThisMac.nib file (which is in the same folder as AboutThisMac.strings). It could be that the person modified the .nib -- if this is the case then whoever did it is ridiculously irresponsible.

If you have the developer tools installed, you can try opening the "AboutThisMac.nib" and seeing if it's been hardcoded.
Lixivial is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2006, 05:41 PM   #6
lexus
macrumors 68000
 
lexus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Depends Greatly On The Weather
Wow can you take some screenshots of iTunes 10 for us? And if possible Safari 6.

Thanks
__________________
Why?
lexus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2006, 06:21 PM   #7
rafifreak00
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Kansas. No, not on a farm.
Send a message via AIM to rafifreak00
That's why I don't trust anybody with my Mac.
And wow, you must have one weird friend for doing that... (and knowledgable...)
__________________
rafifreak00
Apple iBook G4 - 12.1" | 1.33GHz | 40GB | 1.5GB RAM | Mac OS X 10.4
Pavilion zv5330us - 15.4" | 3.2GHz | 80GB | 1GB RAM | XP Home
rafifreak00 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2006, 07:00 PM   #8
aquajet
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DFW
What type of Mac do you have, oligore? Did Apple ever fix the screen dim bug for the MacBooks? God I hope so. It's annoying.
aquajet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2006, 05:39 AM   #9
oligore
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquajet View Post
What type of Mac do you have, oligore? Did Apple ever fix the screen dim bug for the MacBooks? God I hope so. It's annoying.
yer that came out late 2009 the year they released the powerbook G6
oligore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2006, 09:12 AM   #10
mrkramer
macrumors 601
 
mrkramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Somewhere
Well it's nice to know that the G3 will be supported until 10.9. But why don't you try to get your friend to fix it if he messed it up he should know how to fix it.
__________________
"Jesus was the first socialist, the first to seek a better life for mankind." -Mikhail Gorbachev
mrkramer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2006, 09:57 AM   #11
pianoman
macrumors 68000
 
pianoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkramer View Post
But why don't you try to get your friend to fix it if he messed it up he should know how to fix it.
the OP doesn't make it sound like they're friends (he said "some guy" not "my friend") and what kind of friend would mess up your computer's system files? not cool.
pianoman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2006, 05:17 PM   #12
WildCowboy
Administrator/Editor
 
WildCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
The file you're looking for is /System/Library/CoreServices/SystemVersion.plist.

You'll obviously have to change permissions in order to alter that file.
__________________
Editor in Chief, MacRumors
WildCowboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
App store purchasing with "wrong" OSX version for app? macstatic Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Oct 1, 2013 05:04 PM
OS X: CS:GO "command" + "left mouse click" causes "right mouse click" Whats wrong? oeppel Mac and PC Games 1 Apr 6, 2013 03:12 AM
WD My Passport vs "For Mac" version - is the Mac version necessary? ryanstewart Mac Peripherals 32 Dec 30, 2012 02:17 PM
You cannot use this version of application "vmware fusion" w/ this versio of MAC OS X newbieneedhelp Mac Basics and Help 3 Nov 8, 2012 09:30 AM
Start a new tab similar to "iOS blog" and "Mac blog" but make it "IPhone Leaks?" Dewroo Site and Forum Feedback 2 Aug 23, 2012 09:47 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC