Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 6, 2007, 07:53 AM   #1
Grasbak
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
720p on iMac G5

I use the mac in my signature to watch TV and DVDs in my lounge. (I am in the UK)

When (hopefully) apple give us movie downloads on iTunes, and presuming you can get these in 720p, will my Mac handle 720pHD? The quicktime site says you need a powermac G5 1.8 or greater - i think mine is a 1.9G5 but is an iMac of course.
__________________
iMac 24" 2.66GHz, iPhone 4S
Grasbak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2007, 11:45 AM   #2
Vidd
macrumors 6502a
 
Vidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Apple host 720p trailers, could you not just test those?
http://www.apple.com/quicktime/guide/hd/
Vidd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2007, 01:18 PM   #3
Grasbak
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
thanks! yes i did think of this in the end!

my comp seems to handle 720p ok in a quicktime window. I noticed more slowdown when running through frontrow....

was hoping to be able to watch movies in the future on this computer @720p but not convinced its good enough. Perhaps i have to make sure no other programs are running and using the CPU. i will do some testing!
__________________
iMac 24" 2.66GHz, iPhone 4S
Grasbak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2007, 01:50 PM   #4
iJawn108
macrumors 65816
 
iJawn108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
i can play 720p on my macbook just fine.
__________________
Eagerly awaiting the new Mac Pro
iJawn108 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2007, 01:56 PM   #5
jdavtz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chester, UK
My iMac G5 2.0GHz plays 720p movie trailers from the Apple website just fine if the settings in System Preferences>Energy Saving are set to "Highest" processor performance. For some reason it stutters a bit if I leave it on "Automatic" - it's like it doesn't realise it needs to ramp up the processor speed, for some reason.

I just leave it on "Highest" performance all the time now (Aperture seems to prefer it too).

Edit: They play just fine full-screen too (using QTPro or VLC - I don't have Front Row on my iMac G5 rev.B)
jdavtz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2007, 02:23 PM   #6
Grasbak
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
wow - I didnt realise about the performance setting - i will give that a whirl
__________________
iMac 24" 2.66GHz, iPhone 4S
Grasbak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2007, 01:42 AM   #7
EM87
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Does anyone know where I can get 720p video other than Apples website?
EM87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
imac g5 video gone bad....capacitor! FIXED morrisroad iMac 9 Nov 21, 2013 12:58 AM
iMac G5, Memory, and Leopard NeverhadaPC iMac 3 Aug 13, 2011 10:58 PM
Finally planning on putting Leopard on iMac G5... nylon PowerPC Macs 2 Jul 3, 2008 02:29 AM
More on iMac G5 media ejection problems; problems reading On... MacBytes MacBytes.com News Discussion 4 Oct 14, 2004 03:12 PM
what do you think stats on imac g5 will be? NusuniAdmin General Mac Discussion 23 Jul 16, 2004 11:07 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC