Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 4, 2007, 04:05 PM   #1
Mojo67821
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
How to open ports with a Netgear router

I need to open ports on my MacBookPro with the latest version of OSX. I have a wireless netgear router. Can anyone give me a quick guide through this?
Mojo67821 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2007, 04:51 PM   #2
grum
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
http://portforward.com/
grum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2007, 11:30 AM   #3
Mojo67821
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
This site (at least the pages relevant to me) concern Windows...

I never installed any programs for my router so I'm not even sure where to start. I'm assuming under Sys Pref's and then "Sharing", but I have no idea where to go from there. Anyone help?

- Eric
Mojo67821 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2007, 01:10 PM   #4
theman5725
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mojo67821 View Post
This site (at least the pages relevant to me) concern Windows...

I never installed any programs for my router so I'm not even sure where to start. I'm assuming under Sys Pref's and then "Sharing", but I have no idea where to go from there. Anyone help?

- Eric
Not really. Forwarding ports is done in the web browser, so it doesn't matter what OS you are using. There are also directions on the site for OS X when required.
theman5725 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2011, 07:03 PM   #5
johny77
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
guide for port forwarding

heya all, i can recommend you this guide for how to open ports
it is really in a simple language and anyone can do it
johny77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2011, 08:01 PM   #6
Tonsko
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: UK
Most routers now are stateful... Which means that as ports are opened outbound, the router knows what ports the reply will be coming back on. If you need external connections to initiate, you will need to set up rules in the firewall pages of your router.
There is a third place to open ports for external connections which I imagine will require you to fiddle with ipchains on OSX itself (if that is what it uses. I suspect it is, but haven't checked).

What exactly are you trying to do?
Tonsko is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Netgear Bad Modem/Router ? Washac Mac Peripherals 24 Feb 24, 2014 06:09 PM
Need help with Netgear WGR614 router iproductsuser Mac Peripherals 2 Dec 16, 2013 06:19 AM
iMac Router vs. Netgear router Tofray iMac 12 Jan 12, 2013 10:24 AM
NetGear Router Problems TonyWatt iMac 8 Jul 19, 2012 07:46 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC