Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Old Feb 2, 2007, 05:45 AM   #1
Isobel
macrumors newbie

Backup to server

Hi,
I'm new to AppleScript and I need to know how to backup all files in a folder to a shared network volume.

Can anyone help or point me in the right direction.

I need to find out how to:
- connect to a shared volume on a remote server,
- create a new folder on the shared volume,
- re-name it with the current date (preferrably formatted as YYYY-MM-DD),
- copy the contents of a local folder to it
- delete oldest folder on volume
- un-mount the volume

Any help at all would be very much appreciated.
Thanks
Isobel
Isobel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2007, 10:49 AM   #2
ChrisA
macrumors G4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Isobel View Post
Hi,
I'm new to AppleScript and I need to know how to backup all files in a folder to a shared network volume.
Does this have to be done in AppleScript?

Is the network drive mounted before the script runs or does the script need to mount the network drive?
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2007, 12:22 PM   #3
jeremy.king
macrumors 603

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisA View Post
Does this have to be done in AppleScript?
Good point, I would think a shell script is a better idea.
jeremy.king is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2007, 03:51 AM   #4
Isobel
macrumors newbie

The files to be backed up are on a G5 iMac. I thought Applescript was the best way to go but I could be wrong (I'm a beginner here).

I would prefer it if the code mounted the drive IF it's not already mounted, then un-mount it at the end.

Should i be using a shell script instead?
Isobel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2007, 01:05 PM   #5
mbabauer
macrumors regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by Isobel View Post