Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

:DRS:Church

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 6, 2006
Gonna be getting a new laptop soon and I was thinking about a refurb MBP. Does the C2D have any REAL advantage over the CD? I am a photographer by trade and do video stuff from time to time. I am just not sure the C2D is worth the extra few hundred bucks. Thanks for your time.

psycoswimmer

macrumors 65816
Sep 27, 2006
USA
Just had another question like this, next time maybe try a search of the forums before starting a new topic, thanks! :)

If it'll save you extra money that you really need, no it's not worth it. However, it'll future proof your Mac more, as it gives 64-bit compatibility (which Leopard may utilize) and a slight preformance increase.

insomniac321123

macrumors 6502
Jan 23, 2006
In my opinion, its worth it. It will help with the video work you do. And, considering that it is 64-bit compatible as is leapord, it is kind of future-proofing to get the C2D.

g808

macrumors regular
Oct 6, 2003
Bay Area, CA
Do a search for previous opinions on this. I would think for heavy media (ex. video) editing the C2D would be worth the extra few hundred.

However, I just bought a 17" core duo (2.16GHz, 1GB RAM, 120GB HDD) for $1799, brand new. I couldn't pass up that deal. I didn't think the new C2D 17" was worth an extra $1000. Got the last one in stock at my local Micro Center. So far, the CD is pretty fast for me. I'm coming from a 17" 1.33GHz PowerBook, and use it for work and personal. I just loaded Parallels with XP Pro for those pesky Windoze apps that I need (ex. MS Project). Not regretting going with "older" model at all.

dreamfocused

macrumors member
Jan 14, 2007
Toronto