Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 9, 2006, 07:14 PM   #1
elbowgeek
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Using iMac G5 monitor with external source...

Hi all, I'm a new member here and really think this is a cool forum.

I've been given (!) a G5 iMac which is practically brand new. It's only problem is that it suffers from the sudden shut off issue which seems to plague the G5 thanks to a faulty Power Supply and some caps on the mobo which get taken out by the PS.

I've replace the power supply, but can't afford to get the mobo fixed, and since neither Apple nor any of the alternative operating system makers such as Linux will be supporting this system into the future, I figure that the hardware is essentially orphaned.

I'd dearly like to use the screen though, as it's in great shape and is a beautiful display. So, my question is, can the internal screen be connected to an external source such as the video card of another computer? It would be great to use it for my music production machine.

If anyone has any ideas, let me know. In the meantime I'm going to have a look around inside this beast and see what I can do.

Cheers
elbowgeek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2006, 07:25 PM   #2
dpaanlka
macrumors 601
 
dpaanlka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois
Send a message via AIM to dpaanlka
Um... an iMac G5 is hardly "orphaned" - they will be supporting it well well into the future. Where did you get the idea that they were not?
__________________
Long-time Mac user and evangelist, creator of ArraySync and curator of Info-Mac and System 7 Today.
dpaanlka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2006, 07:43 PM   #3
elbowgeek
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
My apologies, I really meant that my particular one, with it's inability to run OS/X, is kinda orphaned. It will run Linux, but actually only Linux isn't likely to be supported on this platform into the future.

I'd love to get it running with OS/X again, but it would be impractical to do the fix, (a new mobo) from here in Bermuda. I'd hate to see this go to waste, so I figure I'd hack the video so at least the screen would be usable.

Cheers
elbowgeek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2006, 08:04 PM   #4
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Have you contacted Apple re: the motherboard / capacitor problem? You really want to see if you can be covered under an extended warranty on this. Sad to say, your local Apple reseller may not have all the information --- and certainly none of the authority --- to give you this information.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I use my iMac also as an external monitor shenfrey iMac 11 Apr 8, 2014 12:33 PM
iMac - Is it possible to get video out from an external monitor? gmanist1000 Mac Basics and Help 2 Feb 26, 2014 11:17 AM
iMac G1 as an external monitor? EricGandolfe iMac 2 Mar 14, 2013 10:26 PM
What cable for iMac and external monitor b0redom iMac 4 Dec 14, 2012 03:07 AM
iMac as external monitor chuo06 iMac 2 Sep 19, 2012 09:06 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC