Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 9, 2007, 03:41 PM   #1
Amber
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Getting a G5 instead of waiting for new Mac Pros

I can't really afford the Mac Pro right now and I'd have to upgrade it anyway.

I can get a G5 with upgraded Ram Dual 2.5 and applecare for around 1000. I figure if I have problems with the G5 Apple might end up replacing it with a Mac Pro in the future anyway.

Will Leopard work on a G5? How long do you think companies will keep making G5 compatible programs for?
Amber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2007, 03:46 PM   #2
zephead
macrumors 68000
 
zephead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: in your pants
Don't worry, PowerPC apps are still going to be around for a long, long time. Wasn't it a while before companies stopped making 68k apps during the 68k > PPC transition?
__________________
California sunlight, Sweet Calcutta rain, Honolulu starbright, The Song Remains the Same....
13" MacBook Pro 2.4GHz/250/4/10.6.5/ ~ iPhone 3G/16/4.0
zephead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2007, 03:50 PM   #3
macg4
macrumors 6502a
 
macg4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Des Moines,Iowa
Send a message via AIM to macg4 Send a message via Yahoo to macg4
Quote:
Originally Posted by zephead View Post
Don't worry, PowerPC apps are still going to be around for a long, long time. Wasn't it a while before companies stopped making 68k apps during the 68k > PPC transition?
very true...im keeping my g5 for at least another year or more
__________________
~~Chris Slaymaker~~
http://macg4.biz.ly
macg4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2007, 03:51 PM   #4
Apple Corps
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: California
Keep in mind that IBM has made huge strides with their Power6 chip. Intel has gone the multiple core route because it had difficulty in ramping the processor speed with acceptable power use / heat. IBM appears to be onto something with the Power6. Now, if they derive a mobile processor from that - well we could see............. :-)
__________________
Tim Cook - the Steve Ballmer of Apple
Apple Corps is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2007, 03:51 PM   #5
Umbongo
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amber View Post
Will Leopard work on a G5?
Yep.
Quote:
How long do you think companies will keep making G5 compatible programs for?
Hard to say, but it wouldn't be of concern to me if I were in your position. There are plenty of users with powerPC macs and if any company decides not to address a software market with a powerPC version of it's software another developer will. How long will you expect the machine to last you? Three, four, five years?
Umbongo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2007, 03:58 PM   #6
Amber
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
I'll probably upgrade in a 1 - 1 1/2 years and use the G5 as a media centre of sorts linked to a TV
Amber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2007, 04:02 PM   #7
Blue Velvet
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amber View Post
I'll probably upgrade in a 1 - 1 1/2 years and use the G5 as a media centre of sorts linked to a TV

Except the dual 2.5s are a bit noisy; I use one at work and the fans, while not as bad as the MDD G4s are still noticeable. Not nearly as quiet as a Mini, for example.
Blue Velvet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2007, 04:30 PM   #8
Umbongo
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amber View Post
I'll probably upgrade in a 1 - 1 1/2 years and use the G5 as a media centre of sorts linked to a TV
Software shouldn't be an issue for you then.
Umbongo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2007, 04:37 PM   #9
Carniphage
macrumors 68000
 
Carniphage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sheffield, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amber View Post
I can't really afford the Mac Pro right now and I'd have to upgrade it anyway.

I can get a G5 with upgraded Ram Dual 2.5 and applecare for around 1000. I figure if I have problems with the G5 Apple might end up replacing it with a Mac Pro in the future anyway.

Will Leopard work on a G5? How long do you think companies will keep making G5 compatible programs for?
Get a refurb Mac Pro - they are actually brand new machines! They will run Windows if you have to - and won't burst and spray toxic green coolant round the room turning your children into mutants. G5s are known to do that!

C.
Carniphage is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Precise instructions for getting x2 ATI Radeon HD 5870's in your Mac Pro (2009-2010) blackwoodfx Mac Pro 83 Jan 23, 2012 01:46 AM
Upgrade early 2008 or wait for new mac pro? mazuma Mac Pro 15 Sep 20, 2011 08:08 AM
MAC pro or wait for new mac pro? Rjohn09 MacBook Pro 10 Jun 5, 2011 05:56 AM
hackintosh or wait for new mac pro? Keebler Digital Video 2 May 20, 2011 11:38 AM
Wait for new Mac Pro or get iMac i7 SmilesLots Mac Pro 17 Jun 28, 2010 09:49 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC