Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 17, 2003, 12:29 AM   #1
Eckslusive
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
PB Ram

Hey I have the TiPB 500 and I have 2 sticks of 256. And its kinda slow when loading X, Word, Photoshop. So I was wondering if it would have made a big difference if I have 768MB or 1GB of ram..or will it just help a "bit".
Eckslusive is offline   0
Old May 17, 2003, 12:33 AM   #2
ibookin'
macrumors 65816
 
ibookin''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
OS X loves RAM, so it would probably be worth it to go to 768 or 1GB. I've seen 1GB kits (2x512) for about $140 on http://www.pricewatch.com
__________________
13" MacBook Air 1.7GHz i5
17" MacBook Pro 2.6GHz Hi-Res
iPhone 6 64GB Silver
ibookin' is offline   0
Old May 17, 2003, 12:33 AM   #3
patrick0brien
macrumors 68040
 
patrick0brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The West Loop
Send a message via AIM to patrick0brien Send a message via Yahoo to patrick0brien
-Eckslusive

Well, a "bit" is a teensy 'bit' relative, but more RAM is always a good thing.

You would notice a speedup...
__________________
This comment has been edited for Content, Formatted to Fit Your Screen and to Run in the Time Allotted
patrick0brien is offline   0
Old May 17, 2003, 12:40 AM   #4
Eckslusive
Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
okay then I'll buy 2 512MB ones...I just wanted to ask..Whats the cheap price for ram now-a-days? Would ebay be a good place to look?
Eckslusive is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
last minute decision; 21''/3.1Ghz i7/ 16gb RAM/ 512 flash. Do I need 32gb RAM 27''? bluesnina iMac 10 Feb 10, 2014 07:57 PM
Resolved: Does macbook (late 2007) support a maximum of 4gb RAM or 6gb RAM? ItsDaKronic MacBook 2 Sep 18, 2013 08:06 AM
Upgrading from 1x1GB 200pin 1067Mhz RAM to 4x4GB 1333Mhz 204pin RAM aningbo MacBook Pro 10 Jul 7, 2013 07:07 PM
i want any app to test my ram new ram and old ram TT1TT Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jul 12, 2012 05:09 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC