Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 6, 2007, 07:29 PM   #1
TWLreal
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
TiBook doesn't see any WiFi network

This is the problem:

My friend has an old titanium PowerBook G4 867 MHz. At that time, AirPort was still optional so he never got it.

Fast forward to last year, he bought the AirPort card and installed it himself. There's a small plastic tab that sticks out from the left side of the PowerBook so I guess that's the card.

Up until now, he has never ever been able to connect wireless to anything. He wants me to fix it so I bring it home with me.

The notebook won't see any wireless network at all. I can see 4 different ones including my own network with my MacBook. I'm less than 5 feet away from the router if you're wondering.

The Internet works fine by ethernet.

I suspect he might have fudged the installation of the card. Anything I can do via software or hardware? I see a little round button on the left side which I'm not sure what it is for since I don't want to press it.

Picture attachments to help the diagnostic. I connect manually since I can't see any networks. I either get an error message that says the network doesn't support the kind of encryption I selected, which it does, or I get a wrong password message.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture-1.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	65.6 KB
ID:	69677   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture-2.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	35.2 KB
ID:	69678  
__________________
... ... ...
TWLreal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2007, 07:32 PM   #2
Allotriophagy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
The Airport card is meant to be installed internally, not in the PCMCIA slot...seems like you don't have the aerial plugged in - that is internal too.

The little button is to eject PCMCIA cards from the slot.

Instructions are in the user manual.
Allotriophagy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2007, 07:32 PM   #3
GimmeSlack12
macrumors 603
 
GimmeSlack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
A small plastic tab is sticking out? That isn't right. I say open the Powerbook up and reinstall the Airport Card. It isn't hard to do, just lift up the keyboard like you're installing RAM and make sure the small antennae cord is plugged in.

EDIT: Hahaha, that will be hilarious if this guy stuck the airport card into the PCMCIA slot.
__________________
iMac 24" iBook G4 iPhone 4 iPod 80Gb
GimmeSlack12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2007, 07:38 PM   #4
TWLreal
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Obviously, it's not in the PCMCIA slot. The tab is just near it is all.

How hard is it to take it apart and together? I don't want to ruin it for him.

This is that tab.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2545 (Medium).JPG
Views:	13
Size:	35.4 KB
ID:	69679  
__________________
... ... ...
TWLreal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2007, 07:46 PM   #5
SuperCompu2
macrumors 6502a
 
SuperCompu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: MA
Send a message via AIM to SuperCompu2
I'd check to make sure the Antenna inside is plugged in. (TiBooks are very simple to open, just watch out for the tab near the optical drive, as it can break off easily.)

Also, tuck that tab in. It might be tha someone pulled on the tab, and dislodged the AP card from its socket. Either way, I suggest you open it up.
__________________
MacBook Air 2.13GHz C2D/2GB/128SS/10.8
Canon Rebel XT
MacRumors Scavenger Hunt Score: 1
SuperCompu2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2007, 07:48 PM   #6
TWLreal
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Actually, according to the manual, I need to open up the lower case. I can't access it from the keyboard.

Dang, I don't have a Torx screwdriver.
__________________
... ... ...
TWLreal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2007, 08:18 PM   #7
TWLreal
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Found the screwdriver. Turns out the antenna wasn't plugged in as you guys guessed.

However, I still can't pick up any networks or join manually.

edit: I see it now but it thinks my password is wrong even though it's the right one. What the hell?

Does the AirPort card support WPA2?
__________________
... ... ...

Last edited by TWLreal; Mar 6, 2007 at 08:26 PM.
TWLreal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2007, 08:31 PM   #8
Allotriophagy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWLreal View Post
Does the AirPort card support WPA2?
I don't think so. It also needs a B network to join. G does not work. I have to use standard WEP and mixed mode on my home network just for my TiBook.
Allotriophagy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2007, 08:35 PM   #9
TWLreal
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
That must be it.

Oh well, I fixed it for him at least. But it's still going to be a problem since we're using WPA at work.
__________________
... ... ...
TWLreal is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC Network doesn't always show up in finder ben17487 OS X 0 Jan 14, 2014 03:40 PM
WiFi Sync Doesn't Appear ma1nstr3am OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jul 31, 2013 02:16 PM
safari doesn't update my wifi login information, not the wifi password dingalpha iPhone 1 Feb 8, 2013 11:43 AM
WiFi doesn't ask for password :/ AnorexicPig Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Feb 7, 2013 10:33 PM
iPhone 5 doesn't see network Moneyandmilk iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Sep 28, 2012 04:17 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC