Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 17, 2006, 11:22 PM   #1
disconap
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Flip screen?

I'm working on a modding project, and due to the constraints of the lcd wiring in my old ibook, I need to mount the screen upside down. Is there a way in OSX to flip the screen so that it projects upside down?

EDIT: Sorry, wrong forum, can a mod move this to OS X please?
__________________
quad i7 2ghz Mac Mini/16gb/120gb Vertex3/10.8.5
Mac Mini 2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb Santec ssd/10.8.5
iPad 3 64gb
Atom 330/4gb/32gbSSD/Ubuntu Server 12.04.3

Last edited by disconap; Dec 17, 2006 at 11:22 PM. Reason: wrong forum
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2006, 11:28 PM   #2
mac-convert
macrumors 6502a
 
mac-convert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Are we there yet?
Go to System Pref | Screen | Rotate - select 180 degrees

Someone was thinking of you!
mac-convert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2006, 11:48 PM   #3
dpaanlka
macrumors 601
 
dpaanlka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois
Send a message via AIM to dpaanlka
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac-convert View Post
Go to System Pref | Screen | Rotate - select 180 degrees
What the...
__________________
Long-time Mac user and evangelist, creator of ArraySync and curator of Info-Mac and System 7 Today.
dpaanlka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2006, 11:57 PM   #4
dylan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac-convert View Post
Go to System Pref | Screen | Rotate - select 180 degrees

Someone was thinking of you!
That doesn't work on integrated displays.
dylan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2006, 12:00 AM   #5
IDANNY
macrumors 6502a
 
IDANNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Las vegas
can you post a pic of that ? please
__________________
Display Samsung ln46a850.
17" Macbook Pro 2.66ghz i7 256 ssd 8gb ram
15" Macbook Pro Retina 2.77ghz i7 768GB ssd 16gb ram
My Time Clock ! Website
IDANNY is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2006, 12:02 AM   #6
disconap
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpaanlka View Post
What the...
Mirrored. Can you be more specific? I don't have that option in 10.2, 10.3, or 10.4, with lcd or crt (or integrated, as mentioned)...
__________________
quad i7 2ghz Mac Mini/16gb/120gb Vertex3/10.8.5
Mac Mini 2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb Santec ssd/10.8.5
iPad 3 64gb
Atom 330/4gb/32gbSSD/Ubuntu Server 12.04.3
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2006, 12:02 AM   #7
mac-convert
macrumors 6502a
 
mac-convert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Are we there yet?
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpaanlka View Post
What the...
??? It's under system preferences At least on my mac-mini with a Dell LCD. I just checked again - it's there - I tried it - and got seasick looking at it till I could get it back normal again! Geesh - mouse move just the opposite, etc.
mac-convert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2006, 12:05 AM   #8
mac-convert
macrumors 6502a
 
mac-convert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Are we there yet?
Quote:
Originally Posted by IDANNY View Post
can you post a pic of that ? please
Are you wanting a picture of the preference to rotate the screen?
mac-convert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2006, 12:10 AM   #9
disconap
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Ok, in Tiger (which I'm working in right now on my G5), I don't even have a screens option in prefs. Appearance, Desktop/ScreenSaver, and Displays, yes, but none of them have a rotate option...
__________________
quad i7 2ghz Mac Mini/16gb/120gb Vertex3/10.8.5
Mac Mini 2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb Santec ssd/10.8.5
iPad 3 64gb
Atom 330/4gb/32gbSSD/Ubuntu Server 12.04.3
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2006, 12:10 AM   #10
dpaanlka
macrumors 601
 
dpaanlka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois
Send a message via AIM to dpaanlka
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac-convert View Post
??? It's under system preferences At least on my mac-mini with a Dell LCD. I just checked again - it's there - I tried it - and got seasick looking at it till I could get it back normal again! Geesh - mouse move just the opposite, etc.
I have never seen such an option on any of my 80 or so Macs. Perhaps you have a pivoting display (the kind that swivels around with the release of a latch)?
__________________
Long-time Mac user and evangelist, creator of ArraySync and curator of Info-Mac and System 7 Today.
dpaanlka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2006, 12:20 AM   #11
mac-convert
macrumors 6502a
 
mac-convert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Are we there yet?
Next line down, under hardware - third icon from the left - I could not get a screen grab with the rotate option, but there is an option for standard, 90, 180 and 270.

Attachment 64326

Attachment 64327

Last edited by mac-convert; Feb 6, 2007 at 08:09 PM.
mac-convert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2006, 12:32 AM   #12
mac-convert
macrumors 6502a
 
mac-convert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Are we there yet?
Oops - I made a misteak

Apology - I just went back and looked at my post - I said Screen - I should have said Display - humble apologies for any confusion I may have caused - as Jimmy Buffet would say - mea culpa, mea culpa, mea culpa
mac-convert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2006, 12:43 AM   #13
disconap
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Hey no worries. I somehow completely missed the fact that it existed IN displays, so all good. Looks like it's only in Tiger, though, which makes things more difficult...

So, anyone know of a way to do this in Jaguar or Panther?
__________________
quad i7 2ghz Mac Mini/16gb/120gb Vertex3/10.8.5
Mac Mini 2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb Santec ssd/10.8.5
iPad 3 64gb
Atom 330/4gb/32gbSSD/Ubuntu Server 12.04.3
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2006, 02:06 AM   #14
dpaanlka
macrumors 601
 
dpaanlka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois
Send a message via AIM to dpaanlka
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac-convert View Post
Apology - I just went back and looked at my post - I said Screen - I should have said Display - humble apologies for any confusion I may have caused - as Jimmy Buffet would say - mea culpa, mea culpa, mea culpa
It doesn't make a diff I still don't see it... not for my ViewSonic, my ADC, or my crappy Envision LCD. Perhaps it's a feature of only certain GPUs?
__________________
Long-time Mac user and evangelist, creator of ArraySync and curator of Info-Mac and System 7 Today.
dpaanlka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2006, 02:35 AM   #15
Lixivial
macrumors 6502a
 
Lixivial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Between cats, dogs and wanderlust.
It's relegated to certain GPUs.

An older kbnum from the 10.1 days (when the setting was in the Geometry tab) tells that it's relegated to the monitor. I'm inclined to believe Tiger's kbnum as it seems to make more sense.
__________________
Thoughts of Trixie meandering along with the pixies of my dereliction.
Traveling through lonely mountains in beautiful dream machines.

Last edited by Lixivial; Dec 18, 2006 at 02:42 AM. Reason: Meh... kb, doc, what's the difference.
Lixivial is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2006, 01:49 PM   #16
disconap
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Hmm. That makes sense, but still leaves me needing some kind of solution...

No hardware hacks or anything? I suppose I can resolder longer wires and get the same result, but there are SO many damn wires in monitor lines, it will take friggin hours...
__________________
quad i7 2ghz Mac Mini/16gb/120gb Vertex3/10.8.5
Mac Mini 2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb Santec ssd/10.8.5
iPad 3 64gb
Atom 330/4gb/32gbSSD/Ubuntu Server 12.04.3
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2006, 01:56 PM   #17
atszyman
macrumors 68020
 
atszyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Dallas 'burbs
Send a message via AIM to atszyman
Quote:
Originally Posted by disconap View Post
Hey no worries. I somehow completely missed the fact that it existed IN displays, so all good. Looks like it's only in Tiger, though, which makes things more difficult...

So, anyone know of a way to do this in Jaguar or Panther?
Try holding option while clicking on System Preferences and Displays. I seem to remember being able to do this on my PowerBook in the pre-Tiger days.

It might also be command or control, but option seems to ring the most bells for me.

Of course that only brings up the aforementioned rotate options.
__________________
"I don't want kids who are thinking about going into mathematics to think that they have to take drugs to succeed." - Paul Erdös
Every little bit helps, put your spare CPU cycles to good use, join the
MacRumors Folding@Home team! Get the widget
atszyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2006, 06:20 PM   #18
disconap
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by atszyman View Post
Try holding option while clicking on System Preferences and Displays. I seem to remember being able to do this on my PowerBook in the pre-Tiger days.

It might also be command or control, but option seems to ring the most bells for me.

Of course that only brings up the aforementioned rotate options.
I will DEFINITELY try this. I broke the backlight, though, so I won't be able to test it until I replace that. Thanks for the tip, though, it works on my imac so it may work on the ibook. You rock, thanks! (and it is option, btw)
__________________
quad i7 2ghz Mac Mini/16gb/120gb Vertex3/10.8.5
Mac Mini 2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb Santec ssd/10.8.5
iPad 3 64gb
Atom 330/4gb/32gbSSD/Ubuntu Server 12.04.3
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2006, 06:30 PM   #19
tominated
macrumors 68000
 
tominated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Queensland, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by atszyman View Post
Try holding option while clicking on System Preferences and Displays. I seem to remember being able to do this on my PowerBook in the pre-Tiger days.

It might also be command or control, but option seems to ring the most bells for me.

Of course that only brings up the aforementioned rotate options.
it didn't work on my imac
BTW: are you trying to make a mac tablet
__________________
20" iMac Core Duo
13" 2.26Ghz MBP
Upgraded to 4GB RAM & 500GB HDD
tominated is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2006, 08:53 PM   #20
disconap
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
disconap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
That's part of the project, yes. I've successfully completed all of it using a cheap Aiptek tablet, I just need to build the screen case and flip the monitor. EDIT: and replace the backlight, which I accidentally broke.

And yeah, when I looked more in depth, I couldn't flip it in preferences on my imac, I clould only skew it about 10 degrees or so...
__________________
quad i7 2ghz Mac Mini/16gb/120gb Vertex3/10.8.5
Mac Mini 2.5 gHz i5/8gb/120gb Santec ssd/10.8.5
iPad 3 64gb
Atom 330/4gb/32gbSSD/Ubuntu Server 12.04.3
disconap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2010, 07:09 PM   #21
spalding4130
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
i found out if you hit CONTROL key and then click display in sys pref you will get more options.... like Rotation.. Thanks man
spalding4130 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2010, 11:21 PM   #22
iThinkergoiMac
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Terra
Since no one mentioned this, on the PPC Mac laptops you can install ATI Displays which gives you lots of extra features with your card, such as rotating the display. You can also override game settings (the most advantageous of which is enabling FSAA in games that never supported it).
__________________
13" 2009 MBP, 2.26 GHz C2D, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD; 2.2 GHz C2D MB, 6 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD; 32 GB iPod Touch 3G
-FWIW, my handle is iThink_ergo_iMac. There seems to be some confusion on this issue.-
iThinkergoiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to flip (left to right) screen zanax OS X 1 Sep 8, 2011 09:23 AM
Some one HELP ME with this stupid screen! model 2010 GLOSSY SCREEN!! Cyberheart MacBook Pro 6 Apr 24, 2011 09:07 PM
Vertical Flip Screen In OS X phonk OS X 2 Feb 15, 2011 04:44 PM
iSight Feed During Screen Recording? zdlyons MacBook Pro 2 Dec 5, 2010 11:48 PM
Why is an album missing from the Flip Screen tjp888 iPod touch 4 Oct 30, 2007 07:07 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC