Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 19, 2007, 08:24 AM   #1
rtdgoldfish
macrumors 6502a
 
rtdgoldfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Tallahassee, FL
My AirPort Express just died...

Title basically explains it all. I used my printer attached to my APE last night. This morning, my MacBook can't find the printer so I go into the hall where the printer is and the green light on the APE is off. I unplugged it and plugged it into another outlet, same thing. Took the extension cable off it and used the little plug, still dead.

Anyone have any ideas?? I tried to reset it using the reset button but that did nothing. I've had this thing since they first came out so the 90 day phone support and 1 year warantee are all gone

If only the TV could be used as a wireless print server, I'd be buying one this week...
__________________
Nothing to see here...Move along...
rtdgoldfish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2007, 08:35 AM   #2
dhc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
I can't offer any advise I'm affraid - but the Airport Express page on the Apple store (UK) is littered with complaints of a similar nature. Sounds like it might just have a limited lifespan (that said, if you got yours when they were released, you've done better than most of those voicing their concerns on the Apple site..)
dhc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2007, 08:38 AM   #3
Malcster
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bristol, UK
No advice to offer im afraid, but your not alone! exactly the same happened to mine, just outside my warranty period and it went dead as a dodo, kaput. Situation sounds identical, nothing i could do would ressurect the poor fella.

I use the new N airport extreme now. Its great apart from the NAS throughput being very poor.
Malcster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2007, 09:29 AM   #4
wPod
macrumors 68000
 
wPod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Denver, CO
a similar thing happened to mine a few months ago. except it was a much slower more painful process. i stream iTunes to mine all the time and for a while it would randomly drop the stream. that got annoying. then within a couple weeks it just stopped. mine was one of the first ones. but i got a new one. ive always consider electronics somewhat disposable. i prefer to upgrade to a new technology when something breaks, so hopefully the next time my airport express breaks there will be a new with with N technology or something.
__________________
15" PB 1.33 Ghz 1.5GB ram, Dell 2005FPW
Mac Mini solo 1.5 Ghz; iPod 10GB 1gen, 20GB 4gen,
80GB 5.5gen, Shuffle 1 gen 512, 2gen 1GB
TV 40GB
wPod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2007, 10:15 AM   #5
rtdgoldfish
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
rtdgoldfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Tallahassee, FL
I'd like to get one of the new AirPort Extreme base stations but I am not ready to drop $179 on one. I don't even have anything that would benefit from having the draft-N spec, I've got the CD MacBook and all of my other wireless devices are 54-G. I guess I'm just going to hook my printer back up directly to my computer and grab an TV whenever they have them in the store.
__________________
Nothing to see here...Move along...
rtdgoldfish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2007, 05:15 AM   #6
doctorj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Hi, same thing happened to me.... I've just shifted house and was trying to get the network happening, -the Airtunes was working but I couldn't get the internet to happen. I finally reset everything and the internet started working.
After about 15 or 20 minutes I heard a little pop sound and then my signal was lost and the light wasn't glowing. I tried plugging it into another power point but to no avail.
I've had it for 18 months.
Can anyone recommend another router that does the same thing-internet and Airtunes??
doctorj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2007, 05:22 AM   #7
Bern
macrumors 68000
 
Bern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Australia
Exact thing happened to me a few months back. I had one of the first APE, it just died exactly as you described. So it does seem they have a limited life span perhaps.
Bern is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2007, 05:38 AM   #8
Rod Rod
macrumors 68020
 
Rod Rod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Isn't it a matter of a bad component, like a capacitor? Might it be as simple as replacing it? That's my best guess. I mean, it's worth checking out if you're out of warranty.

If you got the Airport Express Base Station around the same time as your Mac, and you got AppleCare on your Mac, your Express should be covered too.

Here's a site with an Airport Express dissection.
http://www.vonwentzel.net/ABS/Dissec...ess/index.html
__________________
the year of HD

Last edited by Rod Rod; Mar 20, 2007 at 05:46 AM.
Rod Rod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2008, 08:41 AM   #9
consPiracy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Sorry to bump and old thread.

I've just started having problems with my APX - after what must be easily five years of service! I thought I was having wireless interference issues in my house, but after reading all of these posts I'm not so sure.

This week alone I have had to do a 'hard reset' on the APX box as it's stopped being recognised by my G4 PB. When I go to change the broadcast channel (to 1 or 11) it throws a scranny and stops transmitting, forcing a further hard reset. Thirdly, the Windows XP machine that my partner is running now has trouble getting on t'web with it - it'll connect, accept the WEP key, but says that there is 'limited or no connectivity' (I do suspect that this is a Windows issue, however).

Am I to expect a complete Airport prolapse any time soon? More than likely by what I've read... *grump*
consPiracy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2008, 10:07 AM   #10
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
My understanding is that if you have any mac under warranty still, the Airport station is also under that same warranty.

Or send it to a friend with a warranty and get it replaced!
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance issues when extending airport extreme network with airport express Birkovic Mac Peripherals 17 Sep 1, 2014 08:47 AM
Bridge Mode for Airport Extreme & Airport Express? ssavanna OS X Mavericks (10.9) 7 Apr 1, 2014 10:22 AM
Questions RE: Airport Express (2012) vs. Airport Extreme (2011) warvanov Mac Peripherals 3 Jan 3, 2014 12:15 PM
Streaming live Audio from Airport Extreme to an Airport Express (not iTunes/Airplay) marku5 Mac Peripherals 10 Sep 4, 2013 08:53 AM
Old Airport Express vs. 2012 Airport Express jazz1 Mac Peripherals 2 Jul 3, 2012 08:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC