Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 31, 2007, 03:17 AM   #1
pentrixter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Parallels won't boot.

Hey, new here. Parallels won't boot despite following directions to install. It just simply gets stuck at the boot screen. Below is a snapshot.

Thanks in advance,
pentrixter
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 2.jpg
Views:	203
Size:	56.3 KB
ID:	71248  
pentrixter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2007, 01:52 AM   #2
pentrixter
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
It's surely pentrixter huh... interesting.

so... nobody knows? or am i asking a question worthy of ignoring? will i get more help if i asked the parallels forums?

surely thanks in advance,
pentrixter
pentrixter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2007, 08:05 AM   #3
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Exactly what are you trying to boot? Parallels is trying to boot from CD. Do you have something connected to Parallels virtual CD drive?

Have you mapped your real optical drive to it? If so what CD/DVD is in it? Is it bootable?

Have you mapped it to a disk image? If so same questions?
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2007, 10:45 PM   #4
pentrixter
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
I'm trying to boot Windows XP.

I have a genuine Windows XP CD in my CD drive.

No idea what a real optical drive is. But I do have a Windows XP CD, which is what parallels was asking for, so I'm guessing it should be bootable.

apologize for my ignorance.
pentrixter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2007, 12:28 AM   #5
m1ss1ontomars
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
I'm surprised nobody has figured it out yet

This is really dumb, but did you remember to:

1. Tell Parallels to use the built-in CD-ROM drive as the drive for the virtual machine
2. Actually press a key when it asked you to
m1ss1ontomars is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2007, 01:27 AM   #6
pentrixter
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by m1ss1ontomars View Post
I'm surprised nobody has figured it out yet

This is really dumb, but did you remember to:

1. Tell Parallels to use the built-in CD-ROM drive as the drive for the virtual machine
2. Actually press a key when it asked you to
yes i did, 1 and 2.

that and i have finally found a way to get past. apparently, if i don't insert a CD, it will say "failed" for booting thru CDR (duh) and then it will say press any key to continue. now if insert the CD then and press a key, parallels will register the CD.

however, I've run into another problem. While booting, it says:

the file ramdisk.sys is corrupted. press any key to continue.

if i do, the whole thing starts all over again and i run into the same error. is this a flaw with the XP disk? I installed bootcamp just fine with this very same CD.

thanks in advance,
pentrixter
pentrixter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2007, 08:20 AM   #7
pentrixter
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
erm its all fixed, thanks for all those who helped. i basically cleaned by CD with fluid and crap.

one last question: is there a task manager for parallels windows xp? ctrl alt del doesn't seem to do anything.

thanks,
pentrixter
pentrixter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2007, 09:01 AM   #8
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by pentrixter View Post
erm its all fixed, thanks for all those who helped. i basically cleaned by CD with fluid and crap.

one last question: is there a task manager for parallels windows xp? ctrl alt del doesn't seem to do anything.

thanks,
pentrixter
XP is XP. You are not running a special version in Parallels or anything. That said you cannot just hit the CTRL-ALT-Del on your keyboard: the host OS grabs some of the keys.

Under the Actions menu in Parallels there is a Send Keys submenu from where you can send CTRL-ALT-Del.
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2008, 05:00 AM   #9
mac2thefuture
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lancashire, North West, UK
Send a message via MSN to mac2thefuture
I now have the same issue. Never had any loading probs prior but now this

Thumb resize.

I dont understand this cleaning of disc business - it runs from within so i cant clean anything??
__________________
13" MBP , 27" iMac 2.9 i5, Time Capsule - TV, iPad 2 - iPhone 5
mac2thefuture is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2008, 11:40 AM   #10
steveza
macrumors 65816
 
steveza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
I think the original poster was installing XP so clening the install disk solved his issue.

Your virtual machine doesn't look like it is starting up. Do you get any start up messages before this blank screen?
steveza is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2008, 12:00 PM   #11
mac2thefuture
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lancashire, North West, UK
Send a message via MSN to mac2thefuture
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveza View Post
I think the original poster was installing XP so clening the install disk solved his issue.

Your virtual machine doesn't look like it is starting up. Do you get any start up messages before this blank screen?
Yes, it scrolls though and states some text very quick, extended memory etc which would be normal and then just a blank, black screen.
If I select the VM configuration button it claims parallel's is running
Thumb resize.
__________________
13" MBP , 27" iMac 2.9 i5, Time Capsule - TV, iPad 2 - iPhone 5
mac2thefuture is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2008, 12:38 PM   #12
steveza
macrumors 65816
 
steveza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
That's odd. Try booting your virtual machine with a XP install disk in the drive. Run a repair of the start-up files.
steveza is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2008, 05:53 AM   #13
mac2thefuture
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lancashire, North West, UK
Send a message via MSN to mac2thefuture
I found the windows disc and when i try booting from here i get ...

Thumb resize.

on selecting recovery mode i get

Thumb resize.


Not sure what happened but it all worked fine until this, any suggestions please?
__________________
13" MBP , 27" iMac 2.9 i5, Time Capsule - TV, iPad 2 - iPhone 5
mac2thefuture is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ran Repair Disk on Boot Camp partition and Windows won't boot sneak3 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 May 26, 2014 08:22 AM
Macbook Pro (early 2008) won't boot, then booted, now won't boot again. ruyen MacBook Pro 12 Dec 21, 2013 06:27 PM
From Parallels to Boot Camp mikegml Mac mini 7 Nov 4, 2013 11:13 AM
Why won't boot recovery mode? Won't start even from boot usb cicchilitto MacBook 2 Oct 19, 2013 04:17 PM
Boot Camp and Parallels WesRocks360 iMac 9 Dec 31, 2012 08:19 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC