Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 24, 2007, 10:37 PM   #1
aristobrat
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Anyone else got SSH working?

I was wondering if anyone else was following the thread over at Something Awful?
http://forums.somethingawful.com/sho...readid=2391956

I've ripped mine apart, compiled the dropbear ssh client and copied it over, but have had no luck getting anything from the fw script running.
aristobrat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2007, 11:12 PM   #2
localoid
macrumors 68020
 
localoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: America's Third World
I don't have an tv to play with, but I'll offer this suggestion:

You might want to try looking on page #4 of that discussion, and scroll about halfway down the page to the "Launchbear not necessary anymore" post and try that technique.

That method looks to be a much 'cleaner' way of getting a SSH daemon running since it uses Apple's ver., and the machine's OSX config's files to startup the daemon.
localoid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2007, 11:21 PM   #3
aristobrat
Thread Starter
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
I've been able to get SSHD running on the TV with that method, but I'm unable to connect.

Meaning if I telnet to port 22, it identifies itself as the SSHD, but if I try to connect like this, it immediately disconnects me:
ssh -l frontrow@AppleTV.local

I've tried the usual variations of that string, but no luck. Downloaded dropbear, installed the XCode stuff, compiled it, moved it over, but not able to get it started. It's like the tv is totally ignoring the fw LaunchDaemon.

I'm pretty good with Linux, but totally new to how OS X handles things (I miss my rc.d way of starting stuff), so this is a great learning experience. (Or at least that's what I keep telling myself).
aristobrat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2007, 11:52 PM   #4
localoid
macrumors 68020
 
localoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: America's Third World
Quote:
Originally Posted by aristobrat View Post
I've been able to get SSHD running on the TV with that method, but I'm unable to connect.

Meaning if I telnet to port 22...
"Telnet"???

SSH is on port 22... Telnet is port 23... You are trying this using a SSH client, right?

....edit.....

Oh never-mind, I see you are...
localoid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2007, 11:58 PM   #5
aristobrat
Thread Starter
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
You know how you can use telnet to connect to *any* remote port to see if it's listening?

When I couldn't get the ssh client to connect, I used telnet to verify that port 22 was actually open and the sshd on the AppleTV was listening.

Looks like the problem was because I thought it was "ssh -l frontrow@appletv.local" ... it's not -l, it's -1.

Sometimes I amaze even myself.
aristobrat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2007, 12:05 AM   #6
localoid
macrumors 68020
 
localoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: America's Third World
Quote:
Originally Posted by aristobrat View Post
I've been able to get SSHD running on the TV with that method, but I'm unable to connect.

Meaning if I telnet to port 22, it identifies itself as the SSHD, but if I try to connect like this, it immediately disconnects me:
ssh -l frontrow@AppleTV.loca
It's going to be a #$#@ to tell much if you can't get to a bash prompt... to bad USB isn't working yet. A keyboard on the local machine would help!

Err... take it apart and recheck the startup script and any special permissions it might need? Let me look at that thread again... maybe someone else in tha t thread had a similar problem getting SSHD to startup...
localoid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2007, 12:18 AM   #7
localoid
macrumors 68020
 
localoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: America's Third World
Quote:
Originally Posted by aristobrat View Post
You know how you can use telnet to connect to *any* remote port to see if it's listening?

When I couldn't get the ssh client to connect, I used telnet to verify that port 22 was actually open and the sshd on the AppleTV was listening.

Looks like the problem was because I thought it was "ssh -l frontrow@appletv.local" ... it's not -l, it's -1.

Sometimes I amaze even myself.
Gessh... I didn't notice the "L" vs. "ONE"... Ack! Probably would have in terminal...

Don't you hate rich text sometimes?

Let us know how your "grand experiment" progresses! It's about 200 miles from here to the nearest store w/one available or I'd probably be playing with one now... but then I really don't have a great deal of time for "playing" anymore. I'm been doing Linux since '95... been using it for anything and everything server related since... OS X is the desktop Linux should be, however!
localoid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2007, 12:26 AM   #8
aristobrat
Thread Starter
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Quote:
Originally Posted by localoid View Post
Let us know how your "grand experiment" progresses!
Definitely will do!

Thanks for keeping me company as I borked through all of that.

Now to drop the Perian codecs on the tv and see how well it plays DivX files.

Well, maybe not now. I'm pooped.
aristobrat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2007, 12:33 AM   #9
localoid
macrumors 68020
 
localoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: America's Third World
Quote:
Originally Posted by aristobrat View Post
Definitely will do!

Thanks for keeping me company as I borked through all of that.

Now to drop the Perian codecs on the tv and see how well it plays DivX files.

Well, maybe not now. I'm pooped.
Cool! I'm interesting in hearing what you find out... I'd be interesting in using one of these little boxes to run Apache, PHP and MySQL... Linux will do fine w/256M RAM for a development environment, i.e, a single user. but OSX seems to run MySQL slower vs. similar PCs running Linux. Still I'd like to replace this aging old PIII with something much smaller and more quiet... so I could live with a little bit of slowness.
localoid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2007, 12:50 AM   #10
aristobrat
Thread Starter
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
I've been thinking about the exact same thing.

Hopefully they'll figure out how to get around the Watchdog process that insists that the custom GUI must be running.

I guess the wiki is where they're updating everything now vs. the thread.
http://wiki.awkwardtv.org
aristobrat is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ssh server. How to block all internet traffic except ssh? Mikehuang OS X Mavericks (10.9) 3 Mar 30, 2014 08:55 PM
SSH Control - ssh/telnet remote control app for iOS Velestar iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Jan 23, 2014 03:43 AM
SSH Help tulipano iPad 0 Aug 25, 2012 09:24 PM
SSH Not Working on Mac macuser1232 Mac Programming 2 Aug 25, 2012 12:28 AM
Im new. Need help with SSH bclizzle Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Jun 6, 2012 09:47 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC