Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 2, 2007, 09:30 PM   #1
MSM Hobbes
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NE Hoosierana
'new' refurbed 5th Gen iPod - 'update' & 'restore' Windows on iMac

Just received refurbed iPod

However, when plugged into the 24" C2D iMac for the 1st time, I have the following:

- installed the iPod + iTunes CD s/w
- already have iTunes, v. 7.0.2, w/ many good tunes awaiting to meet iPod
- a screen popped up, "About iPod Updater"
- another little screen appeared, showing the name, s/w version, serial number, capacity, used, free, and,,, format [Windows ]
- within this last mentioned screen, there are two options:
(a) 'update' - 'only Macintosh formatted iPods can be updated', selection unavailable
(b) 'restore' - 'click restore to restore your iPod to its factory settings'

The iPod itself is awaiting quite patiently, w/ the red slash no symbol flashing above the dire warning 'do NOT disconnect'.

So, do I want this to be windows or Mac formatted? Any difference? From what I've read, it should be happier being Mac formatted - right?

But - how in hades can I make this lovely black beauty be on the side of light and right, become Macintosh formatted?
__________________
24" C2D iMac; 15" MBP i7
64GB iPod Touch; 64GB iPad2; White iPhone 4S 64GB
Canon 50D, Tokina 116 AT-X, Canon 70-200 f/4 IS L & 17-55 & 28-135 & 55-250
MSM Hobbes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2007, 12:21 AM   #2
MSM Hobbes
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NE Hoosierana
Well, guess that just by selecting the 'restore' button, the iPod was able to detect from after that that it was attached to an Apple - all seems to be good; the songs are d/l, the Summary screen says its Macintosh formatted...

And!!! iStat Pro shows the iPod too...
__________________
24" C2D iMac; 15" MBP i7
64GB iPod Touch; 64GB iPad2; White iPhone 4S 64GB
Canon 50D, Tokina 116 AT-X, Canon 70-200 f/4 IS L & 17-55 & 28-135 & 55-250
MSM Hobbes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2007, 01:33 AM   #3
Blubbert
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
That whole Windows formated and Macintosh formated applies to the formating of the disk. Windows cannot read HFS+ which is the default disk formating for the Mac, so instead it uses FAT32.
Blubbert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2007, 01:40 AM   #4
Jasonbot
macrumors 68020
 
Jasonbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Rainbow Nation RSA
Send a message via AIM to Jasonbot Send a message via MSN to Jasonbot
If you format it in windows then you cannot update it in OSX.
__________________
[insert apple related products here]
Jasonbot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2007, 02:44 PM   #5
lozanoj83
macrumors 6502a
 
lozanoj83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Southern California
Send a message via AIM to lozanoj83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonbot View Post
If you format it in windows then you cannot update it in OSX.
Not true!
I update my friends iPod and his Windows formated!
__________________
iMac 27", 3.4 GHz i7 quad-core, 16GB RAM, 1TB Fusion
MacBook Air 1.8GHz i5, 8GB, 128GB
iPad 4, 32GB
iPhone 5, 64GB
lozanoj83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2007, 10:58 PM   #6
MSM Hobbes
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NE Hoosierana
Yea, thanks - I know the difference between the different formats, which is then why I was concerned that I was not able to select the Macintosh "update" version, just the Windows "reformat" version. But, as said in the 2nd post, the iPod was 'somehow' formatted to the correct [ie: Apple] version, even tho' I could only select the Windows route. In any case, all is good...
__________________
24" C2D iMac; 15" MBP i7
64GB iPod Touch; 64GB iPad2; White iPhone 4S 64GB
Canon 50D, Tokina 116 AT-X, Canon 70-200 f/4 IS L & 17-55 & 28-135 & 55-250
MSM Hobbes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2007, 11:27 AM   #7
Jasonbot
macrumors 68020
 
Jasonbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Rainbow Nation RSA
Send a message via AIM to Jasonbot Send a message via MSN to Jasonbot
Quote:
Originally Posted by lozanoj83
Not true!
I update my friends iPod and his Windows formated!
By update I mean software update not music synching.
__________________
[insert apple related products here]
Jasonbot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2007, 05:10 PM   #8
lozanoj83
macrumors 6502a
 
lozanoj83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Southern California
Send a message via AIM to lozanoj83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonbot View Post
By update I mean software update not music synching.
Oh ok, I tought you meant updating music.. but for the software, your right on the marker
__________________
iMac 27", 3.4 GHz i7 quad-core, 16GB RAM, 1TB Fusion
MacBook Air 1.8GHz i5, 8GB, 128GB
iPad 4, 32GB
iPhone 5, 64GB
lozanoj83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2007, 09:07 PM   #9
mrgreen4242
macrumors 601
 
mrgreen4242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
I like to format my iPod(s) in Windows/FAT32 just so it can act as a drive on pretty much any computer with a USB port. That's just me, though.
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1, 8x2.26ghz, 10gb, 128gb SSD, 2x750gb (RAID1), 2tb, ATI6750
iPad air 64gb wifi - 16gb iPhone 5s - AppleTV3
mrgreen4242 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2007, 07:48 PM   #10
tangerineyum
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ontario, CA
Send a message via AIM to tangerineyum
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgreen4242 View Post
I like to format my iPod(s) in Windows/FAT32 just so it can act as a drive on pretty much any computer with a USB port. That's just me, though.

is there a way to format a mac ipod to a windows ipod from a mac ?
__________________
MacMini 2.5Ghz i5, iPhone 5 White 16Gb
tangerineyum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2007, 01:41 AM   #11
zephead
macrumors 68000
 
zephead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: in your pants
Maybe you could format it as FAT32 in Disk Utility? I'm not exactly sure how that would work out with the iPod OS and all, but that's the only way I could think of.
__________________
California sunlight, Sweet Calcutta rain, Honolulu starbright, The Song Remains the Same....
13" MacBook Pro 2.4GHz/250/4/10.6.5/ ~ iPhone 3G/16/4.0
zephead is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General: iPod touch 5th gen jb, iPod disabled connect to iTunes issue... Truefan31 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 May 26, 2014 05:39 PM
iPod 5th gen topdudealan iPod touch 1 Jul 26, 2013 01:43 PM
iPod Touch 4th gen vs 5th gen? jread iPod touch 18 Jul 15, 2013 02:35 AM
iPod Touch 4th Gen Or 5th Gen? Goftrey iPod touch 8 Sep 22, 2012 09:23 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC