Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 8, 2007, 02:27 AM   #1
bustednz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
old g3 imac giving grief

hey guys im ben from nz.

read some old post sounds like most people in here know what there doing.

i brought a old g3 for like 80bucks nz which is like chips aprently crashed which it did at a scandisk thing i pressed stop and it booted about 20 times fine at work and checked disk fine when it wanted to... i updated everything and was smiling

i dont have a mac keyboard. so i used a usb one and it worked fine... but it locked up soo i turned it off and put it in my van and went home from work, plugged it in and it just sat on there blinking question mark and finder.

i reset the pram and it didnt fix it, then the hdd had a huge spaz and started clunking... so i assumed the hdd was haddit... replaced that downloaded some crusty old os9 image and burnt it. and it wont boot from it...

are macs picky on the OS cd? it seems like a pretty good iso its got all the system files there?
bustednz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2007, 03:29 AM   #2
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by bustednz View Post
hey guys im ben from nz.

read some old post sounds like most people in here know what there doing.

i brought a old g3 for like 80bucks nz which is like chips aprently crashed which it did at a scandisk thing i pressed stop and it booted about 20 times fine at work and checked disk fine when it wanted to... i updated everything and was smiling

i dont have a mac keyboard. so i used a usb one and it worked fine... but it locked up soo i turned it off and put it in my van and went home from work, plugged it in and it just sat on there blinking question mark and finder.

i reset the pram and it didnt fix it, then the hdd had a huge spaz and started clunking... so i assumed the hdd was haddit... replaced that downloaded some crusty old os9 image and burnt it. and it wont boot from it...

are macs picky on the OS cd? it seems like a pretty good iso its got all the system files there?
What mhz CPU do you have? I think I have some old G3 500mhz boot cds. Let me know
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2007, 03:36 AM   #3
bustednz
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by California View Post
What mhz CPU do you have? I think I have some old G3 500mhz boot cds. Let me know
its a 5521 unsure of cpu but someone might have said it was a 400mhz its blue and has a 20G

the screen has been recently packing in to could be another fault but OS 9.2 would be GREAT
bustednz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2007, 12:14 AM   #4
tuc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
btw, this thing runs OSX just fine so long as you've got at least 512mb of ram.

If the 20gb hard drive is OEM, that would make this on the later end of the iMac G3 run, I think.

If it turn out to be dead, may I have your optical drive? (Just kidding. I do need an optical drive for an iMac G3, but NZ is too far away. Oh, and I hope it's not dead.)
tuc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Choppy YouTube video due to old G3 imac? mgguy Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Dec 31, 2011 05:34 PM
Trouble with Old Versions of iTunes macman0910 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Nov 5, 2010 09:10 AM
Suggestion for old G3 Imac uses rivercottage Buying Tips and Advice 17 Apr 5, 2008 12:18 PM
Got an old G3 iMac - have a few questions :) CHAOS STEP PowerPC Macs 9 Jan 21, 2008 09:57 PM
How to dismantle an old G3 imac crispy Macintosh Computers 2 Oct 4, 2005 09:32 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC