Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 9, 2007, 09:18 PM   #1
ghall
macrumors 68040
 
ghall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rhode Island
Send a message via AIM to ghall
AppleTV, for widescreen TVs only?

I checked the AppleTV page, and it says that you need a widescreen TV to use it. My family doesn't happen to own a widescreen TV, nor does my family have any plans to buy a new TV anytime soon. Does this mean I won't be able to use the AppleTV?
ghall is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2007, 09:22 PM   #2
Eluon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spring, Texas
Send a message via AIM to Eluon
i have the exact same question.
__________________
iMac G5 17in 1.8; MacBook Pro 2.16ghz.
"Far better is it for man to give what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose." E.H.
Eluon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2007, 09:24 PM   #3
ReanimationLP
macrumors 68030
 
ReanimationLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On the moon.
Pretty much any TV with component and progessive scan. I guess they're just covering their asses by saying that.
__________________
"For what am I living?"
I want to shout it out loud. Can you hear me?


Stuff for Sale :3
ReanimationLP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2007, 09:27 PM   #4
zap2
macrumors 604
 
zap2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Washington D.C
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReanimationLP View Post
Pretty much any TV with component and progessive scan. I guess they're just covering their asses by saying that.
I see....I think I may buy my order in now...and find a TV for my room later(or now the downstairs TV is fine)
__________________
"We can't all be heroes because somebody has to sit on the curb and clap as they go by." Will Rogers
zap2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2007, 09:30 PM   #5
crazzyeddie
macrumors 68030
 
crazzyeddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida, USA
From Ars Technica Q&A (link):
Quote:
Jacqui: Is this HDTV only? Does it just scale down if hooked up to a regular TV?
Apple Employee: Yes, HDTV only. Yes, it just scales down on a regular TV.
__________________

Macbook Pro 15"
8GB DDR3 RAM
iPhone 6 Silver
crazzyeddie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2007, 09:33 PM   #6
darwen
macrumors 6502a
 
darwen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: California, US
Yeah, I didnt get this either. It must be true though, otherwise apple would not have written 'widescreen only' ...that is a bummer. I wonder why. I understand the component cables but not all component TVs are widescreen.
darwen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2007, 09:59 PM   #7
zap2
macrumors 604
 
zap2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Washington D.C
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazzyeddie View Post
From Ars Technica Q&A (link):
So wouldn't that be a no on the HDTV only thing?


Is it scales down on SDTVs, then its not HDTV only..or am I missing something?
__________________
"We can't all be heroes because somebody has to sit on the curb and clap as they go by." Will Rogers
zap2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2007, 10:41 PM   #8
darwen
macrumors 6502a
 
darwen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: California, US
Quote:
Originally Posted by zap2 View Post
So wouldn't that be a no on the HDTV only thing?


Is it scales down on SDTVs, then its not HDTV only..or am I missing something?
I thought that too. Maybe the representative was miss informed thinking it was still HD because it was just being scaled down. It is still sending a signal through the component cables, they might have thought that was an HD signal.

It is a strech... but it could be an easy mistake.
darwen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2007, 10:45 PM   #9
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zap2 View Post
So wouldn't that be a no on the HDTV only thing?


Is it scales down on SDTVs, then its not HDTV only..or am I missing something?
It sounds like a typical sales response. It probably doesn't work properly on SDTV, so that you're either missing video or seeing a lot of black surrounding it.
bousozoku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2007, 11:15 PM   #10
allenmertes
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South Bend, IN
Send a message via AIM to allenmertes
I had a similar question because I have an SDTV with a component input. It would seem like I could use an Apple TV just not in HD, but I don't want to drop the $300 if this in not possible. Hopefully this is cleared up soon.
allenmertes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2007, 11:52 PM   #11
GFLPraxis
macrumors 604
 
GFLPraxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by zap2 View Post
So wouldn't that be a no on the HDTV only thing?


Is it scales down on SDTVs, then its not HDTV only..or am I missing something?
It doesn't have composite output, I can't even hook it up to any of my SDTV's, and I don't have an HDTV.

Stupid, stupid move on Apple's part. They offer ZERO content in HD (only photos), but make the streaming device HD only because it can't plug in to a regular TV.
__________________
Impraxical - My New Blog
MacBook CD/2GHz/2GB/160GB/SD
Hackintosh Core 2 Quad/2.4 GHz/4GB/660GB/8800GT
16 GB iPhone
GFLPraxis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2007, 05:33 AM   #12
zap2
macrumors 604
 
zap2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Washington D.C
My TV downstairs has 16:9 and Component....I'm pretty sure it will work...I'm ordering one, then I'll big up a new TV in need be
__________________
"We can't all be heroes because somebody has to sit on the curb and clap as they go by." Will Rogers
zap2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible New Apple TVs gmbaker44 Apple TV and Home Theater 138 Nov 8, 2013 08:03 AM
two apple TVs on two separate TVs question maria122285 Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Aug 24, 2013 02:42 PM
PCs on Apple TVs carguy21 Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Aug 4, 2013 03:03 AM
TVs Samtb Community Discussion 35 Mar 13, 2013 09:32 PM
Handbrake: iPad vs AppleTV vs AppleTV 2 vs AppleTV 3 presettings rrk100 Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Nov 11, 2012 06:04 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC