Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 14, 2006, 10:27 AM   #1
Grampa Joe
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Mac Mini and IMAc G5 display

Might I be able to use my iMac G5 (Rev. A) display to read a Mac Mini? If I don't have to spend $$ for a new display, that'll be great.
I am considering buying a MacMini after the new version announcement at MacWorld 07, assuming there will be a new version.
__________________
iMac G5 Rev. A, MBP
Grampa Joe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2006, 10:51 AM   #2
Spock
macrumors 68000
 
Spock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Vulcan
Send a message via AIM to Spock Send a message via Yahoo to Spock
Nope
Spock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2006, 11:18 AM   #3
w00tmaster
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
THe only way

is via remote desktop, but you probably would not be very happy with the performance.
w00tmaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2006, 11:58 AM   #4
ero87
macrumors 65816
 
ero87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York City
what's the point of that?! the iMac G5 is a sweet machine, are you unhappy with it?
ero87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2006, 12:02 PM   #5
davidjearly
macrumors 68000
 
davidjearly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spock View Post
Nope
Don't be so fast to jump in there. Isn't it possible to use the EyeTV 250?
__________________
15" i7 rMBP (late 2013) | iPad mini 16GB | iPhone 5S 64GB | Apple TV 2 | Nikon 1 Series
Flickr
500px
davidjearly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2006, 02:48 PM   #6
Grampa Joe
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ero87 View Post
what's the point of that?! the iMac G5 is a sweet machine, are you unhappy with it?
I'm very happy with my iMac G5. I love my iMac! Only thing is, it is not Intel which makes it quite useless if I want to run Parallels or Leopard (I think). So I am considering either keeping the iMac (thus my query) and buying a Mini or buying the Mini and selling the iMac.
__________________
iMac G5 Rev. A, MBP
Grampa Joe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2006, 04:23 PM   #7
kgarchar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grampa Joe View Post
I'm very happy with my iMac G5. I love my iMac! Only thing is, it is not Intel which makes it quite useless if I want to run Parallels or Leopard (I think). So I am considering either keeping the iMac (thus my query) and buying a Mini or buying the Mini and selling the iMac.
Why in the world would Apple release Leopard and not support PPC Processors?!

That's stupid to think. Right now you can install 10.4 on the G3 processors.
__________________
3.06 27" iMac
iPhone 4
for sale -- iPad
kgarchar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2006, 04:36 PM   #8
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidjearly View Post
Don't be so fast to jump in there. Isn't it possible to use the EyeTV 250?
This is technically possible... but involves a lot of compromise. EyeTV is designed for handling video feeds... not for making the screen into a monitor. I seriously don't think this will make anyone happy...
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2006, 04:43 PM   #9
McGarvels
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Irvine, CA
Send a message via AIM to McGarvels
Also, correct me if i'm wrong, the G5's are 64 bit processors and they should be able to take full advantage of 64 bit processing soon to be seen in Leopard. I don't know why you would give up on PPC so quickly.
__________________
EQUALITY FOR ALL
15" rMBP Core i7 ; 27" iMac Core i7
McGarvels is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2006, 04:51 PM   #10
Grampa Joe
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgarchar View Post
Why in the world would Apple release Leopard and not support PPC Processors?!

That's stupid to think. Right now you can install 10.4 on the G3 processors.
You misread me. I can't run windows. The only reason for running windose, BTW is to use Family Tree Maker. I know that sounds stupid, but I suppose there are other things I can do with the Intel. Darn! I wish I could upgrade the processor on the G5! Out of the question, I've discovered.
I believe that Leopard will have built-in Bootcamp or something and it will run Win. That's why I don't think it will run on the IMac G5, although I'm sure I can install Leopard. Sure hope I'm wrong and you're right.

Thanks for your input.
__________________
iMac G5 Rev. A, MBP
Grampa Joe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2006, 04:53 PM   #11
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Leopard will run like a dream on the iMac G5. Bootcamp won't run and probably won't be installed.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2006, 05:40 PM   #12
davidjearly
macrumors 68000
 
davidjearly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkrishnan View Post
This is technically possible... but involves a lot of compromise. EyeTV is designed for handling video feeds... not for making the screen into a monitor. I seriously don't think this will make anyone happy...
It does not involve a lot of compromise at all. It makes many people happy who use it for connecting their games console to the iMac to use it as a display.

David
__________________
15" i7 rMBP (late 2013) | iPad mini 16GB | iPhone 5S 64GB | Apple TV 2 | Nikon 1 Series
Flickr
500px
davidjearly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2006, 05:49 PM   #13
4JNA
macrumors 68000
 
4JNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: looking for trash files
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grampa Joe View Post
... I can't run windows. The only reason for running windows, BTW is to use Family Tree Maker.
that's a really light/small windows program, and should run fine using Virtual PC 7, and a copy of windows 2000, or even 98 if you are desperate enough. VPC7 on my imac g5 1.6 is a tad slow, but every bit as usable as an entry level dell...

and the nice thing about the VPC route, is that when (not if) windows crashes you drag it to the trash, drag over the 'master' copy you made upon install, restore your backup, and go back to typing in the relatives. good stuff.
__________________
KATE: RISC architecture is gonna change everything. DADE: Yeah. RISC is good.
4JNA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2006, 06:18 PM   #14
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidjearly View Post
It does not involve a lot of compromise at all. It makes many people happy who use it for connecting their games console to the iMac to use it as a display.
Do you know anyone who does this with a *computer* though, for day-to-day use? Pixel-level accuracy is much more important for computing applications than for games. I don't doubt that if you played games using a setup like this, you would be happy, even if the games were being played on a computer. I doubt that daily non-game computer usage ... word processing, e-mail, web, etc, would be a drag in a setup like this. Because, as far as I know, it just isn't designed to give 100% accuracy of all the pixels at native refresh rate. But if you actually know someone who's using this for that purpose, I'll defer to you (and them).
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using iMac as Display for Mac mini jaminor Mac mini 17 Aug 12, 2014 01:35 PM
Can I use new iMac display for Thunderbolt Mac Mini? patent10021 iMac 2 Nov 4, 2013 01:36 PM
New Mac Mini? iMac? Display? blairh Buying Tips and Advice 8 Mar 23, 2013 04:31 PM
Mac Mini with TB Display vs iMac FlatlinerG Buying Tips and Advice 6 Oct 31, 2012 04:53 PM
New iMac or new Mac Mini + Thunderbolt Display? MonteiroVi iMac 13 Oct 27, 2012 02:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC