Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 23, 2006, 06:03 PM   #1
pianodude123
macrumors 6502a
 
pianodude123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: in the internet
Send a message via Skype™ to pianodude123
Powermac G5: Installing Airport Extreme

Hello.

I asked a Genius at the genius bar and he said that I will need to bring the computer in to the apple store in order for me to get wireless connectivity on my Powermac. I would like to hold out until wireless N to buy and install an Airport card in my Pmac, but if I already have a G card kicking around in a powerbook, is it possible to just take this card and pop it into my G5, or do I really have to bring it into apple for service??

Also...are there any third party devices I can get that ploug into usb etc?
__________________
Mac Pro - 2.66/5GB/2 x 1.5 TB/Dell 3007WFP
Macbook Pro 15" Retina
http://www.stenchinformer.com
pianodude123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2006, 06:07 PM   #2
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
I'd buy and install an AirPort card now before you no longer can. There's no reason to believe that the 802.11n cards will support G5 systems (they might, they might not). The cards are user-installable if you're even remotely comfortable with opening the case. Just be sure you still have the external antenna that came with your PM.

Otherwise, there are several external (USB) solutions, but those are less... aesthetic. Unless you use an AirPort Express as one (via ethernet, not USB), but that's awfully pricey.
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2006, 09:42 AM   #3
pianodude123
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
pianodude123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: in the internet
Send a message via Skype™ to pianodude123
Okay. So im assuming the genius lied to me?

Also...There is no part other than the airport card that needs to be applied to the motherboard?
__________________
Mac Pro - 2.66/5GB/2 x 1.5 TB/Dell 3007WFP
Macbook Pro 15" Retina
http://www.stenchinformer.com
pianodude123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2006, 11:02 AM   #4
Dreadnought
macrumors 68000
 
Dreadnought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
It's real easy to install one. You have done it in 2 minutes yourself!
__________________
Fold with our MacRumors folding@home team and I dare you to fold with us and catch up with me if you can! Also, we have our own folding widget
Dreadnought is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2006, 02:23 PM   #5
leekohler
Banned
 
leekohler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by pianodude123 View Post
Hello.

I asked a Genius at the genius bar and he said that I will need to bring the computer in to the apple store in order for me to get wireless connectivity on my Powermac. I would like to hold out until wireless N to buy and install an Airport card in my Pmac, but if I already have a G card kicking around in a powerbook, is it possible to just take this card and pop it into my G5, or do I really have to bring it into apple for service??

Also...are there any third party devices I can get that ploug into usb etc?
Do you have the last rev Dual-core G5? You DO have to take it to the Apple Store for installation if that's the case. I have one and it's the same deal. Apparently, the slot is somewhere behind the processor and I'm not gonna even try to go there.
leekohler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2006, 02:56 PM   #6
tdhurst
macrumors 68040
 
tdhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to tdhurst Send a message via Yahoo to tdhurst Send a message via Skype™ to tdhurst
Nope

The genius didn't lie. On the newer G5s, the wireless package is only installable in store and it's not a regular airport card.
__________________
Twitter - tdhurst
I blog here.
2012 11.6" 2.0ghz i7 MacBook Air, 2.26 C2D Mac Mini, iPhone 5, Apple TV 3.
tdhurst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2006, 09:43 PM   #7
pianodude123
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
pianodude123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: in the internet
Send a message via Skype™ to pianodude123
Nope...I have the dual processor unit. I saw the slot where it goes right when I popped open the case.
__________________
Mac Pro - 2.66/5GB/2 x 1.5 TB/Dell 3007WFP
Macbook Pro 15" Retina
http://www.stenchinformer.com
pianodude123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2006, 12:49 AM   #8
mattbookpr0
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Collegeville, Pa
I had the same problem when I first got a mac so I just brought it to the store and they had it ready in about an hour. (Mind you NOT during holiday season.)

They did it for free and it was quick and easy so I wouldn't tamper with it if you're unsure.
mattbookpr0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run Airport Extreme on 5 GHz, and Airport Express on 2.4? williamsonrg Mac Peripherals 2 Aug 29, 2011 09:05 PM
AirPort Extreme and external hard drive combination behaving badly. Bengt77 Mac Peripherals 0 Jul 15, 2011 07:05 PM
Airport Extreme set-up: AP Utility 5.5.1 vs. 5.5.2? waiting Mac Peripherals 2 Apr 8, 2011 04:29 AM
Airport Extreme/Hard Drive - Disconnect Issue eurobass Mac Peripherals 2 Dec 25, 2010 08:20 AM
AirPort Extreme - a good time to buy? d777 Buying Tips and Advice 1 Nov 15, 2010 10:01 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC