Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Aniej

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 17, 2006
I have seen a few posts on here that sort of hint around this, but most are either tied to a specific programming language or not very clear. I am brand new to the programming world and wanted to try and play around with it a bit and learn; I'm not looking to become the worlds greatest programmer over night and realize the time involved in becoming proficient, but I read this article by apple scientists use Xcode and decided to finally get my act together and give it a try.

The difficulty I am having is twofold: 1) How do I learn Xcode's different features? The guide provided with it is at least something to work with, but it is pretty confusing and assumes more knowledge. 2) Do I need to learn a certain type of language for xcode, do I need to learn one at all? I am just confused and have no idea where to begin so I begin to feel easily overwhelmed when I sit down and try to take a stab at it each time. I would greatly value specific suggestions that provide such a resources or guide, general answers are really not that helpful for my purposes, although I appreciate your interest in helping. :apple:

lazydog

macrumors 6502a
Sep 3, 2005
Cramlington, UK
Hi

I'm probably not going to be of much help but…

If you want to get into scientific apps how about you learn C first. Go into Xcode, create a new project by selecting 'Command Line Utility/Standard Tool'. Keep it simple at first. If you have data that needs processing, read it in from a file, process it and then write the results out to another file. You will be able to write a lot of useful stuff that runs on the command line.

There are loads of good books on C… but I can't think of any at the moment since it's so long since I picked one up!