Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

aurora borealis

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 9, 2007
Hello! Here I am, fresh from the primer (I read it twice), but find that I am still not sure that what I have is what I need. I've also done fairly extensive searching on this forum and elsewhere on the Internet. I apologize for asking questions that you guys hear over and over, but as someone mentioned in another post, it's so hard for a total newbie to apply other people's information to their own particular situation. So I am asking your forgiveness in advance. :)

Following is a list of the equipment I already have (not gathered specifically for recording purposes on the Mac; this stuff is actually left over from a talent show that I helped to produce):

Behringer Eurorack MX 802A mixer
Oktava MK-012-01 condenser mic
A cheapo Realistic omnidirectional Highball 2 mic (600 ohms)
Older MIDI keyboard (Casiotone CT-460)
iMac G5 with 1.5 GB of RAM

Here's what I want to do: Record tracks into GarageBand, not simultaneously, from the keyboard, my acoustic guitar, and my very own sub-American-Idol-standard vocal cords.

Do I have what I need or am I missing something? (I would hook it all up and try it, but my iMac's in the shop getting a new logic board, and I'm researching this stuff while I wait.) All the talk about pre-amps and phantom power confuses me, but from what I gather, that's all taken care of with the mixer, is that right? (The mixer does have a phantom power switch, that much I know.)