Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 12, 2007, 03:36 PM   #1
Shotgun OS
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ohio
Enabling Disk Use on iPod

I have some movies and music on my computer that my friend wants. I wanted to know if I can enable it for disk use, put the data on it, then take it to his house and plug it in to his dock connector. What will happen? My iPod is formatted for a Mac and his computer is a PC. I want to make sure I don't mess the iPod up. Will the iPod just show up the same way an external HD would?

Thanks.
__________________

Space Gray iPhone 5S | 15" Macbook Pro | White iPad 2
Shotgun OS is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2007, 03:39 PM   #2
Reflow
macrumors 68000
 
Reflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NJ/PHL
Send a message via AIM to Reflow
Someone already posted the same question Here
__________________
2010 Mini Server/Apple 24" LED monitor/2010 UMBP 128GB SSD/2010 MBA/iPhone4/iPad 3
Reflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2007, 03:42 PM   #3
After G
macrumors 68000
 
After G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: California
Send a message via AIM to After G Send a message via Yahoo to After G
When you insert your iPod, in the options section, there's a checkbox that says "enable disk use". Tick it. You should be fine; the iPod won't get messed up. Oh yea, the sample picture is from a 1G 512 MB shuffle so you don't ask "where'd the other XX GB go?".

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflow
Someone already posted the same question Here
That person knew to check the box but didn't get the slider.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 3.png
Views:	210
Size:	35.9 KB
ID:	66103  
After G is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2007, 03:42 PM   #4
Shotgun OS
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ohio
Thanks!
I did search the forums, too.....nothing came up.
thanks again
__________________

Space Gray iPhone 5S | 15" Macbook Pro | White iPad 2
Shotgun OS is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2007, 03:50 PM   #5
WildCowboy
Administrator/Editor
 
WildCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Wait...I'm just a measly shuffle user, so all of my info about Mac and PC-formatted iPods is secondhand, so correct me if I'm wrong.

The Mac-formatted iPod is in HFS+, so the PC won't be able to see it as an external unless you use something like MacDrive, correct?
__________________
Editor in Chief, MacRumors

Last edited by WildCowboy; Jan 12, 2007 at 04:20 PM. Reason: typo
WildCowboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2007, 03:58 PM   #6
gavd
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by WildCowboy View Post
The Mac-formatted iPod is in HFS+, so the PC won't be able to see it as an external unless you use something like MacDrive, correct?
I agree with you on this. If the iPod is formatted for a Mac, then the PC won't be able to see it.
gavd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2007, 05:39 PM   #7
eluk
macrumors 6502a
 
eluk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: East London, UK
Right when you plug a Mac formatted iPod into a PC it wants to format it.
__________________
Bound to be an S&M lover.
There they're writing in their own style.
Mac Pro 2.8
MacBook Pro 2.33
eluk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2007, 05:48 PM   #8
After G
macrumors 68000
 
After G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: California
Send a message via AIM to After G Send a message via Yahoo to After G
I thought all recent iPods were Windows format as FAT32 works on both PC and Mac? Doesn't help OP if they have an older iPod though. It's why I didn't mention it.
After G is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2007, 10:43 PM   #9
Shotgun OS
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by After G View Post
I thought all recent iPods were Windows format as FAT32 works on both PC and Mac? Doesn't help OP if they have an older iPod though. It's why I didn't mention it.
I Have a 5.5 gen iPod with video capability.

So what do I do? Format it for a PC, then reformat it for my Mac?
__________________

Space Gray iPhone 5S | 15" Macbook Pro | White iPad 2
Shotgun OS is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2007, 12:11 AM   #10
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shotgun OS View Post
I Have a 5.5 gen iPod with video capability.

So what do I do? Format it for a PC, then reformat it for my Mac?
Yep. You need to format it Windows on a PC.

You can leave it Windows formatted and still sync it to a Mac. At least until there's a software upgrade at which point it'll want to reformat to Mac.

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPod Touch: Can anyone tell my why I can't create a disk image for my iPod touch? waths4523 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Apr 13, 2013 10:40 AM
Enabling Trim Reduces Disk Write Speed jbsmithmac MacBook Pro 0 Dec 14, 2012 07:30 PM
How to use iPod in disk mode when its battery is dead agustinbg iPod 5 Sep 1, 2012 12:11 PM
External disk repair can't unmount disk / disk still in use diskwarrior musio OS X 0 Aug 16, 2012 02:04 PM
Mountain Lion won't install, how to enabling journaling in Disk Utility? Ja Di ksw OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 6 Jul 26, 2012 10:01 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC