Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 31, 2007, 09:24 AM   #1
Diatribe
macrumors 601
 
Diatribe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Back in the motherland
Does the Shuffle update playcounts?

I, Mitthrawnuruodo and probably others are wondering whether the Shuffle updates the playcount.

Some people say it does, some say it doesn't. For those who actually have a Shuffle and have tried it, does the Suffle update the playcount or does it not?
__________________
Knowledge - fueled by curiosity
Mac Beginner's Guide | My Adium Xtras
Diatribe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2007, 10:09 AM   #2
zephead
macrumors 68000
 
zephead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: in your pants
When I had a 1st gen Shuffle, it updated the play counts. It didn't make the last played time correct though; the last played would be whatever time I updated it. I imagine the 2nd gen Shuffle would update the play counts as well, though I can't say for sure.
__________________
California sunlight, Sweet Calcutta rain, Honolulu starbright, The Song Remains the Same....
13" MacBook Pro 2.4GHz/250/4/10.6.5/ ~ iPhone 3G/16/4.0
zephead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2007, 12:49 PM   #3
ftaok
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diatribe View Post
I, Mitthrawnuruodo and probably others are wondering whether the Shuffle updates the playcount.

Some people say it does, some say it doesn't. For those who actually have a Shuffle and have tried it, does the Suffle update the playcount or does it not?
I've a 512MB 1G Shuffle and it sorta updates the playcount. I found that sometimes it would and sometimes it wouldn't. I tracked it down to whether or not I had modified the playlist before connecting the Shuffle. If I left the playlist alone, the playcount would update correctly, but if I modified the list, the playcount would not update.

Thus, I trained my self to always plug the Shuffle in update the playcount. Then I would unplug the Shuffle. Modify the playlist. Then plug the Shuffle back in.

ft
ftaok is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2007, 02:13 AM   #4
Diatribe
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Diatribe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Back in the motherland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ftaok View Post
I've a 512MB 1G Shuffle and it sorta updates the playcount. I found that sometimes it would and sometimes it wouldn't. I tracked it down to whether or not I had modified the playlist before connecting the Shuffle. If I left the playlist alone, the playcount would update correctly, but if I modified the list, the playcount would not update.

Thus, I trained my self to always plug the Shuffle in update the playcount. Then I would unplug the Shuffle. Modify the playlist. Then plug the Shuffle back in.

ft
Ah, good to know, thank you. Do you know whether it also happens when you fill it randomly?
__________________
Knowledge - fueled by curiosity
Mac Beginner's Guide | My Adium Xtras
Diatribe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2007, 05:47 AM   #5
ftaok
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diatribe View Post
Ah, good to know, thank you. Do you know whether it also happens when you fill it randomly?
I think so. If the playlist gets changed before plugging in the Shuffle, it never updated the playcount. I haven't really checked in a long time, so I don't know if an update took care of that.

ft
ftaok is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2007, 07:09 AM   #6
Diatribe
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Diatribe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Back in the motherland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ftaok View Post
I think so. If the playlist gets changed before plugging in the Shuffle, it never updated the playcount. I haven't really checked in a long time, so I don't know if an update took care of that.

ft
Just to make sure I undestand that correctly, whenever you change the list of songs that is on the iPod or whenever a song changes (playcount, rating, etc.) that happens to be on the Shuffle?

So if I leave the source list alone (Shuffle) then I am fine?

I guess I'll check it out, it is just gonna be for workouts anyway. Still I'd like the updated playcounts, would be nice.
__________________
Knowledge - fueled by curiosity
Mac Beginner's Guide | My Adium Xtras
Diatribe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2007, 11:07 AM   #7
ftaok
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diatribe View Post
Just to make sure I undestand that correctly, whenever you change the list of songs that is on the iPod or whenever a song changes (playcount, rating, etc.) that happens to be on the Shuffle?

So if I leave the source list alone (Shuffle) then I am fine?

I guess I'll check it out, it is just gonna be for workouts anyway. Still I'd like the updated playcounts, would be nice.
Sorry for the ambiguity.

By Playlist, I mean the iPod Shuffle Source List (I had forgotten the official name). So to break it down starting with a blank Shuffle. I have iTunes set to keep "Frank's iPod Shuffle" on iTuens when not plugged in.

1. I plug in the Shuffle and the add songs.

2. I unplug it and listen to music on the Shuffle.

3. I plug it back in and playcounts are updated.

If I change the source list around in between steps 2 and 3, the playcount doesn't update. And by changing, I mean rearranging, resorting, or replacing any songs in the source list. Playing a song that's also in my source list with iTunes does not affect the Shuffle playcount updating.

I hope that clears it up a little more.

ft
ftaok is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2007, 04:09 AM   #8
Diatribe
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Diatribe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Back in the motherland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ftaok View Post
Sorry for the ambiguity.

By Playlist, I mean the iPod Shuffle Source List (I had forgotten the official name). So to break it down starting with a blank Shuffle. I have iTunes set to keep "Frank's iPod Shuffle" on iTuens when not plugged in.

1. I plug in the Shuffle and the add songs.

2. I unplug it and listen to music on the Shuffle.

3. I plug it back in and playcounts are updated.

If I change the source list around in between steps 2 and 3, the playcount doesn't update. And by changing, I mean rearranging, resorting, or replacing any songs in the source list. Playing a song that's also in my source list with iTunes does not affect the Shuffle playcount updating.

I hope that clears it up a little more.

ft

Yeah it does. Thanks a lot.

This isn't too bad, just requires some discipline about not changing before plugging in. Thanks again for the explanation.
__________________
Knowledge - fueled by curiosity
Mac Beginner's Guide | My Adium Xtras
Diatribe is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the new update today include drivers for the newest MacBook pro's nippyjun MacBook Pro 3 Mar 21, 2011 08:54 PM
Does the carrier update affect yellowsnow? jgunn Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Feb 8, 2009 10:53 AM
Does the Shuffle have good sound quality? Wolfpup iPod 18 Jan 1, 2008 11:25 AM
Does the Shuffle hold exactly 1GB or is it a little less? MK25toLife iPod 5 Dec 3, 2007 08:38 AM
Does the Shuffle have to be "linked" to a specific computer? hikeNM iPod 11 Apr 29, 2005 11:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC