Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 26, 2007, 07:19 PM   #1
Adoni
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Apple Tellie off or how this Fargin' Bastage is in heat

So I turn this sonAmonAbatch off, the iMac is sleeping with iTunes off.

Now I come home to a red light beaming from the optical digital audio port and the TV is warm as all hell and then some.

What's the deal, am I turning this thing off the right way or am I NOT "turning it on", hence the "I aint had some in a while" red hate?
Adoni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2007, 07:21 PM   #2
GimmeSlack12
macrumors 603
 
GimmeSlack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
Hahaha, what language are you speaking?

Turn your TV on, and shut down the TV through the interface.
__________________
iMac 24" iBook G4 iPhone 4 iPod 80Gb
GimmeSlack12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2007, 07:23 PM   #3
TheAnswer
macrumors 68030
 
TheAnswer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orange County, CA
As I understand it, you can put the tv into standby mode by holding down the play button on the remote (much as you would do with the iPod).

Can't really understand the iMac part of the question. Could you be more clear on the problem there?
TheAnswer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2007, 07:28 PM   #4
Adoni
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by GimmeSlack12 View Post
Hahaha, what language are you speaking?

Turn your TV on, and shut down the TV through the interface.
I am speakin' in an extremely stereotypical AAAYtalian Johnny of the Phackin' dangerously clan mixed in with a very GREEN and oh so new MAC user that decided to purchase one of these here thingies.

So, if you can be so kind as to giving me a quick "how to shut this sonAmonAbatch off" it would turn out to be nice you...
Adoni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2007, 07:30 PM   #5
Adoni
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheAnswer View Post
As I understand it, you can put the tv into standby mode by holding down the play button on the remote (much as you would do with the iPod).

Can't really understand the iMac part of the question. Could you be more clear on the problem there?
I put it on standby as you said above, but the machine heats up regardless... the reason I mention the iMac is because the TV will turn on when changes are made to iTunes so I wanted to be clear that iTunes was off.
Adoni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2007, 07:40 PM   #6
n-abounds
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
there should be a newbie filter that doesn't allow people like this

n-abounds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2007, 07:51 PM   #7
Adoni
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by n-abounds View Post
there should be a newbie filter that doesn't allow people like this

There should also be a filter that doesn't allow you to prevent newbies from asking "people like this" questions.

You have an issue with my humor/questions, simple resolution, don't reply. How do you like dem "Apples".

The reason, I hope, a forum like this has newbies is because they are just THAT, new to Mac.

Now I see your answer didn't help me much, but it did give me a chance to use that Apple line I've been wanting to for a while now.
Adoni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2007, 08:14 PM   #8
acearchie
macrumors 68030
 
acearchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adoni View Post
There should also be a filter that doesn't allow you to prevent newbies from asking "people like this" questions.

You have an issue with my humor/questions, simple resolution, don't reply. How do you like dem "Apples".

The reason, I hope, a forum like this has newbies is because they are just THAT, new to Mac.

Now I see your answer didn't help me much, but it did give me a chance to use that Apple line I've been wanting to for a while now.
Well if your talking about shutting off your iMac youll be wanting to go apple (Top left in the menu bar) then second last! ShutDown...

Helpful?
acearchie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2007, 08:52 PM   #9
jhershauer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Mine is the same way. As far as I can tell, all putting it in standby does is stop it from sending anything to the TV. It doesn't appear to go into a "sleep" mode like you would have with a laptop.

Like you, I made sure it wasn't trying to sync with the parent iMac. I shut down iTunes on that machine.

Not sure this helps any, but at least you know you're not the only one with a combo Media-center and full time hotplate.

Jeff

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adoni View Post
I put it on standby as you said above, but the machine heats up regardless... the reason I mention the iMac is because the TV will turn on when changes are made to iTunes so I wanted to be clear that iTunes was off.
__________________
Yet another MacRumors Team Folding member
jhershauer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2007, 08:21 AM   #10
Adoni
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhershauer View Post
Mine is the same way. As far as I can tell, all putting it in standby does is stop it from sending anything to the TV. It doesn't appear to go into a "sleep" mode like you would have with a laptop.

Like you, I made sure it wasn't trying to sync with the parent iMac. I shut down iTunes on that machine.

Not sure this helps any, but at least you know you're not the only one with a combo Media-center and full time hotplate.

Jeff

Thanks Jeff, I guess it's made to be toasty.
Adoni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2007, 08:40 AM   #11
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adoni View Post
Thanks Jeff, I guess it's made to be toasty.
You have it on top of anything? Or have anything on top of the atv?
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2007, 08:51 AM   #12
Adoni
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
You have it on top of anything? Or have anything on top of the atv?
nope.
Adoni is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much weight did Apple shave off, and how did they do it? WardC MacBook Pro 3 Feb 24, 2011 11:37 AM
App that turns off or warns when cellular data is about to be exceeded. pcunite Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 15 Dec 7, 2010 12:51 AM
How do I turn List Manager in Excel off and how do I move columns in Excel tgmyers78 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Apr 13, 2010 09:10 AM
How many RAM slots is in the Imac? Cameron08 Mac Basics and Help 5 Jun 23, 2008 06:37 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC