Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 21, 2006, 03:29 AM   #1
agp
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Question Can I make my PowerBook G4 wireless?

Can I make my PowerBook G4 wireless? What do I need to buy?

Thanks
agp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2006, 03:34 AM   #2
Irish Dave
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: The Emerald Isle
Quote:
Originally Posted by agp View Post
Can I make my PowerBook G4 wireless? What do I need to buy?

Thanks
The appropriate Airport card will have you up and running in no time.

Dave
__________________
2.66.GHz Mac Pro with 9 Gb of ram
Irish Dave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2006, 03:37 AM   #3
agp
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Can you help point me in the right direction for the correct airport card. I have a 12 inch 1.5GHz PowerPC G4.

Thanks
agp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2006, 03:41 AM   #4
bartelby
macrumors Core
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by agp View Post
Can you help point me in the right direction for the correct airport card. I have a 12 inch 1.5GHz PowerPC G4.

Thanks
You could get
an Apple Airport Extreme card
A pcmcia / cardbus wireless card
USB wireless adapter.



The Apple AE card would be best as it's internal
bartelby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2006, 03:44 AM   #5
Irish Dave
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: The Emerald Isle
Quote:
Originally Posted by bartelby View Post
You could get
an Apple Airport Extreme card
A pcmcia / cardbus wireless card
USB wireless adapter.



The Apple AE card would be best as it's internal
Yeah, the Airport Extreme card is the best option and not difficult to fit.

Greets from Ireland

Dave
__________________
2.66.GHz Mac Pro with 9 Gb of ram
Irish Dave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2006, 03:46 AM   #6
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Doesn't that machine already have AirPort? Check System Profiler in the Utilities folder to see if you've already got a card.

By the sounds of things, you just need a wireless network to connect to.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2006, 03:49 AM   #7
bartelby
macrumors Core
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew View Post
Doesn't that machine already have AirPort? Check System Profiler in the Utilities folder to see if you've already got a card.

By the sounds of things, you just need a wireless network to connect to.
hahahaha, of course. There's always the other side of it!
bartelby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2006, 04:05 AM   #8
Irish Dave
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: The Emerald Isle
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew View Post
Doesn't that machine already have AirPort? Check System Profiler in the Utilities folder to see if you've already got a card.

By the sounds of things, you just need a wireless network to connect to.
Doohhh It's a bit too early in the morning for my brain to work properly.

Sorry Dave
__________________
2.66.GHz Mac Pro with 9 Gb of ram
Irish Dave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2006, 04:19 AM   #9
agp
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
It might not be that exact spec machine. I was asking on behalf of my uncle and I think it is a 1.5ghz. I checked system profiler when I was at his house the other day and it doesn't have an airport card.

Must be an older model.

I'll ask him and find out. Thanks for the info though
agp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2006, 05:33 AM   #10
Anonymous Freak
macrumors 68040
 
Anonymous Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cascadia
Also, if it is indeed a 12" model, it will not have a CardBus/PC Card slot, so AirPort Extreme or USB are the only two options.

The 1.33 GHz and 1.5 GHz 12" PowerBook G4s had the AirPort Extreme card included, so if it is one of those two speeds, he should be set. The 867 MHz and 1 GB 12" models had it as optional, though.

And if you have the screen size wrong, and it's really a 15" model, then there is the possibility that he has a Titanium PowerBook (the one with the ports on the back instead of the sides,) which takes an original AirPort Card. The newer Aluminum 15" models (ports on the sides,) takes the AirPort Extreme Card. Also, all 15" (and 17") PowerBook G4s have a CardBus/PC Card slot, so you could use a (possibly cheaper) CardBus card, which would have the added benefit of getting better reception than an internal card on the Titanium models.
__________________

20" Aluminum iMac 7,1 (mid-2007, Santa Rosa,) upgraded to 2.6 GHz Penryn, 6 GB RAM, 1 TB HD, 4 TB total external hard drive
Anonymous Freak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2006, 06:17 AM   #11
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
The easiest way to tell the sizes apart with him on the telephone:

If it's a 12", there will be *nothing* on the sides of the keyboard -- that is, the kb will stretch all the way from one side of the notebook to the other. All other models have grilles / stuff on the sides.

If it's a TiBook, it will have a visible cylindrical hinge that runs all the way across the back, whereas all the powerbooks have the recessed sort of hinge.

You can use Apple-history.com to tell which it is.

Airport cards are kind of expensive due to limited ability (only use this if it's a TiBook).

The Airport Extreme card that works on the Aluminum powerbooks is much cheaper.
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2007, 02:03 PM   #12
Coffeeguy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: transplanted from New Orleans to Boston area
I got a Sonnet Aria extreme PC card for my 15" TiBook which won't recognize it regardless of what I do, so I'm going to send it back. But I'm not sure which way to go now. What did you finally end up doing? Did things work out?

Thanks for any suggestions (from you or anyone else).
Coffeeguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2007, 04:31 PM   #13
shu82
macrumors 6502a
 
shu82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rocket City, AL
Coffeeguy, I have never had any troubles using a Belkin wireless g card in my 1ghz tibook. Also, before you take it back go to their website and see if there is any drivers for it you can download for it. I took out the original airport out of mine, to use in an ibook. It almost seems wasteful to keep the original airport in tibooks.

AGP, you can get a refurb airport extreme from apple for 40.
__________________
Mini 1.66 CD, PB G4 1.67 17" thx RichP!, ibook g3 466 LIME,
"Does Jimmy have Fear? 1000 times no...Jimmy has Fancy Plans, and Pants to Match"
shu82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2009, 05:55 PM   #14
massio
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
okey. ive got a mac powerbook G4 15 without a airportcard.
i guess this model was made in 2004, 2005 right ? i think ive got the 04
i can sell it on 500 550 dlls, should i sell it and get a newer mac?
thie thing is that i dont have wireles on it.. im a Dj.Producer and i want to install the newest softaware mac os leoparrd and logic 8.. Can this mac runn it ? i can keep it.. the thing is that i dont know what i have in my hands.. im new on this mac world.. so i dont know if this lap is of the hook, or its devaluating..... ill aprecitate
june 10 09
massio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2009, 11:57 PM   #15
bji
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
afterthemac.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by agp View Post
Can I make my PowerBook G4 wireless? What do I need to buy?

Thanks
Yes, you can make a Powerbook G4 wireless. Go to afterthemac.com. They have wireless adapters, that are airport card alternatives. Much cheaper, about $50. It goes in the side slot, and works great. Make sure you get the right one for your computer. Call them if you need to. Good luck!
bji is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a PowerBook G3 floppy drive be used to make 800k disks? sega dude Apple Collectors 3 Jan 19, 2014 12:59 AM
Anyway I can make my MS Wireless Mobile Mouse 1000 work on the mac? wannabelean Mac Basics and Help 1 Jul 11, 2013 09:12 AM
Make H/K Soundsticks I wireless? MasterJonas Mac Peripherals 1 Nov 1, 2012 08:07 AM
PowerBook G4 WPA wireless Deroles PowerPC Macs 3 Aug 8, 2012 12:39 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC