Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 12, 2014, 01:52 AM   #1
popaine
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Malta
Macbook Pro 2014 connect to Imac Late 2009

Hi,

I've just bought a Macbook pro and I'm trying to connect it with my old Imac 2009. I've purchased a thunderbolt cable and connected one side via thunderbolt port on the MBP and the other side in the mini display port of the Imac.

Unfortunately when I press CMD+F2 on the imac to use it only as a display screen, nothing happens. Please can you help me sort this issue.

Thanks.
popaine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2014, 10:31 AM   #2
jdphoto
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by popaine View Post
Hi,

I've just bought a Macbook pro and I'm trying to connect it with my old Imac 2009. I've purchased a thunderbolt cable and connected one side via thunderbolt port on the MBP and the other side in the mini display port of the Imac.

Unfortunately when I press CMD+F2 on the imac to use it only as a display screen, nothing happens. Please can you help me sort this issue.

Thanks.
If you are trying to target the old iMac so you can get data off it you are unfortunately out of luck. That iMac only has a display port which is not the same as Thunderbolt. You'll have to use ethernet if you want to do a file & transfer. Or you can put your files on an external hd and transfer them that way.
jdphoto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2014, 02:02 PM   #3
popaine
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Malta
Hi,

What i need is to use the imac as an external (bigger) display of my macbook pro. In a few words, instead of buying an external 27 inch monitor and connect it with my mbp I want to use my imac.
popaine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2014, 02:12 PM   #4
Spink10
macrumors 68030
 
Spink10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/6466546
Spink10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2014, 11:45 AM   #5
popaine
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Malta
both Imac and mbp have the same os 10.9.5 but when i press cmd+f2 nothing happens. I think the best thing is to buy a new monitor (4K) and connect it via HDMI and having a 4k output.
popaine is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC