Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 19, 2007, 11:02 AM   #1
CompSavyLaddy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Video Editing Using an External Hard Drive & Final Cut Pro

I am trying to use my external hard drive (Western Digital 250GB 72000RM Firewire) for video editing (Final Cut Pro) on my laptop ( iBook G4).

I purchased the external hard drive to give me more space for the purpose of video editing and the external hard drive is connected by firewire to my laptop. When I connect my miniDV JVC camcorder to the external to begin the editing process I connect it via firewire as well. When I open the editing application and begin to log my video it at undetermined times freezes and the sound begins to skip like a CD and the rainbow ball displays showing that the program is working. The sound stops, but the ball continues spinning and when I go to the icon on the dock to "force quit" it has in the menu as well "application not responding".

Does anyone know why I'm encounterting this situation or issue and what am I doing wrong?

Has anyone experienced this as well and if so please lend your expertise and opions for resolution. Thanking you in advance.
CompSavyLaddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 11:15 AM   #2
Mavimao
macrumors 6502a
 
Mavimao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lyon, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by CompSavyLaddy View Post
I am trying to use my external hard drive (Western Digital 250GB 72000RM Firewire) for video editing (Final Cut Pro) on my laptop ( iBook G4).

I purchased the external hard drive to give me more space for the purpose of video editing and the external hard drive is connected by firewire to my laptop. When I connect my miniDV JVC camcorder to the external to begin the editing process I connect it via firewire as well. When I open the editing application and begin to log my video it at undetermined times freezes and the sound begins to skip like a CD and the rainbow ball displays showing that the program is working. The sound stops, but the ball continues spinning and when I go to the icon on the dock to "force quit" it has in the menu as well "application not responding".

Does anyone know why I'm encounterting this situation or issue and what am I doing wrong?

Has anyone experienced this as well and if so please lend your expertise and opions for resolution. Thanking you in advance.
So you have your camera connected to your HD which is in turn connected to your ibook?

I've always been weary of daisy chaining firewire like that, so I've never experimented with it. Could you try just connecting your camera to your computer directly and see if that crashes your program like you describe?
__________________
2.4 Macbook Pro, 200 HD. My last mac was a sawtooth...
Mavimao is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 11:25 AM   #3
CompSavyLaddy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Right, that's how I have it connected. I thought about your suggestion before and didn't know if I would still be able to capture my video if I just plugged the camera into the firewire on the laptop since I was using the external HD and not the laptop HD, but I guess that doesn't matter does it? So, you strongly suggest plugging in the camera to the laptop instead of the external HD? I'll try that and see what my results are. Have you edited using an external HD and if so whats your process? Thanks for your help!
CompSavyLaddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 11:28 AM   #4
Mavimao
macrumors 6502a
 
Mavimao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lyon, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by CompSavyLaddy View Post
Right, that's how I have it connected. I thought about your suggestion before and didn't know if I would still be able to capture my video if I just plugged the camera into the firewire on the laptop since I was using the external HD and not the laptop HD, but I guess that doesn't matter does it? So, you strongly suggest plugging in the camera to the laptop instead of the external HD? I'll try that and see what my results are. Have you edited using an external HD and if so whats your process? Thanks for your help!
Does your laptop have 2 firewire plugs? If so, I would connect your camera into one and the HD into another. That's my setup when I video edit. Before I do anything, I go to the prefs and change all of the rendering, capture settings to an external harddrive. You've done this already, correct?
__________________
2.4 Macbook Pro, 200 HD. My last mac was a sawtooth...
Mavimao is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 11:29 AM   #5
thworple
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sussex, England
I've edited using a Powerbook, and an external Firewire HDD on numerous occasions, and rarely have a problem capturing footage when daisy-chaining them together.

Having said that, problems like this can be common, so do as Mavimao has suggested, and let us know how you get on.
__________________
I've got better things to do tonight than die.....
thworple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 11:32 AM   #6
bobr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madcity......not sure why sometimes...
Same issue when I tried to do that with my PB. Like the others have said, plug it directly into the iBook and be sure to change your Save To preferences to the external and you should be GTG.
__________________
MBP 2.5ghz/2008 MP/Mac Mini/Multiple ATV's/1st Gen iPad/iPhone 3G
bobr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 11:39 AM   #7
CompSavyLaddy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Thank you all for your suggestions and opinons; very informative. 1.) I don't have two firewires on my laptop, only one so I guess daisy-chaining is my only option and 2.) I don't believe that I have changed my rendering preferenses and where do I go to do this and does doing this only apply if I wasn't doing the daisy-chaining or do I do this regardless? Thanking you in advance.
CompSavyLaddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 11:43 AM   #8
emac82
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NB, Canada
You could buy a Firewire Hub...Like a 3-port one, and that would also solve your problem. Belkin, or IOGear makes some nice ones..
emac82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 11:48 AM   #9
bobr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madcity......not sure why sometimes...
Does the external also have USB 2.0? I'm guessing your iBooks HD isn't big enough to temp hold the vid you want to import. I don't have FCP so don't know where to change that....
__________________
MBP 2.5ghz/2008 MP/Mac Mini/Multiple ATV's/1st Gen iPad/iPhone 3G
bobr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 11:51 AM   #10
CompSavyLaddy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobr View Post
Does the external also have USB 2.0? I'm guessing your iBooks HD isn't big enough to temp hold the vid you want to import. I don't have FCP so don't know where to change that....
Yes sir my external has 2 firewire so i use one to connect to the laptop and the other to the camera.
CompSavyLaddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 11:51 AM   #11
emac82
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobr View Post
Does the external also have USB 2.0? I'm guessing your iBooks HD isn't big enough to temp hold the vid you want to import. I don't have FCP so don't know where to change that....
I wouldn't recommend USB for video..It is toooooo slow...USB is great for like backing up documents, or something small, but other than that it sucks compared to Firewire.
emac82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 11:55 AM   #12
CompSavyLaddy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Okay, so what are my options based on the information I have supplied? I don't know what to do because I'm becoming discouraged and I don't want to get a hub because I don't think I need one. I just want to know why I'm having this issue when I know the external is capable and everything else such as the software is working properly.
CompSavyLaddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 11:55 AM   #13
bobr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madcity......not sure why sometimes...
I know it's not great. My thought was that he could save it to the internal drive and then copy it over?

Any I was wondering if the external had (IN ADDITION TO THE FW,) USB 2.0. Alot of drives do and he could at least try it if it does..........
__________________
MBP 2.5ghz/2008 MP/Mac Mini/Multiple ATV's/1st Gen iPad/iPhone 3G
bobr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 11:57 AM   #14
CompSavyLaddy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
The external is both usb and firewire but I only have 14GB on my laptop.
CompSavyLaddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 12:00 PM   #15
bobr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madcity......not sure why sometimes...
Quote:
Originally Posted by CompSavyLaddy View Post
Okay, so what are my options based on the information I have supplied? I don't know what to do because I'm becoming discouraged and I don't want to get a hub because I don't think I need one. I just want to know why I'm having this issue when I know the external is capable and everything else such as the software is working properly.
1. Don't become discouraged!!!!
2. How big is your internal and can you copy some files over to the external to make some room? If so, then do that and then import the vid over the iBook's FW port straight from the camera. When you're done, move the project over to the external via FW.
3. I had the same issue and I bet a ton of others have also. The problem I had was getting the PB to see the camera when it was daisy chained to another device.
__________________
MBP 2.5ghz/2008 MP/Mac Mini/Multiple ATV's/1st Gen iPad/iPhone 3G
bobr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 12:03 PM   #16
CompSavyLaddy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Ok, I won't get discouraged. I have this thing about only using the external for video editing and keeping all my personal files and programs on my laptop, because I didn't want to put everything on the external, understand what I mean? And to install FCP completely takes 40GBs so I wouln't be able to do that on my internal because I only have a 60GB with less than that avaiable when I purchased and even less now.
CompSavyLaddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 12:08 PM   #17
bobr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madcity......not sure why sometimes...
I understand about wanting to keep it external. In that case, try the USB 2.0 or you're probably gonna' have to try a FW Hub............
__________________
MBP 2.5ghz/2008 MP/Mac Mini/Multiple ATV's/1st Gen iPad/iPhone 3G
bobr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 12:11 PM   #18
CompSavyLaddy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Try the usb to do what? Connect to the camera or connect to the laptop? What would you say the freezing issue may be coming from that I'm encountering with FCP and using the daisy chain technique?
CompSavyLaddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 12:20 PM   #19
bobr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madcity......not sure why sometimes...
To connect the HD to the laptop (USB 2.0) and the camera to the laptop (FW.) As far as the freezing issue, I was using iMovie so I don't know if it's so much of a SW problem as a HW issue........
__________________
MBP 2.5ghz/2008 MP/Mac Mini/Multiple ATV's/1st Gen iPad/iPhone 3G
bobr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2007, 12:23 PM   #20
CompSavyLaddy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Ok. Now connecting the external via usb makes it slower doesn't it and also I boot up off of my external b/c I have Mac OS X on it along with FCP so connecting with the usb wouldn't be an option b/c it's not going to start up on a usb connection. And I know it's not the sw b/c like I stated ealier I installed the same sw on my someone else's computer and they can use it just fine.
CompSavyLaddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2007, 01:19 PM   #21
Timmy766
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
figure this out?

Hey,

I was just wondering if anyone ever figured out the answer to this problem. I have the exact same issue, same everything, mac, final cut pro, external hard drive, except the camera is a Sony. But that won't make any difference. Just bought the firewire hub (b/c the mac only has one firewire port), and it didn't make any difference, it just keeps spinning, saying "acquiring data space." I am, however able to capture video from the camera and put it on the hard drive of the mac, then save it on the external hard drive. But it seems I should be able to put the data directly on the external hard drive. Anybody ever figure this problem out?

thanks
Timmy766 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2007, 06:59 PM   #22
remmy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
My setup with this is I have everything on the external drive via usb - all documents and music, etc and i use the internal as the scratch disc.

The best setup for the video is a direct connection, this is because it uses the firewire to near capacity i think, also saving this then to a external drive is too slow.

A hub may not be any help as everything still has to go through that one cable into the computer

Afterwards you can copy your scratch files to the external if you wish
remmy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2007, 12:39 AM   #23
Luis Cosme
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Voorhees, New Jersey
The additional firewire port on an external hard drive is made primarily to attach another hard drive to it and in that case you can daisy chain the hard drives. But you should never connect a camera to that additional firewire port on the external hard drive. If you are using Final Cut, and you still need help let me know. Many people have gone through this and there are a lot of solutions posted on Ken's Site. KenStone.net Under (DISCUSSIONS) In the archives.
Luis Cosme is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iTunes Music Video & Final Cut Pro 7 waddington01274 Mac Pro 1 Dec 14, 2013 01:55 PM
ProCutX App to Streamline Final Cut Pro X Editing From Your iPad MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 84 Feb 10, 2013 05:09 PM
iMac - external drive to run with Final Cut Fantola iMac 1 Nov 23, 2012 06:24 PM
Recommend me an external hdd for Final Cut Pro X njmitchel0 Buying Tips and Advice 8 Nov 16, 2012 11:48 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC