Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 27, 2007, 06:38 PM   #1
Mhaddy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Send a message via ICQ to Mhaddy Send a message via MSN to Mhaddy
Adjust default Finder column width

Is it possible to adjust the default width of columns in Finder? As you can see from the attached screenshot, almost all of my file names are too long to fit in the column, and I have to continually resize the width of the column to show everything. It's a major pain in the butt! Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.png
Views:	143
Size:	14.9 KB
ID:	71034  
__________________
2008 dual 2.8 Mac Pro; 30" 3007 WFP-HC; 1.6/80 MBA, week 10; 64GB iPhone 5
Mad Dog Studios; graphics & web dev
Mhaddy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2007, 06:43 PM   #2
epochblue
macrumors 68000
 
epochblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Those lines at the bottom of each column divider can be dragged around to change the width of the column to the left of the divider, but whether the new width is remembered, I'm not sure.
__________________
-- 13" MacBook Air (Mid-2012), iPhone 5, iPad Mini
epochblue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2007, 07:09 PM   #3
Mhaddy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Send a message via ICQ to Mhaddy Send a message via MSN to Mhaddy
Quote:
Originally Posted by epochblue View Post
Those lines at the bottom of each column divider can be dragged around to change the width of the column to the left of the divider, but whether the new width is remembered, I'm not sure.
That's what I was referring to -- I can resize the columns via those lines (or double clicking on them) but Finder does not remember the new width.
__________________
2008 dual 2.8 Mac Pro; 30" 3007 WFP-HC; 1.6/80 MBA, week 10; 64GB iPhone 5
Mad Dog Studios; graphics & web dev
Mhaddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2007, 07:27 PM   #4
iSee
macrumors 68030
 
iSee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Yeah, I would love it if the Finder remembered the last width I set a column to on a per folder basis (That is, each folder could specify the wdth of the column used to browse its children so that the width of the right-most column doesn't jump around as the selection on the current column changes.)
iSee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2007, 04:54 AM   #5
osirisX
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Send a message via AIM to osirisX Send a message via MSN to osirisX
I think if you hold option while dragging the column it will remember your setting.
osirisX is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2007, 11:36 AM   #6
Mhaddy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Send a message via ICQ to Mhaddy Send a message via MSN to Mhaddy
Oh my goodness, that did it! Thank you *so* much!
__________________
2008 dual 2.8 Mac Pro; 30" 3007 WFP-HC; 1.6/80 MBA, week 10; 64GB iPhone 5
Mad Dog Studios; graphics & web dev
Mhaddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2007, 03:11 PM   #7
franka1a
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mhaddy View Post
Is it possible to adjust the default width of columns in Finder? As you can see from the attached screenshot, almost all of my file names are too long to fit in the column, and I have to continually resize the width of the column to show everything. It's a major pain in the butt! Thanks.

Hi,
Yes it is possible! Hold down the option key and trag the column to the width you want it and then let go. That's all.
franka1a is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2009, 07:20 AM   #8
rdj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Virginia
Bump!

I am loving Google and MacRumors right now. Option-Drag: one of uncountable reasons to love Apple. ES&D, MS. :)
rdj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2009, 06:22 PM   #9
mccaffry
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Northern CA
Finder column width template

Thank you all for the OPTION key advice.
mccaffry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2010, 08:37 AM   #10
GefLiz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Even Better Column Control

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccaffry View Post
Thank you all for the OPTION key advice.
If you hold down "Control" key
Hover over foot of a column.
Right-Click

You'll get the option of changing individual column sizes FOR THAT SESSION. Next opening you are back to the widths set when you used Control Drag described above(which makes all columns adjust equally.)

I hope someone can refine this advice so that individually sized columns will be remembered.
GefLiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2010, 06:44 AM   #11
T'hain Esh Kelch
macrumors 65816
 
T'hain Esh Kelch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Denmark
Send a message via ICQ to T'hain Esh Kelch Send a message via AIM to T'hain Esh Kelch Send a message via MSN to T'hain Esh Kelch
Quote:
Originally Posted by osirisX View Post
I think if you hold option while dragging the column it will remember your setting.
You are from now on my my best friend. Ever!
__________________
"There's no bigot like a religious bigot and there's no religion more fanatical than that espoused by Macintosh zealots." ~Martin Veitch, IT Week [31-01-2003]
T'hain Esh Kelch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2010, 07:53 AM   #12
Theappmachine
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
... ad if you double click those 2 vertical lines the column gets the exact size of the longest file name
Theappmachine is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2010, 03:20 PM   #13
xgman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
does this also work on the sidebar width? If you use a cache cleaner like snow lep cache cleaner, will it clear all theses settings?
__________________
{2012 27imac-3.4i7-680mx-32gb ram-768SSD+External TB Samsung840pro ssd + TB velociraptors-UAD Apollo/Marantz/Amphion/Bowers&Wilkins Sound-Impulse 61}
{ipads}{iphones}
xgman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 01:25 PM   #14
panksdmz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by osirisX View Post
I think if you hold option while dragging the column it will remember your setting.
On snow leopard its the alt key that now does the trick. Option key doesnt' work for me
panksdmz is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2010, 07:21 PM   #15
lilysprouts
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by GefLiz View Post
If you hold down "Control" key
Hover over foot of a column.
Right-Click

You'll get the option of changing individual column sizes FOR THAT SESSION. Next opening you are back to the widths set when you used Control Drag described above(which makes all columns adjust equally.)

I hope someone can refine this advice so that individually sized columns will be remembered.
I am trying to get this to work. I want to the size of the columns to stay the same obviously, but I am running into the trouble that when I hold the CONTROL button, all the columns adjust together. I tried what you mentioned above - holding down control and right clicking for more options - but I can't seem to find the right option to let me do this. I am working on an older OS, 10.4.11 to be exact, but I don't think this should be a problem. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!
lilysprouts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2011, 09:44 AM   #16
ktartist
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Oh my gosh, I swear this just saved me HOURS over the next year of my job adjusting the window so I can see the whole names of the projects I'm working on. Thank you, Apple... Thank you.
ktartist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2011, 09:53 AM   #17
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
Can anyone verify if option-double clicking a column autosizes it AND tells Finder to remember the new setting? If this works it'll save me hours of frustration.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 07:36 AM   #18
beandog
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by osirisX View Post
I think if you hold option while dragging the column it will remember your setting.
You, my friend, are a Godlike Being.
beandog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 10:40 AM   #19
537635
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Google and MacRumors to the rescue. THANKS!
537635 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2013, 06:31 PM   #20
mazal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: chitown
Send a message via AIM to mazal
+ 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Theappmachine View Post
... ad if you double click those 2 vertical lines the column gets the exact size of the longest file name ;)
best kept secret evaahh! ty.
mazal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2013, 01:25 AM   #21
Olivia11111
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
xtrafinder

The whole adjust column thing always really annoyed me, but I finally found a great solution today. It's a free app called Xtrafinder, and it gives you so many different options to customise your finder window, including automatically adjusting column widths to file/folder names. Yay! It also allows tabbed browsing and a dual window option.
It seems to be an add-on to the original finder app, and you can adjust the preferences via the finder menu.
Finder>xtrafinder>preferences.
Hope this helps!
http://www.trankynam.com/xtrafinder/
Cheers!
Olivia11111 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2013, 12:53 PM   #22
John Greer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wayne, NJ USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by osirisX View Post
I think if you hold option while dragging the column it will remember your setting.
Is there a way to get the LIST VIEW (⌘2) to remember column sizes?
__________________
-John

27" iMac, 4x3.4 GHz, iPhone 4S 64GB, 64GB iPad4 & iCloud
John Greer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2013, 02:55 PM   #23
John Greer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wayne, NJ USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Greer View Post
Is there a way to get the LIST VIEW (⌘2) to remember column sizes?
I found the solution: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...7#post18463027
__________________
-John

27" iMac, 4x3.4 GHz, iPhone 4S 64GB, 64GB iPad4 & iCloud
John Greer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Table With 5 Columns, Use CSS To Determine Each Column Width Kilamite Web Design and Development 13 Jun 3, 2014 02:49 PM
Changing the Default Sidebar Width in Finder minisuds7 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 6 Apr 22, 2014 11:57 PM
Finder Column Bbafett OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Oct 24, 2013 10:34 AM
Finder column view modify width of active column foxs Mac Programming 6 Jul 24, 2013 07:14 AM
Change default Finder sizebar width? jamie.shaw OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Aug 5, 2012 08:07 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC