Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 20, 2007, 06:47 AM   #1
R.Youden
macrumors 68020
 
R.Youden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
CanoScan N1220U on OS X

I have the CanoScan N1220U and I think it is a great little scanner. It is the good end of 6 years old but still gives good quality. I just can't get the dam thing to work with OSX! Canon have provided a driver but when that is downloaded I am not 100% sure of where to install in. I am supposed to be able to use this scanner with Image Capture. I am running 10.4.8. I know I can use VueScan but I really don't fancy paying for something to use a product that I have already paid for!
R.Youden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2007, 11:32 AM   #2
twdawson
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Dont know about your scanner but i have the 670U cannon, whaen i downloaded the driver for osx and installed it, it did a search for install locations and found where to put it in photoshop and then the scanner worked without trouble.

You could try that if yu have photoshop, someone else may be able to advise you further.
twdawson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2007, 03:49 PM   #3
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by R.Youden View Post
... Canon have provided a driver but when that is downloaded I am not 100% sure of where to install in. ...
It has an installer. Run it.
__________________
Neither a borrower nor a lender be
For loan oft loses both itself and friend
William Shakespeare from Hamlet
MisterMe is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2007, 06:27 PM   #4
Dreadnought
macrumors 68000
 
Dreadnought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
If you have Photoshop, you can use it and install the driver/plugin for that. Works perfectly with os X. I have the 650 myself.
__________________
Fold with our MacRumors folding@home team and I dare you to fold with us and catch up with me if you can! Also, we have our own folding widget
Dreadnought is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2007, 06:43 PM   #5
cb31
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
I have a N1220U and it works fine in Photoshop with the Canon driver but that is about it as far as I can work out. I would love to use the copy function that works in windows but the toolbox seems not to be available in OS X.

If you ever find out how to get the copy function going put it on here and send me a pm. Good luck.

ps. I have an Intel iMac if that is relevant.
cb31 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CanoScan 9950F and Mountain Lion cjd Mac Peripherals 13 Nov 18, 2014 12:40 PM
CanoScan LiDE 90 won't load from disc into iMac deGenova Mac Basics and Help 6 Mar 11, 2014 06:15 AM
installing software Canoscan 9900f on Leopard Grunthaner PowerPC Macs 4 Mar 19, 2013 07:19 PM
10.8.2 Mountain Lion with Canoscan LiDE 500F dick888 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Feb 2, 2013 04:26 PM
Canoscan LiDE 500f Koll Mac Peripherals 4 Nov 13, 2012 07:43 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC