Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 6, 2007, 07:53 AM   #1
Grasbak
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
720p on iMac G5

I use the mac in my signature to watch TV and DVDs in my lounge. (I am in the UK)

When (hopefully) apple give us movie downloads on iTunes, and presuming you can get these in 720p, will my Mac handle 720pHD? The quicktime site says you need a powermac G5 1.8 or greater - i think mine is a 1.9G5 but is an iMac of course.
__________________
iMac 24" 2.66GHz, iPhone 4S
Grasbak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2007, 11:45 AM   #2
Vidd
macrumors 6502a
 
Vidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Apple host 720p trailers, could you not just test those?
http://www.apple.com/quicktime/guide/hd/
Vidd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2007, 01:18 PM   #3
Grasbak
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
thanks! yes i did think of this in the end!

my comp seems to handle 720p ok in a quicktime window. I noticed more slowdown when running through frontrow....

was hoping to be able to watch movies in the future on this computer @720p but not convinced its good enough. Perhaps i have to make sure no other programs are running and using the CPU. i will do some testing!
__________________
iMac 24" 2.66GHz, iPhone 4S
Grasbak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2007, 01:50 PM   #4
iJawn108
macrumors 65816
 
iJawn108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
i can play 720p on my macbook just fine.
__________________
Eagerly awaiting the new Mac Pro
iJawn108 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2007, 01:56 PM   #5
jdavtz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chester, UK
My iMac G5 2.0GHz plays 720p movie trailers from the Apple website just fine if the settings in System Preferences>Energy Saving are set to "Highest" processor performance. For some reason it stutters a bit if I leave it on "Automatic" - it's like it doesn't realise it needs to ramp up the processor speed, for some reason.

I just leave it on "Highest" performance all the time now (Aperture seems to prefer it too).

Edit: They play just fine full-screen too (using QTPro or VLC - I don't have Front Row on my iMac G5 rev.B)
jdavtz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2007, 02:23 PM   #6
Grasbak
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
wow - I didnt realise about the performance setting - i will give that a whirl
__________________
iMac 24" 2.66GHz, iPhone 4S
Grasbak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2007, 01:42 AM   #7
EM87
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Does anyone know where I can get 720p video other than Apples website?
EM87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
720p on a 1080p TV? Boo! mcaskey OS X 1 Jul 28, 2013 11:55 AM
How is 720p/1080p quality on iMac? nemesis379 iMac 5 Feb 10, 2013 09:33 AM
2011 FaceTime HD 720P? Daniel97 MacBook Air 2 Jun 12, 2012 10:49 AM
G5 with 480p and 720p? wrinkster22 PowerPC Macs 3 Jun 10, 2012 11:18 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC