Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2007, 10:57 AM   #1
Howard Brazee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lafayette CO
Adding a Mac to my workgroup

I have a home LAN that currently has 3 Windows machines and a printer hooked up to it. We just bought a 24" iMac which will mostly replace my wife's Gateway laptop. The Apple store is copying her laptop's data over right now, and when work is over I will pick her computers up and take them home. (I wanted to upgrade to 2G Ram, but they only had 1 available - so we will decide later when to upgrade)

I bought a switch, but need to buy two short cat-5 cables. My basement router is too far away from her top floor laptop to get a decent connection, so I have a cat-5 cable connecting them - now I will want it connected to two computers.

So when I get home, I will connect them and hopefully she will immediately get her e-mail and web access. Then I will install XP in her Parallels, move her all-in-one printer from the laptop to the iMac, move her Kodak docking port from her laptop to the iMac, and hope they work. (And work at moving critical Windows apps over to Parallels).

Then I want to do what's necessary for our work group to share data. Where is a good source of information for me to do this? (We are Mac virgins).

Then I want to make sure we can still find her printer and use it from other computers.
Howard Brazee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2007, 07:36 AM   #2
Queso
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Hav you read the MacRumors Guide on networking OSX with Windows? You'll find it here
Queso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2007, 11:00 AM   #3
Howard Brazee
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lafayette CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynamicv View Post
Hav you read the MacRumors Guide on networking OSX with Windows? You'll find it here

Those guides look useful, thanks.
Howard Brazee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2007, 05:26 PM   #4
Howard Brazee
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lafayette CO
I read this guide. I got stuck where it wanted the IP address of my server. I have 3 PCs behind a router and a DSL modem - they get their IP addresses automatically.
Howard Brazee is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workgroup Manager Bug? lehmanp00 Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 0 Jan 10, 2013 09:50 AM
Workgroup Manager Xed-Out Icons PDtech Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 1 Nov 28, 2012 09:52 PM
Not able to login in workgroup manager cswitu OS X 0 Oct 18, 2012 06:38 AM
Mac network sharing: NetBIOS and workgroup question hungry ghost Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Sep 27, 2012 08:40 AM
Problems making changes in Workgroup manager broennimann Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 1 Jul 14, 2012 03:17 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC