Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 9, 2006, 12:44 PM   #1
ruzzian
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southsea, UK
Send a message via AIM to ruzzian Send a message via MSN to ruzzian
Powerbook G4 - Belkin Wireless Problem

Hi everyone,

I'm having a weird issue with my powerbook going wireless. I bought a Belkin N1 Wireless Router so I could Network my Powerbook with my new iMac and also so my household can be wireless. However my Powerbook just wont connect to the wireless at all. I know the Airport card is fine because I connect to wireless at work with it and I know the router is fine as I connected to wireless with my PSP and my iMac.

The powerbook is seeing the wireless fine but when I try to connect to it it says this:

Quote:
There was an error joining the Airport network "Fazukun_WiFi".
Can anyone help me work this out. Maybe its something I need to do when setting up the Belkin router preferences? Please, please help.
__________________
You dont have to live so relentlessly in the real world!
ruzzian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2006, 06:44 PM   #2
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
What sort of security settings do you have on the network? Do the Network Settings in System Preferences look identical on the iMac and PowerBook?
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2006, 08:56 PM   #3
ruzzian
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southsea, UK
Send a message via AIM to ruzzian Send a message via MSN to ruzzian
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew View Post
What sort of security settings do you have on the network? Do the Network Settings in System Preferences look identical on the iMac and PowerBook?
I started off with no security. The laptop didnt connect. Then I created a 64bit hex WEP. I then tried connecting wirelessly with both iMac and Powerbook and neither connected. I discovered that there were issues with some models connecting with a 64bit so I made a new 128bit hex WEP and the iMac connects fine but still the Powerbook doesnt. My Powerbook has a plain old Airport card which I was informed only uses a .11b connection or something so I set the router to .11b rather than a .11b+g+n. It still didnt connect. All the Network settings are identical but I cant seem to set up prefered networks on my airport configuration and I can't view "options" in status for Airport. I just click on the button and nowt happens.


I managed to connect wirelessly to my iMac from my powerbook fine when the iMac was wired up but thats not the convenience I really want.
__________________
You dont have to live so relentlessly in the real world!
ruzzian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2006, 10:11 PM   #4
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Have you tried using a dollar sign ($) in front of your WEP key?
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2006, 06:18 AM   #5
ruzzian
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southsea, UK
Send a message via AIM to ruzzian Send a message via MSN to ruzzian
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew View Post
Have you tried using a dollar sign ($) in front of your WEP key?
Yeah I tried that too... I'm having no luck
__________________
You dont have to live so relentlessly in the real world!
ruzzian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2006, 08:53 AM   #6
ruzzian
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southsea, UK
Send a message via AIM to ruzzian Send a message via MSN to ruzzian
Could this be something to do with the MAC address? In the router I cloned my iMac's MAC address and when I entered my Powerbooks MAC address in place of the iMac's in the router my iMac couldnt connect and my PB still didnt. Or IP's... neither apple nor Belkin are helping me at all. I know they are compatible and that the airport card works and the router can make my iMac wireless. I just cannot work out why the PB wont go wireless.
__________________
You dont have to live so relentlessly in the real world!
ruzzian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2006, 06:30 PM   #7
ruzzian
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southsea, UK
Send a message via AIM to ruzzian Send a message via MSN to ruzzian
Ive discovered its a problem with my powerbook as my PSP can connect to the wireless fine. This is really frustrating. It should work fine but I've run out of possible solutions. Help on this would be SO appreciated.
__________________
You dont have to live so relentlessly in the real world!
ruzzian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2006, 07:04 PM   #8
iW00t
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Defenders of Apple Guild
Have you tried reinstalling OSX?
iW00t is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2006, 06:07 PM   #9
ruzzian
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southsea, UK
Send a message via AIM to ruzzian Send a message via MSN to ruzzian
Quote:
Originally Posted by iW00t View Post
Have you tried reinstalling OSX?
Not over keen on doing this really. Would be mega frustrating if it didnt make any difference
__________________
You dont have to live so relentlessly in the real world!
ruzzian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2006, 08:10 PM   #10
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruzzian View Post
Could this be something to do with the MAC address? In the router I cloned my iMac's MAC address and when I entered my Powerbooks MAC address in place of the iMac's in the router my iMac couldnt connect and my PB still didnt.

Okay, just out of interest, why did you need to do this? What other firmware changes have you made? Have you tried restoring the Belkin to factory defaults (it'll have a hard reset method in the manual)? Also, I'm sure Belkin mentioned this, but have you got the latest firmware installed?
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerBook G4 display issues alew!mac920 PowerPC Macs 2 Aug 9, 2011 04:25 AM
Powerbook G4 - Wireless Never Worked helios43 PowerPC Macs 3 Apr 15, 2010 01:07 PM
start up problem with powerbook G4 - disk 0s3: I/O error indigone PowerPC Macs 0 Nov 9, 2008 05:42 PM
New Powerbook G4 15.2" wireless reception problem... bdaley6509 Macintosh Computers 4 Mar 7, 2005 08:24 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC