Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 7, 2013, 08:31 PM   #1
bluebird3
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
where can I find how much HD memory my Mac has

I went under "About This Mac" and It says Memory "2 GB 667 MHz DR SDRAM"
Then, clicked "more info.." and showed the following.


Model Name: MacBook
Model Identifier: MacBook4,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 3 MB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 800 MHz
Boot ROM Version: MB41.00C1.B00
SMC Version (system): 1.31f1

Then under "memory" it showed..


Memory Slots:

ECC: Disabled

BANK 0/DIMM0:

Size: 1 GB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: 667 MHz
Status: OK



BANK 1/DIMM1:

Size: 1 GB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: 667 MHz
Status: OK
bluebird3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2013, 09:12 PM   #2
hallux
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
HD and memory are two different animals. Consider the HD your filing cabinet where you store things long-term and memory as your desktop where your current work is stored.

On About This Mac, if you look at the Storage section (I'm working from OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion, yours may be different) you can get an idea what your HD size and free space are.
__________________
2012 15" MBP, 2.3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD, Hi-Res glossy
hallux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2013, 09:19 PM   #3
MacUser2525
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Alternatively you could open the Terminal.app and type in then hit enter key df -h to get a human readable output of the disk space free and the size of the disk(s) in the system.
__________________
MacPro 5,1 16gb HD6870; MacPro 4,1 5,1 12x2.66ghz 24gb GT120
MacUser2525 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2013, 10:14 PM   #4
CrickettGrrrl
macrumors 6502a
 
CrickettGrrrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: B'more or Less
This is in Snow Leopard, it shouldn't be too dissimilar from Mountain Lion, I hope.

What I do is open Finder and look in the left hand column to see My iMac under Devices. (If yours doesn't show Devices, you can set it to show in Preferences.)

I click on it and it shows all my hard drives, internal & external. I right click on the Macintosh HDD icon and choose Get Info, then a window pops up with total HDD space, amount used, amount available.

If your HDD icon shows on your Desktop, you can right click on that icon to Get Info too.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2013-08-07 at 10.47.17 PM.JPG
Views:	20
Size:	117.7 KB
ID:	427288  
CrickettGrrrl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2013, 10:30 PM   #5
bluebird3
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrickettGrrrl View Post
This is in Snow Leopard, it shouldn't be too dissimilar from Mountain Lion, I hope.

What I do is open Finder and look in the left hand column to see My iMac under Devices. (If yours doesn't show Devices, you can set it to show in Preferences.)

I click on it and it shows all my hard drives, internal & external. I right click on the Macintosh HDD icon and choose Get Info, then a window pops up with total HDD space, amount used, amount available.

If your HDD icon shows on your Desktop, you can right click on that icon to Get Info too.
This machine is using OS 10.5.8. What is right click ? I do not have mouse on this MacBook...
bluebird3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2013, 10:41 PM   #6
bluebird3
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Thank You

Thank you I was able to do it now... I just went "Go", "Computer", then select the HD icon, and then "get Info"

I wonder why it does not show under "about this Mac" tho... make things difficult.
bluebird3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2013, 02:22 AM   #7
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluebird3 View Post
Thank you I was able to do it now... I just went "Go", "Computer", then select the HD icon, and then "get Info"

I wonder why it does not show under "about this Mac" tho... make things difficult.
go to "about this mac" then "more info" very simple
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2013, 07:59 AM   #8
bluebird3
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by old-wiz View Post
go to "about this mac" then "more info" very simple
you mean like I did before I asked my OP ? I copied and pasted what I saw it as you can see. It shows RAM memory. But Where is the HD memory information under "more info" ?
bluebird3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2013, 08:42 AM   #9
CrickettGrrrl
macrumors 6502a
 
CrickettGrrrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: B'more or Less
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluebird3 View Post
you mean like I did before I asked my OP ? I copied and pasted what I saw it as you can see. It shows RAM memory. But Where is the HD memory information under "more info" ?
Hi Bluebird3,

If you click on About This Mac/More Info, there is a list of clickable things in the left hand column. See attached (which is only a partial view btw, so in yours you'll also see available capacity, etc.) screenshot where I clicked on Serial-ATA.

By the way, are you absolutely certain there is no right click option for your touch pad, maybe in System Prefs or something? I used to have a 2004 PowerBook and I'm pretty sure it had it. If yours can't be enabled, you can use a keyboard shortcut to right click by holding down the OptionCorrection: CONTROL key and then clicking.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2013-08-08 at 9.34.36 AM.JPG
Views:	9
Size:	68.9 KB
ID:	427357  

Last edited by CrickettGrrrl; Aug 12, 2013 at 04:44 PM.
CrickettGrrrl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2013, 08:41 PM   #10
bluebird3
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrickettGrrrl View Post
Hi Bluebird3,

If you click on About This Mac/More Info, there is a list of clickable things in the left hand column. See attached (which is only a partial view btw, so in yours you'll also see available capacity, etc.) screenshot where I clicked on Serial-ATA.

By the way, are you absolutely certain there is no right click option for your touch pad, maybe in System Prefs or something? I used to have a 2004 PowerBook and I'm pretty sure it had it. If yours can't be enabled, you can use a keyboard shortcut to right click by holding down the Option key and then clicking.
Thank you kindly, I was able to go to the Serial - ATA Device Tree section. Ok, I went to System Preference and clicked under Trackpad option. I think then checked on "For secondary clicks, place two fingers on the trackpad then click the button". I think this is the right click ?
bluebird3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2013, 09:43 AM   #11
CrickettGrrrl
macrumors 6502a
 
CrickettGrrrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: B'more or Less
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluebird3 View Post
Thank you kindly, I was able to go to the Serial - ATA Device Tree section. Ok, I went to System Preference and clicked under Trackpad option. I think then checked on "For secondary clicks, place two fingers on the trackpad then click the button". I think this is the right click ?
Yes , unnecessarily confusing, I think most users think in terms of mouse right & left clicks rather than primary and secondary, but this setting will allow you to right click now.
CrickettGrrrl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2013, 07:30 AM   #12
arjen92
macrumors 65816
 
arjen92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Below sea level
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrickettGrrrl View Post
Hi Bluebird3,
If yours can't be enabled, you can use a keyboard shortcut to right click by holding down the Option key and then clicking.
I believe it's the "control" button and then clicking
__________________
i7, 16GB RAM, 4TB RAID, GTX660 | Macbook Pro 2010
arjen92 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2013, 04:42 PM   #13
CrickettGrrrl
macrumors 6502a
 
CrickettGrrrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: B'more or Less
Quote:
Originally Posted by arjen92 View Post
I believe it's the "control" button and then clicking
D'OH! YES! You are correct, thank you. I can't believe I messed that up! I need a nap.
CrickettGrrrl is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory "for Mac" vs Standard Laptop Memory johnnnw MacBook Pro 19 Mar 3, 2013 05:03 AM
iPhone: Any way to find memory hogs? hafr Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Feb 11, 2013 01:42 PM
Where can I find the best deal for 16GB memory for my Mac Mini? TDW Mac mini 21 Jan 6, 2013 01:21 PM
Find My Iphone cannot find Mac davyvfr iPad Apps 0 Nov 19, 2012 08:26 PM
How can find kernel symbols address in memory? mehdies Mac Programming 0 Jun 10, 2012 05:39 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC