Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 22, 2007, 04:38 PM   #1
greenwrangler
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Powerbook G4 memory question

Hello everyone,

I have a PowerBook G4 that has 512mb of RAM. It has a single stick of that ram and the other slot is free. So, I wanted to upgrade this by adding another 256mb stick that I took out from my wife's new MacBook C2D (Upgrded hers by replacing one 256m stick with a 1gb stick). I am not entirely sure whether those RAM sticks are compatible with my older PB model. So, I wanted to check here before opening my PB and experimenting and if that is safe? Any inputs?

Thanks.
greenwrangler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2007, 04:43 PM   #2
swiftaw
macrumors 603
 
swiftaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
I always use these guys to check out memory compatibility
http://otherworldcomputing.com/
swiftaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2007, 04:46 PM   #3
WildCowboy
Administrator/Editor
 
WildCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
The MacBook RAM won't work in the PowerBook...two very different types of RAM.

As swiftaw said, check the memory wizard at OWC (or DMS) to see what you need to use in your machine.
__________________
Editor in Chief, MacRumors
WildCowboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2007, 05:20 PM   #4
greenwrangler
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Thanks for the quick responses, switaw and WildCowboy.

When you say different types of RAM, how different does it mean? I think MB C2D is a DDR2 and the PB one is a DDR. I think they might be pin compatible though. So, the question becomes, are DDR and DDR2 so different that it wont even work (and could it damage something if I tried?) or is it simply a matter of the DDR2 stick running at a reduced speed (which I can live with instead of wasting the 256mb stick as right now).

Thanks again.
greenwrangler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2007, 05:23 PM   #5
WildCowboy
Administrator/Editor
 
WildCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
No, they are not pin-compatible.

Edit: Found the below comparison image on this page...

Click image for larger version

Name:	keysplit.gif
Views:	6
Size:	51.8 KB
ID:	66705
__________________
Editor in Chief, MacRumors

Last edited by WildCowboy; Jan 22, 2007 at 05:30 PM.
WildCowboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2007, 05:32 PM   #6
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenwrangler View Post
Tare DDR and DDR2 so different that it wont even work
Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenwrangler View Post
(and could it damage something if I tried?)
Depends on how hard you tried to shove it into the socket

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenwrangler View Post
or is it simply a matter of the DDR2 stick running at a reduced speed (which I can live with instead of wasting the 256mb stick as right now).
Nope. That li'l extra "2" is pretty significant, kinda like the difference between H2O (water) and H2O2 (peroxide) - you don;t want to mix them up.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2007, 05:45 PM   #7
greenwrangler
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by WildCowboy View Post
No, they are not pin-compatible.
Got it! Thanks for the image as well... Wow... those pins are soooo close.. its easy to think they are exactly same.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM View Post
Yes


Depends on how hard you tried to shove it into the socket


Nope. That li'l extra "2" is pretty significant, kinda like the difference between H2O (water) and H2O2 (peroxide) - you don;t want to mix them up.
Thanks CanadaRAM. I wont even try.
greenwrangler is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerBook G4 display issues alew!mac920 PowerPC Macs 2 Aug 9, 2011 04:25 AM
iMac G4 Upgrade Question Cuba46 iMac 3 Feb 2, 2011 02:01 PM
Powerbook G4 memory question V Silly PowerPC Macs 0 Jan 8, 2009 11:58 AM
powerbook g4 memory question coneman5259 PowerPC Macs 2 May 1, 2008 06:54 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC