Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Event Archives

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 11, 2007, 01:08 PM   #1
MacVault
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Send a message via AIM to MacVault Send a message via Yahoo to MacVault Send a message via Skype™ to MacVault
AirPort Extreme - no Gigabit Ethernet?? WTF!?

Who's dumba$$ idea was it at Apple to not put Gigabit ethernet ports on the new Airport Extreme? I just can't beleive it! Is it just a typo? Or is slower speed really the "in thing" now days??? WTF?! Apple won't be getting my money for that thing. Man, what a Fvq3d Up MacWorld Keynote.

Oh, and the USB hard drive sharing feature is a nice touch but it better not be Apple's solution to the home server need.

Last edited by MacVault; Jan 11, 2007 at 01:17 PM.
MacVault is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2007, 01:14 PM   #2
RichP
macrumors 68000
 
RichP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Motor City
It has to by a typo, right? If it was not, that means the wired ethernet ports are slower than the wireless connection!
__________________
"My ultimate vocation in life is to be an irritant" Elvis Costello
RichP is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2007, 01:18 PM   #3
sikkinixx
macrumors 68020
 
sikkinixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Rocketing through the sky!
maybe it is a way of trying to push you into wireless?
__________________
sikkinixx is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2007, 01:23 PM   #4
thefunkymunky
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London Baby!
The AppleTV wotist doesn't have Gigabit ethernet either.

Having said that, Apple is not the only manufacturer to have a router that supports the faster wireless but still only has 10/100 ethernet on it.
thefunkymunky is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2007, 01:26 PM   #5
MacVault
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Send a message via AIM to MacVault Send a message via Yahoo to MacVault Send a message via Skype™ to MacVault
Quote:
Originally Posted by thefunkymunky View Post
The AppleTV wotist doesn't have Gigabit ethernet either.

Having said that, Apple is not the only manufacturer to have a router that supports the faster wireless but still only has 10/100 ethernet on it.
There is ABSOLUTELY NO EXCUSE for this CRAP! What good is Gigabit on the new Macs if the router Apple sells is only 10/100?? WTF! I almost don't beleive it! I'm trying to convince myself it's a type but I know it's not

The last 30 years were just the beginning. Welcome to 2007 - where we make products that are 90% awsome and 50% halfA$$-STUPID!

Last edited by MacVault; Jan 11, 2007 at 01:37 PM.
MacVault is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2007, 01:35 PM   #6
Sam0r
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Birmingham, UK
What?! Seriously? So they upgrade every mac with gigabit ethernet, but don't support it in their networking equipment.

Clever!
__________________
2011 iMac 27", i5 2.7ghz, 8gb, Radeon 6770m
2011 MacBook Pro 13", i5 2.3ghz, 8gb, Intel HD 3000
iPhone 5 White 32gb
Sam0r is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2007, 01:37 PM   #7
clintob
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York, NY
Send a message via AIM to clintob
Whoa people, hang on, hang on...

1) I agree Gigabit ethernet would be nice, of course. But keep in mind that Gigabit (although included on MacPro's) it's still a VERY sparsely used technology in home networks and the Airport is a home networking device. It's not meant for setting up major networks with Gigabit switches, etc.

2) The price point of the Airport ($175) is pretty darn low for a multi-port router that also allows printer/hard drive sharing and Pre-N support.

3) Also, since we're on the subject, we should probably stop dealing in theoreticals. In theory, 802.11n has all kinds of potential but in practice most reviewers and users have reported that its speeds are pretty much in line with what they get out of wired 10/100 networks. So before we jump around screaming that the wired will be slower than the wireless, let's be real. In practice, the two will probably be identical - about 100Mbps.

No, it's not Gigabit, and I would LOVE that as much as anyone. But one thing at a time...
__________________
www.clintbalcom.com
3GHz iMac, 4GB
iPhone
Canon 30D, 70-200L IS f2.8, 17-40L f4, 50 f1.4
clintob is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2007, 01:41 PM   #8
tdhurst
macrumors 68040
 
tdhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to tdhurst Send a message via Yahoo to tdhurst Send a message via Skype™ to tdhurst
Sweet

Quote:
Originally Posted by clintob View Post
Whoa people, hang on, hang on...

1) I agree Gigabit ethernet would be nice, of course. But keep in mind that Gigabit (although included on MacPro's) it's still a VERY sparsely used technology in home networks and the Airport is a home networking device. It's not meant for setting up major networks with Gigabit switches, etc.

2) The price point of the Airport ($175) is pretty darn low for a multi-port router that also allows printer/hard drive sharing and Pre-N support.

3) Also, since we're on the subject, we should probably stop dealing in theoreticals. In theory, 802.11n has all kinds of potential but in practice most reviewers and users have reported that its speeds are pretty much in line with what they get out of wired 10/100 networks. So before we jump around screaming that the wired will be slower than the wireless, let's be real. In practice, the two will probably be identical - about 100Mbps.

No, it's not Gigabit, and I would LOVE that as much as anyone. But one thing at a time...
Very well put and I agree completely. Nice job.
__________________
Twitter - tdhurst
I blog here.
2013 13" rMBP i5, 2.4 c2d Mac Mini, iPhone 5, Apple TV 3.
tdhurst is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2007, 01:41 PM   #9
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
I agree. Consumer product for the home market, although all Macs now have gigabit ether, not just the pros. Also since USB 2.0 maxs out at about 240Mbps it is not much of an inconvenience not having 1G ether.

Perhaps we will see an APExt Pro later in the year?
__________________
Read the Rules / Search the Forums / Use a Descriptive Title
Mac Won't Boot?
flopticalcube is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2007, 01:43 PM   #10
MacVault
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Send a message via AIM to MacVault Send a message via Yahoo to MacVault Send a message via Skype™ to MacVault
Quote:
Originally Posted by clintob View Post
Whoa people, hang on, hang on...

1) I agree Gigabit ethernet would be nice, of course. But keep in mind that Gigabit (although included on MacPro's) it's still a VERY sparsely used technology in home networks and the Airport is a home networking device. It's not meant for setting up major networks with Gigabit switches, etc....
Gigabit ethernet is not only on the MacPro. It's on every Mac Apple makes now - iMac, MacBook, Macbook Pro, MacPro. Now what good is it if I buy the new AirPort Extreme?

Oh, and as for home networks... with all the video, music, etc being done in the home now days, and as cheap as Gigabit is, there should be nothing less that GIGABIT - Yes, even in home networks!
MacVault is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2007, 01:44 PM   #11
Sam0r
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Birmingham, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by clintob View Post
Whoa people, hang on, hang on...

1) I agree Gigabit ethernet would be nice, of course. But keep in mind that Gigabit (although included on MacPro's) it's still a VERY sparsely used technology in home networks and the Airport is a home networking device. It's not meant for setting up major networks with Gigabit switches, etc.

2) The price point of the Airport ($175) is pretty darn low for a multi-port router that also allows printer/hard drive sharing and Pre-N support.

3) Also, since we're on the subject, we should probably stop dealing in theoreticals. In theory, 802.11n has all kinds of potential but in practice most reviewers and users have reported that its speeds are pretty much in line with what they get out of wired 10/100 networks. So before we jump around screaming that the wired will be slower than the wireless, let's be real. In practice, the two will probably be identical - about 100Mbps.

No, it's not Gigabit, and I would LOVE that as much as anyone. But one thing at a time...
I think you're missing the point here..

The point is that every mac now comes with gigabit ethernet, but they won't be able to use it unless they buy a third party network switch/hub.

Also the point of it being able to share a hard drive over the network is let down slightly by the lack of gigabit ethernet.

And AFAIK it only has three ports, it can't be THAT much more expencive to upgrade them to gigabit ports.
__________________
2011 iMac 27", i5 2.7ghz, 8gb, Radeon 6770m
2011 MacBook Pro 13", i5 2.3ghz, 8gb, Intel HD 3000
iPhone 5 White 32gb
Sam0r is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2007, 01:49 PM   #12
MacVault
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Send a message via AIM to MacVault Send a message via Yahoo to MacVault Send a message via Skype™ to MacVault
Home networks DO need Gigabit!

I can't beleive some of you guys saying 10/100 is ok for home networks. It just is NOT! Period. Do you think the HP Windows Home Server will have 10/100? NO WAY. It will have Gigabit! Why? Because more and more home users are dealing with huge multi-gigabyte video/movie files, music files, photos, network attached storage, etc.
MacVault is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2007, 01:54 PM   #13
tdhurst
macrumors 68040
 
tdhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to tdhurst Send a message via Yahoo to tdhurst Send a message via Skype™ to tdhurst
I can...

I can currently stream (via iTunes sharing) a video from my 500mhz iMac, connected via ethernet to a linksys voip router, in turn connected to an Airport Express, which my powerbook connects to wirelessly.

I really don't see all the issues so many people have predicted.
__________________
Twitter - tdhurst
I blog here.
2013 13" rMBP i5, 2.4 c2d Mac Mini, iPhone 5, Apple TV 3.
tdhurst is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2007, 01:56 PM   #14
iW00t
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Defenders of Apple Guild
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVault View Post
There is ABSOLUTELY NO EXCUSE for this CRAP! What good is Gigabit on the new Macs if the router Apple sells is only 10/100?? WTF! I almost don't beleive it! I'm trying to convince myself it's a type but I know it's not

The last 30 years were just the beginning. Welcome to 2007 - where we make products that are 90% awsome and 50% halfA$$-STUPID!
It is times like this when I will just want to and give the usual piece on this...

"We've done extensive studies and found that most consumers do not require this feature."

They use the same excuse to explain why the iMac is non user upgradeable, why it didn't have a user adjustable height, etc etc... it sure as hell would work here
iW00t is offline   0
Old Jan 12, 2007, 01:06 AM   #15
aswitcher
macrumors 603
 
aswitcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney OZ
Send a message via AIM to aswitcher
Its a bit annoying but I dont see this as a major issue.

My question is, where is the ethernet version that doesn't need power?

I actually thought Apple should have put the optical audio out into these new base stations to push up their adoption. I know I will be putting at least one where I would have liked to have audio out as well for speakers.
__________________
Switcher since June '04
iPhone 4GS | 27" iMac | Elgato EyeTV/IceTV | SecuritySpy User
aswitcher is offline   0
Old Jan 12, 2007, 01:26 AM   #16
maverick808
macrumors 65816
 
maverick808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by clintob View Post
Whoa people, hang on, hang on...

1) I agree Gigabit ethernet would be nice, of course. But keep in mind that Gigabit (although included on MacPro's) it's still a VERY sparsely used technology in home networks and the Airport is a home networking device. It's not meant for setting up major networks with Gigabit switches, etc.
More people have gigabit Ethernet than have 802.11n, so are you saying Apple shouldn't be bothering with 802.11n?

Furthermore, how many people even have Internet connections that reach 802.11g (54mbps) speeds? Hell, most people don't even have Internet connections that match 802.11b (11mbps) speeds. So people aren't buying these things so that their Internet connections are faster. Surely, you buy them to transfer data between machines on the local network? I would imagine a typical Airport Extreme buyer would have maybe one desktop machine and one laptop. They want copying from the desktop to the laptop to be as fast as possible. With a desktop wired to the Airport Extreme such a copy is now going to be half the speed the wireless is capable of AT BEST, because the wired connection has become an unnecessary bottleneck.

Sorry, but I think that situation is just stupid.
maverick808 is offline   0
Old Jan 12, 2007, 01:44 AM   #17
Philoman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVault View Post
I can't beleive some of you guys saying 10/100 is ok for home networks. It just is NOT! Period. Do you think the HP Windows Home Server will have 10/100? NO WAY. It will have Gigabit! Why? Because more and more home users are dealing with huge multi-gigabyte video/movie files, music files, photos, network attached storage, etc.
I agree with MacVault. Faster networking will benefit everyone. Just because you are a home user, you will only be transferring under 10MBs? And just because you are a home user, you can afford to wait longer time to copy/tranfer. Gigabit networking is very affordable. D-Link DGL-4300 Wireless router with 4 gigabit port sells for less than $135.

Apple is an innovator and a leader of technology. I was excited to see the new router including the latest 802.11n technology. Then they leave the wired networking to 10/100. They forgot to do some marketing study. Users have wireless and wired networking in their homes and small offices.

It really is a short coming from Apple from a marketing point of view. Only if they would have included the gigabit port, it would have been a fine product that would satisfy a much wider range of customers. I surely would buy one. I have a gigabit ethernet router that I got 1 year ago. After a year later, I will definitely not go backwards.

Last edited by Philoman; Jan 12, 2007 at 02:19 AM.
Philoman is offline   0
Old Jan 12, 2007, 01:51 AM   #18
apfhex
macrumors 68030
 
apfhex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Northern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by aswitcher View Post
My question is, where is the ethernet version that doesn't need power?
Hell yeah, PoE baby. A friend has been waiting to see PoE devices become popular for a while now.

But indeed, WTF, in reply to the OP. My 5 year old PowerBook has gigabit ethernet. Why in the world would Apple not include it on the new AirPort Extreme?
__________________
2006 Mac Pro 2.66Ghz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT, 23" ACD, Lion
Verizon iPhone 4 16GB ; White iPad 3 16GB
apfhex is offline   0
Old Jan 12, 2007, 02:07 AM   #19
Wild-Bill
macrumors 68020
 
Wild-Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVault View Post
I can't beleive some of you guys saying 10/100 is ok for home networks. It just is NOT! Period. Do you think the HP Windows Home Server will have 10/100? NO WAY. It will have Gigabit! Why? Because more and more home users are dealing with huge multi-gigabyte video/movie files, music files, photos, network attached storage, etc.
It does. I read the specs on pcmag. The HP Home Server will have gigabit, as it should.

There is no excuse for Apple omitting gigabit ethernet from this router. The first thing I said to myself when I read the specs was "What? No gigabit?!?!" Shame on you Apple!!! SHame!
__________________
Desktop | Laptop | Tablet | Phone
Wild-Bill is offline   0
Old Jan 12, 2007, 02:11 AM   #20
iW00t
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Defenders of Apple Guild
I just placed an order for mine.

Gigabit ethernet or not it is still cheaper than what I paid 6 months ago for that Netgear piece of **** which reboots every now and then. At least here I know I am getting "Apple quality", for less money, and more features (USB hub print + file share).
iW00t is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2007, 07:54 PM   #21
TheSailerMan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York, New York
I can see how no gigabit ethernet port would be a problem for some, but that's why you can buy other (likely more expensive) wireless routers WITH gigabit ethernet ports.

My dad just ordered an APE earlier this week, and the lack of gigabit ethernet ports won't be a problem for us. Everyone except me runs on a wireless connection, and I have an original Mac mini (which doesn't have gigabit ethernet).
__________________
15" Unibody MacBook Pro | 2.66 GHz Core i7 | 4 GB RAM | 500GB HD
Google Nexus One
TheSailerMan is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2007, 08:45 PM   #22
maverick808
macrumors 65816
 
maverick808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSailerMan View Post
I can see how no gigabit ethernet port would be a problem for some, but that's why you can buy other (likely more expensive) wireless routers WITH gigabit ethernet ports.
Like this one from Netgear, it has gigabit ports...?

http://www.cdw.com/shop/products/specs.aspx?EDC=969472

Oh wait, no that's cheaper. Okay, how about Linksys...?

http://www.amazon.com/Linksys-WRT350.../dp/B000H96IN2

Oops, cheaper again.
maverick808 is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2007, 08:47 PM   #23
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
Quote:
Originally Posted by maverick808 View Post
Like this one from Netgear, it has gigabit ports...?

http://www.cdw.com/shop/products/specs.aspx?EDC=969472

Oh wait, no that's cheaper. Okay, how about Linksys...?

http://www.amazon.com/Linksys-WRT350.../dp/B000H96IN2

Oops, cheaper again.
Out of curosity can you connect a USB printer and a HD to those routers?

[edit] guess you can but it's for windows only and looks really ugly..[/edit]

Last edited by Peace; Jan 15, 2007 at 08:53 PM.
Peace is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2007, 08:47 PM   #24
xUKHCx
Administrator emeritus
 
xUKHCx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Kop
Quote:
Originally Posted by maverick808 View Post
That is one scary looking router.
xUKHCx is offline   0
Old Jan 15, 2007, 08:50 PM   #25
maverick808
macrumors 65816
 
maverick808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scotland
I agree, it does look kind of mad. I doubt you can attach a printer. Maybe you can attach disk drives since the tech specs say...

Product Features

Four devices in one: Internet-sharing Router, 4-port Gigabit Switch, speed- and range-enhanced Wireless Access Point, and built-in Media Server

Storage Link feature lets you easily add gigabytes of storage, while Media Server streams media from an attached storage device to any UPnP compatible media adapter
maverick808 is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Event Archives

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airport Extreme/Express to Ethernet unplugme71 Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 3 Mar 13, 2014 01:04 PM
Airport Extreme as Ethernet NAS? Radiating Mac Peripherals 1 Nov 14, 2013 04:53 AM
Airport Extreme with Cat6 Ethernet Naif1992 Mac Peripherals 2 Oct 14, 2013 04:46 AM
New Airport Extreme Faster Than Ethernet Robster3 Mac Peripherals 20 Sep 7, 2013 05:17 AM
TB gigabit Ethernet vs USB gigabit Ethernet? Lax1085 Mac Peripherals 8 Aug 2, 2012 01:54 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC