Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 4, 2007, 03:02 PM   #1
mac3687
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Removing items from the menu bar

I tried out this new widget called Menu Butler, not really thinking about what I was doing, and now I have three icons (eject, inkwell, and .mac sync) stuck on my menu bar. Does anyone know how to get them off? I'm new to OS X so I'm a bit stuck. Thanks in advance.
mac3687 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2007, 03:03 PM   #2
WildCowboy
Administrator/Editor
 
WildCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Hold down the command key and drag them off of the menu bar. This works only for OS X menu bar items, not third-party ones.
__________________
Editor in Chief, MacRumors
WildCowboy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2007, 03:04 PM   #3
mac3687
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Thank you very much!
mac3687 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2007, 07:03 PM   #4
Aniej
macrumors 68000
 
Aniej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by WildCowboy View Post
Hold down the command key and drag them off of the menu bar. This works only for OS X menu bar items, not third-party ones.
A irony that has not been lost. You can remove the default items, but not the ones you chose to add, weird!
Aniej is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2007, 08:06 PM   #5
emptyCup
macrumors 65816
 
emptyCup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aniej View Post
A irony that has not been lost. You can remove the default items, but not the ones you chose to add, weird!
You only can't remove the ones from 3rd party developers who do not bother to implement the feature. Some do, some give you a Quit if you Control(right)-Click. All of mine have some way to stop them.
emptyCup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2007, 07:09 PM   #6
reubs
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
I've got the opposite problem as the OP. When I first got my MB I took most of the default items off the menu to prevent overcrowding and went w/ widgets instead.

Now, 10.4.9 broke my favorite battery widget and I need that monitor back in the menu...

Any help?
reubs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2011, 11:04 AM   #7
afinley
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
If a menu bar item is still being installed after restart, then there must be an application still running to activate it.

I had a residual menu item from a trial of Go To My PC, in spite of cancelling and removing the application. Looking in the Activity Monitor window showed two processes underway that were obviously linked to G2MPC. Killing the processes removed the menu item until I restarted, but then it reappeared. Selecting each, clicking "Inspect", and then clicking "Open Files and Ports" gave me a terminal window that showed, among other things, that there was a relevant folder and files at the Macintosh HD/Library/Application Support level, although they didn't show up in Spotlight or Find FIle. Trashing those solved the problem.

I am sure you can do the same thing with Terminal, but this seems less likely to cause more problems.

P.S. For those who are new to Mac, Activity Monitor is an application in the Applications/Utilities folder. It shows the CPU use and various other processes in real time.
afinley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2011, 11:43 AM   #8
MacTech68
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia, Perth
Quote:
Originally Posted by reubs View Post
I've got the opposite problem as the OP. When I first got my MB I took most of the default items off the menu to prevent overcrowding and went w/ widgets instead.

Now, 10.4.9 broke my favorite battery widget and I need that monitor back in the menu...

Any help?
For 10.4.x, open 'System Preferences', select 'Energy Saver' then click the 'Options' tab. Place a tick in the box marked:

"Show battery status in the menu bar"

Note that you should select "Settings For" --> "Battery" AND "Power Adapter" to ensure the tick is there in both.

Note too that 'Menu Extras' located in /System/Library/CoreServices/Menu Extras/ can be double clicked to activate. This was the only way (AFAIK) to get the Eject menu extra to activate on early dual optical drive Mirror Drive Doors G4 Towers to selectively eject optical drives - though there is a keyboard shortcut of 'Option-Eject' for the lower drive.
__________________
iBook14" 1.42Ghz, G4 DigitalAudio 733Mhz, iMac Snow 700Mhz, iBook SE 466Mhz, PowerBook Pismo 500Mhz, G3 B&W, G4 MDD 1.25Ghz, iMac 233 1998, iMac G4 USB2 1.25Ghz, iMac C2D 2.16Ghz, MacMini G4 1.25Ghz
MacTech68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2011, 02:01 PM   #9
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Great revival of a 4-year-old thread.
Quote:
Originally Posted by afinley View Post
I had a residual menu item from a trial of Go To My PC, in spite of cancelling and removing the application.
That's because you didn't fully remove the app. The only effective method for complete app removal is manual deletion:

Best way to FULLY DELETE a program
Quote:
Originally Posted by afinley View Post
... there was a relevant folder and files at the Macintosh HD/Library/Application Support level, although they didn't show up in Spotlight or Find FIle.
That's because you can't use Spotlight to search the Library folder. You have to use Finder to search the Library folder and include system files in your search.
GGJstudios is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2011, 11:02 PM   #10
Yukon Jack
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Can anyone ID this MBI?

I've got an unknown icon in my system's menubar and I'm looking for the location of menubar items so I can trash it. I've looked high and low in both the System/Library and the ~/Library folders trying to find where 3rd party MBIs are stored, but I simply can't locate that folder. I'm aware of the Menu items in Core Services but that's not for 3rd party items. I've looked in my login items list and can't find anything unknown there. Here's a screen grab of the icon in case anyone can identify it. When I click on the icon none of the submenu items do anything. The second screen grab shows the dropped down menu. Many thanks!
Attached Images
  
Yukon Jack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2011, 01:49 AM   #11
MacTech68
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia, Perth
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yukon Jack View Post
I've got an unknown icon in my system's menubar...
I don't recognize it, but you might want to look in /Library/Receipts/ for an installer receipt that is unique. It might point you to the name of the App that was installed that (seemingly) has been removed, leaving the menu bar item behind.

Or, check if there is a third party Preference Panel that looks the same.

Alternatively, open Console (/Application/Utilities/), and then access the menubar options that don't work to see if an error is recorded in system.log or console.log

__________________
iBook14" 1.42Ghz, G4 DigitalAudio 733Mhz, iMac Snow 700Mhz, iBook SE 466Mhz, PowerBook Pismo 500Mhz, G3 B&W, G4 MDD 1.25Ghz, iMac 233 1998, iMac G4 USB2 1.25Ghz, iMac C2D 2.16Ghz, MacMini G4 1.25Ghz
MacTech68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2011, 10:20 PM   #12
Yukon Jack
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
@MacTech68,

Thanks for the suggestions.

Actually I shut down then restarted my Mac and it was gone. Who knows what it was. I should have done that first.
Yukon Jack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2011, 10:27 PM   #13
guzzi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by afinley View Post
If a menu bar item is still being installed after restart, then there must be an application still running to activate it.

I had a residual menu item from a trial of Go To My PC, in spite of cancelling and removing the application. Looking in the Activity Monitor window showed two processes underway that were obviously linked to G2MPC. Killing the processes removed the menu item until I restarted, but then it reappeared. Selecting each, clicking "Inspect", and then clicking "Open Files and Ports" gave me a terminal window that showed, among other things, that there was a relevant folder and files at the Macintosh HD/Library/Application Support level, although they didn't show up in Spotlight or Find FIle. Trashing those solved the problem.

I am sure you can do the same thing with Terminal, but this seems less likely to cause more problems.

P.S. For those who are new to Mac, Activity Monitor is an application in the Applications/Utilities folder. It shows the CPU use and various other processes in real time.

This worked perfectly for me thank you. Although I had to tell the program to stop running first. I clicked on the program in the Activity Monitor window and then pressed "Quit Process." Then I was able to trash it, and the icon was removed from the menu bar.
guzzi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2011, 01:17 PM   #14
posionarrow
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
3rd party solution

This is more of a workaround than an actual solution for the third party apps in the menubar, but here's a method to visually remove them:

Go to the app you'd like to remove in your applications folder, right click and show package contents. Then delete the icon files for the menubar item (usually stored in a "Resources" folder)

The icon won't appear in the menubar but if you click the spot where it should be the dialog drop down will still appear. Now these icons appear in the order they load which could potentially just lead to an equally ugly hole in your icons. The solution to this being to use the program delayedlauncher (http://www.taoeffect.com/blog/2011/0...dlauncher-2-2/) and set the order in which you'd like to load the programs on startup.

Then annoyingly this has a dock icon on startup when it loads, which I removed by going to its package contents and editing the info.plist and adding the string "Application is agent (UIElement)" with a boolean of YES to the .plist. This tells your computer it's a menubar item even though it's not and removes it from the dock.

long solution but it works.
posionarrow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2011, 03:44 PM   #15
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by posionarrow View Post
long solution but it works.
This is not a solution to the topic of this thread. Another thread resurrection by a first-time poster with useless information.
GGJstudios is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2011, 04:48 PM   #16
MacTech68
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia, Perth
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
This is not a solution to the topic of this thread. Another thread resurrection by a first-time poster with useless information.
As the poster stated:

Quote:
Originally Posted by posionarrow View Post
This is more of a workaround than an actual solution...


A lot of people come here from a google search and the forum becomes a resource for information pertaining to certain keywords. Adding to that resource just makes it more valuable.

__________________
iBook14" 1.42Ghz, G4 DigitalAudio 733Mhz, iMac Snow 700Mhz, iBook SE 466Mhz, PowerBook Pismo 500Mhz, G3 B&W, G4 MDD 1.25Ghz, iMac 233 1998, iMac G4 USB2 1.25Ghz, iMac C2D 2.16Ghz, MacMini G4 1.25Ghz
MacTech68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2011, 05:30 PM   #17
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacTech68 View Post
As the poster stated:
Quote:
Originally Posted by posionarrow View Post
This is more of a workaround than an actual solution
It's not even a workaround. It has nothing to do with the thread topic. Adding unrelated information doesn't make the thread more valuable.
GGJstudios is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 11:39 AM   #18
posionarrow
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
It's not even a workaround. It has nothing to do with the thread topic. Adding unrelated information doesn't make the thread more valuable.
Title: Remove items from menu bar
Effect: Visually removes them from the menu bar. Care to tell me how they're unrelated?

I'm sorry if you're too slow to follow. Let me know if I need to break it down further.
posionarrow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 11:44 AM   #19
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by posionarrow View Post
Title: Remove items from menu bar
Effect: Visually removes them from the menu bar. Care to tell me how they're unrelated?
The OP asked how to remove icons that are already on the menu bar, not how to modify apps so they don't put them there in the first place. In most cases, the apps aren't even installed anymore. The menu bar icons are leftover from incomplete app removal.
GGJstudios is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 01:06 PM   #20
posionarrow
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
The OP asked how to remove icons that are already on the menu bar, not how to modify apps so they don't put them there in the first place. In most cases, the apps aren't even installed anymore. The menu bar icons are leftover from incomplete app removal.
And as the OP's question was solved by the first response, I added some input on the following posters who made reference to the fact that third party icons can not be removed in such a way, etc, etc.

Last edited by kainjow; Dec 10, 2011 at 01:18 PM. Reason: insult
posionarrow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 01:22 PM   #21
kainjow
Moderator emeritus
 
kainjow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
^ ok guys let's not escalate this further. I think we all the get the point.


On topic: if you see an app in the menu bar and you don't know what it belongs to, you can try opening Activity Monitor, showing My Processes and going through that list and looking for unfamiliar process names. One of those should correspond to your menu bar app.

Also, if there is no quit or option to turn it off and you do know the app name, contact the developer and request that feature.
kainjow is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing items from the right click "open with" menu VoodooDaddy OS X 3 Oct 5, 2013 10:17 PM
Account name in the menu bar danakm Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 9 Jul 21, 2011 07:39 AM
Ask for Finder Items in the menu bar??? chipandegg OS X 0 Sep 1, 2009 03:54 PM
Removing item from the "Services" Menu (after program uninstall) PDiPietro Mac Basics and Help 0 Feb 17, 2007 01:33 PM
How can I remove items from the "Open With" menu? Roy Hobbs OS X 4 Jun 12, 2006 01:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC